Quantcast

Wednesday, October 01, 2014         

Business Briefs Premium

For Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Housing sought for former Seafarers lot • Fergus & Co. buys Maui produce facility • Ala Moana Center welcomes new tenants; and more
For Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Hearings scheduled on Kakaako condo • Farmers sought for Kunia agriculture park • Kailua restaurant to hold closing party; and more
For Monday, September 29, 2014
Blue Startups will hold its first "East Meets West" conference in Hono­lulu starting Nov. 5. Investors, entrepreneurs and more than a dozen speakers from Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong and Tokyo will be at the event.
For Sunday, September 28, 2014
Most college-educated 30- and 40- somethings earn more than their parents did at the same age, yet they're saving less. Student debt is partly to blame.
For Saturday, September 27, 2014
Energy Efficiency Auction deadline extended • Hawaii Public Radio pledge drive to begin • Kaiser awards 5 grants worth $220,000 • ‘Bond King' Gross leaves Pimco, joins Janus • Hawaii dominates in honeymooners' picks
For Friday, September 26, 2014
New Servco dealership to open on Kauai • Merger of home loan banks to affect isles • State Labor Department gets granted $1M and more
For Thursday, September 25, 2014
Ruth's Chris Waterfront to close temporarily • Kapolei industrial complex sold for $35M • State settles 2011 food stamp lawsuit; and more
For Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Outrigger purchases resort in Maldives • San Diego philanthropist seeks newspaper • Los Angeles Register ends publication; and more
For Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Central Pacific consolidating Waikiki sites • Investors fret Yahoo's future, stock dips • Merck to buy Sigma-Aldrich for $17B • U.S. existing home sales fell in August • 21 death claims against GM accepted
For Monday, September 22, 2014
2014 Hall of Fame and Chefs of Aloha Dine Around: • Inspiring Innovation Speaker Series: Pacific Asian Center for Entrepreneurship: • Think Tech Talks:
For Sunday, September 21, 2014
For Saturday, September 20, 2014
Mayor Kirk Caldwell has announced the nomination of Robert Kroning to serve as director of the Department of Design and Construction. He has 24 years of experience as an Army engineer officer. He has also served as chief of facilities and construction in the Pacific branch of the Army.
For Friday, September 19, 2014
Makani Kai Air adds Molokai flights • 801 South B opponents face a bigger fight • Downtown Capital LLC, the developer trying to build • Hawaii Energy offering $50 AC rebate and more
For Thursday, September 18, 2014
Aloha Air Cargo plans L.A.-Honolulu flight • Chaminade to offer BS degrees to RNs • Two isle hotels make Fodor's Top 100 • Nominations of real estate agents sought • Founder Ma, execs to retain Alibaba reins • and more
For Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Waikoloa Highlands Center sold for $22.5M • Koa Technologies receives $215,000 grant
For Tuesday, September 16, 2014
PUC invites public input over HECO plans • Hawaii tax system is second worst in U.S. • Honolulu is the 58th most livable U.S. city • Honolulu weddings most affordable in state • Island Air offers $68 fare for nonstop flights • and more
For Monday, September 15, 2014
The Hawaii VA Foundation raised $35,457 on Labor Day at the 2014 Hawaii VA Games in which CrossFit teams competed. The funds were raised with the goal of being divided among nonprofits that demonstrated an immediate need and an attainable goal.
For Sunday, September 14, 2014
Landing a job that leads to a middle-class living may be getting harder for the two-thirds of American workers who aren't college graduates, as more employers demand bachelor's degrees from applicants, according to a new report.
For Saturday, September 13, 2014
Arashi concert tickets still available • Energy briefing to cover HECO, isles' future • Convention center hosts series of summits • Servco selling doors division to ex-owners • Island Air backs Special Olympics Hawai‘i • HawTel tapped for cable landing station • Maui store changes its name, adds site • On The Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Friday, September 12, 2014
J's Bar-B-Q gets 1 more week to stay open • State to regain safety regulatory power • HECO joins forces with energy storage firm and more
For Thursday, September 11, 2014
Job Quest holding job fair on Tuesday • Community supports Sacred Hearts gym • Chiquita will talk with potential buyers; and more
For Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Big Island Air offering Puna lava air tours • NYC condo parking spot costs $1 million • Trump casinos file Chapter 11 bankruptcy
For Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Hawaii burger chain will get bigger • Remodeling show attendance down 60% • Bank of Hawaii launches free mobile game; and more
For Monday, September 8, 2014
A property development company controlled by Dubai's ruler outlined plans Sunday for the first phase of an entertainment and resort complex in the city that promises the Middle East's first Lego­land theme park.
