Private school students named Presidential Scholars
May 27, 2017 | 69° | Check Traffic

Top News

Private school students named Presidential Scholars


Two private school students have been named this year’s Presidential Scholars for Hawaii.

The high school seniors — Matthew Beattie-Callahan of ‘Iolani School and Lysha Matsunobu of Parker School on Hawaii island — are among the 141 seniors nationwide being recognized for their academic and community service accomplishments.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 students chosen at-large.

Beattie-Callahan and Matsunobu were among six semifinalists for Hawaii, including three each from public and private schools.

The U.S. Department of Education said of the 3 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 3,900 candidates qualified for the awards, which are based SAT and ACT scores and nominations.

“They show all of us that when students challenge themselves and commit themselves to excellence, the results can be astounding. These scholars will help move our country forward and will have a lasting impact on their families, communities, and on our society,” U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan said in a statement.

The recipients will be honored June 22-25 in Washington, D.C.

For a full list of the 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars, see:

No comments
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email