Register by Monday to vote in District 1 election
October 24, 2017 | 58° | Check Traffic

Hawaii News

Register by Monday to vote in District 1 election


Monday marks the voter registration deadline for people wishing to cast ballots in the special election for City Council District 1, the Leeward Coast-Ewa seat vacated by Todd Apo last month.

Anyone who was registered to vote in the last election is automatically registered, but residents must re-register if they have changed their name, residence or mailing address.

The election is being held primarily by mail-in ballot, with walk-in voting at Kapolei Hale and Honolulu Hale from Dec. 13 to 17. Ballots must be received by the city clerk by 6 p.m. Dec. 29, when results will be announced.

Ballots will be mailed by Dec. 9.

Fourteen candidates are running in the special election.

Apo resigned Nov. 8 to take a job with Walt Disney Parks and Resorts in Hawaii.

An all-mail ballot with walk-in voting also was used for City Council special elections last year, to fill vacancies created by the deaths of Barbara Marshall in District 3 and Duke Bainum in District 5.

According to the City Clerk’s Office, those elections cost the city $225,000 for District 3, which was won by Ikaika Anderson; and about $170,000 for District 5, won by Ann Kobayashi.

City Clerk Bernice Mau has said District 1 has about 45,000 registered voters, about 2,000 fewer than District 5.

Apo won a five-person race for the seat in 2004 with 46 percent of the vote, and won re-election in 2008 against a single challenger, Garry P. Smith, with 67 percent.



Fourteen candidates have filed to run in the special election for City Council District 1:
» Tom Berg, legislative aide and past Republican state House candidate
» Kioni Dudley, past Republican lieutenant governor candidate
» Jason T. Espero, son of state Sen. Will Espero
» Mel Kahele, official with Iron Workers Local 625
» Celeste (Lacaden) Lacuesta, past Democratic state Senate candidate
» Chris Lewis
» Matthew LoPresti, Hawaii Pacific University assistant professor of philosophy and humanities
» James K. Manaku, past City Council candidate
» Rose Martinez
» Bob McDermott, former Republican state representative
» John P. Roco, former Republican U.S. Senate candidate
» Patty Kahanamoku Teruya, Nanakuli-Maili Neighborhood Board chairwoman
» Gary Kahinano Velleses
» Victoria (Cissy) Yuen

CORRECTION: Celeste Lacuesta, a candidate in the Dec. 29 nonpartisan special election for City Council District 1 (Leeward Oahu), is a Democrat. She was identified as a Republican in a previous version of this story Saturday.

No comments
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email