For Sunday, September 7, 2014
Rising costs and lower retail prices have cooled profits for U.S. ice cream makers this summer. Costs for cream, whipped to make ice cream and other confections, rose 78 percent this year through Aug. 22 in the steepest increase since 2010.
For Saturday, September 6, 2014
First Hawaiian unveils new logo, slogan • State gets OK for renewable energy bonds • On the Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Friday, September 5, 2014
America's Mattress parent getting bought • U.S. SBA awards $50,000 to Kona startup • Media literacy workshop is planned • American Girl to open at Ala Moana Center and more
For Thursday, September 4, 2014
Hawaii leads nation in energy investment • Attorneys in isle cases hit national spotlight • Silver Airways names new chief executive; and more
For Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Insurance company declares $2M dividend • Fewer isle households receive public aid • Hawaiian Air and partners donate $100K
For Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Sears to cut retirees' health care subsidy • Atlantic City losing casinos, not business • Buffett may take stake in Burger King; and more
For Monday, September 1, 2014
Hershey unveils new corporate logo • Chrysler stock sales soon to resume • Ship Ahoy!
For Sunday, August 31, 2014
U.S. bank earnings up 5.2 percent in second quarter
For Saturday, August 30, 2014
Funds offered for energy efficiency plans • Malaysia Airlines to lay off 6,000 workers • Startups offer banking for smartphones • U.S. consumer spending declines 0.1% • Reynolds' takeover of Lorillard scrutinized and more
For Friday, August 29, 2014
ALTRES seeking nurses for flu season • HawTel to invest $25M in undersea cable • Japan's economy shows signs of weakness and more
For Thursday, August 28, 2014
Keith Vieira, former senior vice president of Starwood Hotels and Resorts, has been appointed an executive-in-residence by the University of Hawaii at Manoa Shidler College of Business.
For Tuesday, August 27, 2014
Ige to headline medical research forum • Bull Shed returns employees' money • Hawaii job application law reduces crime
For Tuesday, August 26, 2014
The Collection sells out second phase • New Hawaiian Air Foundation gives grants • Sales of U.S. new homes fell in July; and more
For Monday, August 25, 2014
Study finds wealth gap widening • Butter price reaches record high • Increase forecast in Labor Day travel
For Sunday, August 24, 2014
With the unemployment rate and layoffs down sharply in the last year, most U.S. workers are no longer worried about getting a dreaded pink slip.
For Saturday, August 23, 2014
RevoluSun, Distributed Energy divide roles • Blue Startups teams up with Connector • Women's health featured at free event • McDonald's recalls exec to take reins in U.S. • Goldman bond claim settlement worth $1.2B • On the Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Friday, August 22, 2014
HELCO warns customers of phone scam • Tiki Shark and CafePress settle lawsuit • SolarWorld recalls systems for lug issue and more
For Thursday, August 21, 2014
ViaSat to offer high-speed Internet • Buffett's firm to pay $896,000 penalty • Women struggle for small business loans; and more
For Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Honolulu No. 2 in cost of raising kids • Tax yield from isle businesses up 10.4% • Local firm to lease Jimmy Buffett's space; and more
For Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Cyanotech hires agribusiness executive • Island Air sponsors disabilities nonprofit • PricewaterhouseCoopers to pay $25M • U.S. homebuilder confidence rises • Bourbon production reaches high point • and more
For Monday, August 18, 2014
CPB offers hurricane loan program • Coca-Cola buys stake in Monster • Casino moves up its closing date • Ship Ahoy!
