UH law school wins national competition
May 27, 2017 | 69° | Check Traffic

Top News

UH law school wins national competition

  • 2007 May 15 - CTY - Updated University of Hawaii (UH System) seal. Courtesy of UH.

    2007 May 15 - CTY - Updated University of Hawaii (UH System) seal. Courtesy of UH.

The University of Hawaii William S. Richardson School of Law has won the 22nd annual Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition, staged by the International Trademark Association.

UH competed alongside 86 other teams from law schools around the country in regional competitions. The students argued a fictional trademark litigation case in front of a panel of experienced trademark practitioners.

Eight teams including UH proceeded to the national finals including Georgetown University Law Center, Northwestern University School of Law and other prestigious schools.

Finalists made their arguments before a panel comprising judges and attorneys from the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

The competition was staged March 16, with the winners announced this morning.

First-time national competitors Shirley Lou, Andrea Maglasang, Avery Matro and Nikki Yamauchi took first place, as well as Best Oralist team and have been awarded $4,000 in prize money.

No comments
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email commentfeedback@staradvertiser.com.