Starting Thursday, Hawaii residents applying for a driver’s license or renewal will need to present two documents showing proof of principal residence in Hawaii.
The new requirements for a driver’s license are the same as those already in effect for state IDs.
Also Thursday, the cost of state IDs, which will be good for eight years, will change. On Kauai, the fee will be $4 a year, or a total of $32. The fee will be $5 a year in Honolulu, Maui and Hawaii counties, for a total of $40. The fees are the same as those for driver’s licenses.
The new identification requirement brings the state into compliance with the Department of Homeland Security’s Real ID Act of 2005.
Documents (original or copy) with the applicant’s name and address that will be accepted as proof of principal residence include a current valid Hawaii driver’s license; vehicle registration/title; current voter registration card or other mail from a government or medical entity not more than 2 months old; utility bill not more than 2 months old; checking or savings account statement not more than 2 months old; payroll check or stub within two months of the application date; federal or Hawaii income tax return from the previous year; current property tax assessment, etc.
For more information and list of acceptable documents, go to the DOT website: is.gd/pQt7kF.