For Sunday, August 17, 2014
Lower-paying jobs dominate economic recovery
For Saturday, August 16, 2014
Yamane, Dashefsky to team up on KHON • Jamba Juice opening at Aston Waikiki • Job fair on tap at Kukui Grove Center • HomeStreet relocates Hilo loan center
For Friday, August 15, 2014
Loss more than doubles for Royal Hawaiian Orchards • Cost of litigation takes toll on Cyanotech and more
For Thursday, August 14, 2014
First Hawaiian establishes Puna relief fund • Resilient sales boost Macy's earnings • Tribe has spoken: ‘Survivor' editors protest • Deere takes hit as farm economy weakens • Hawaiian Airlines to begin San Francisco-Maui service
For Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Development-focused Cardax sheds $2M • $2.4B casino resort fizzles in Atlantic City • Job openings in U.S. hit 13-year high • Pfizer, DNA firm seek to unravel disease and more
For Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Isle car-ownership cost under U.S. average • Bankoh offering storm assistance loans • American Savings gives $25K in storm relief • Qantas boosts Sydney-Honolulu service • On the Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Monday, August 11, 2014
Oracle sues over health exchange • Malaysia Air delisted in overhaul • McDonald's global sales decline • California home cost high, energy low
For Sunday, August 10, 2014
The share of U.S. mortgages that are seriously delinquent fell to the lowest in six years as the job market improved, allowing borrowers to stay current on payments while higher home prices made it easier for others to sell.
For Friday, August 8, 2014
Hawaiian best in some airline benchmarks • 5 isle restaurants among most scenic in U.S. • Barnwell Industries posts a smaller loss; and more
For Thursday, August 7, 2014
Island Air cancels flights amid storm threat • First Hawaiian, CPB to close Big Isle branches • Hawaiian Air passenger traffic up 2.3%; and more
For Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Home prices saw slower growth in June • Aircraft drive increase in factory orders • Airspace rumor hurts European airlines; and more
For Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Hawaii Career Expo at Blaisdell on Tuesday • Isles rank fourth highest in closing costs • Meat scandal hurting McDonald's sales • GM subpoenaed over subprime auto loans
For Monday, August 4, 2014
After years of expansion into areas like pet food and beauty products, Procter & Gamble plans to cut as many as 100 brands in order to focus on others, like Tide, that made the company a powerhouse over the decades.
For Sunday, August 3, 2014
Porsche is the top brand for owner satisfaction, with Hyundai the top nonpremium brand, per a new study by auto industry expert J.D. Power. The German automaker was the highest-ranked nameplate.
For Saturday, August 2, 2014
USS Missouri group picks new chairman • Meeting set for new Oahu FEMA flood maps • Medical event will draw 2,000 to Honolulu • Mililani's Walmart to mark 20 years • Discounts helped lift U.S. auto sales in July and more
For Friday, August 1, 2014
Gyu-Kaku restaurant to open in Kapolei Happiness is most expensive in Hawaii Honolulu Home Loans plans West Oahu site
For Thursday, July 31, 2014
Jamba Juice promotion excludes Hawaii • Pali Momi dining spots pass safety checks • Hiring at small businesses finally perks up; and more
For Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Hawaiian Air to upgrade isle airport lounges • Condo tower's auto dealership adds brands • China probing Microsoft in monopoly case; and more
For Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Isle company gets $2.6M from land sale • Local small business in national spotlight • Book advises facilities on saving energy; and more
For Monday, July 28, 2014
The proportion of the workforce that has been unemployed for at least 27 weeks has fallen to 1.98 percent, less than half the record high of 4.4 percent reached in 2010.
For Sunday, July 27, 2014
Murdoch deal could help raise price for Time Warner
For Saturday, July 26, 2014
NHTSA looking into Impala air bag safety • McDonald's chicken off Hong Kong menus • Durable goods orders up 0.7% in June • Illinois bank seized for year's 14th failure • On the Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Friday, July 25, 2014
Ford's profit up 6 percent to $1.3 billion • New menu helps lift Starbucks' U.S. sales • Amazon shares tumble after $126M loss • U.S. new-home sales plummeted in June and moer
For Thursday, July 24, 2014
Hawaiian Airlines stock soars 13.7 percent • Ex-chief justice retains post on bank board • $1 share price for money funds set to end; and more
For Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Podiatric meeting to boost isle economy • New Lanai health center gets state funds • Investor expands Hualalai Resort acreage; and more
For Tuesday, July 22, 2014
State awards $600,000 to employer groups • U.S. airlines add jobs for 6 months in a row • Allergan to lay off 1,500 in restructuring; and more
For Monday, July 21, 2014
Forbes Media, publisher of the magazine that is perhaps the most famous chronicler and evangelist for American-style capitalism, agreed Friday to sell a majority stake in itself to a consortium of Asian investors, concluding a protracted sales process in which a number of prospective bidders dropped out.
For Sunday, July 20, 2014
Americans more confident of finding better-paying jobs
For Saturday, July 19, 2014
It's Kids Inc. time again at Windward Mall • Peet's Coffee opens shop in Kailua • Jobless rates fell in 22 states in June • AbbVie, Shire agree on $55B combination and more
For Friday, July 18, 2014
Waikiki Beach Wi-Fi boasts top-10 speed • Toyota pursues hydrogen fuel cell power • U.S. home construction fell 9.3% in June • Airbus scores $75 billion in orders at show • On The Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Thursday, July 17, 2014
New motor sports radio show will include celebrity interviews and racing updates • Full-page ads ask owners of recalled GM vehicles to keep their key rings light
For Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Queen's and Kaiser cited as best in Hawaii • Honolulu called top city for child-free life • Island Air renames frequent-flier program; and more
For Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Hawaii Symphony, musicians union OK pact • Dunkerley wins Airline Strategy Award • Edible barcode wins innovation award; and more
For Monday, July 14, 2014
For Sunday, July 13, 2014
Tired of mattress sales reps? Try a shop with no clerks
For Saturday, July 12, 2014
HMSA unveils Friday farmers market • BoxJelly tenant will offer demonstration • 2 tobacco companies discuss merger • World Cup loser might see stock drop-off • Government budget surplus totals $71B
For Friday, July 11, 2014
Maui home sales, median prices diverge • Don't forget DRAM claims, Louie says and more
For Thursday, July 10, 2014
Island Air, American reach ticketing deal • Halekulani observes 30th anniversary Fed split on signals for fresh rate increase; and more
For Wednesday, July 9, 2014
State cites company in roofer's death • Text-message scam targets bank accounts • Health Connector measure to become law; and more
For Tuesday, July 8, 2014
More passengers flying Hawaiian Airlines • Canadian hotel company enters isles • ADM acquires Wild Flavors for $3 billion • Homeowners get $3.1B cash in settlement • Economy improving, Chinese premier says
For Monday, July 7, 2014
The nation's largest pharmacy benefit manager, Express Scripts, is dramatically scaling back its coverage of compounded medications, saying most of the custom-mixed medicines are ineffective or overpriced.
For Sunday, July 6, 2014
Apartment rents in the U.S. grew at a quicker pace in the second quarter as tenant demand rose faster than the growing supply of multifamily properties.
For Saturday, July 5, 2014
Philippine Air to expand Honolulu service • 32,000 Mormon missionaries to get iPads • Google cuts search link in Europe • Amazon defends self over kids' purchases • Pharmacy sales lift 2 drugstore chains
For Friday, July 4, 2014
Aulani tops ranking of hotels for families • Larry Ellison is third-richest entrepreneur • State to issue occupation therapist licenses • Queen Lili'uokalani Trust acquires market and more
For Thursday, July 3, 2014
Appeals over Kakaako projects rejected • New Android watches have few advances • Facebook's experiment on users probed; and more
For Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Architects chosen for Aiea village project • Box and packaging plant opens in Kapolei • Big Island burger named among top 10; and more
For Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Bank of Hawaii has announced: Roxann Ikeda, a Waiakea branch manager, has been promoted to vice president. Ikeda served previously as a consumer bank representative, business banking officer and service manager.
For Monday, June 30, 2014
Since the last recession began, many women in their late 40s and early 50s have left the workforce just as they were reaching their peak earning years. The need to care for aging parents is not the only reason.
For Sunday, June 29, 2014
Los Angeles, once the king of TV pilots, is rapidly losing its domain to New York and other rivals.
For Saturday, June 28, 2014
Kaiser opening medical clinic in Kona • GM recalling 474,000 additional vehicles • Some $320,000 due for Hawaii electricians • On the Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Friday, June 27, 2014
Matson adds 1 cent to quarterly dividend • Maui vacation rental stay is fourth costliest • Diner en Blanc culinary event set for Oahu • $54M Kauai solar farm under construction and more
For Thursday, June 26, 2014
Camera maker GoPro to hit Wall Street • Barnes & Noble to separate retail, Nook • Monsanto tops forecast, plans $10B buyback; and more
For Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Starbucks adds Fizzio sodas in Hawaii • Walgreen net up 16% but misses forecasts • U.S. consumer confidence hits 6-year high; and more
For Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Foodland to open Wednesday in Wailuku • Algae firm to work with Israeli company • Board of Realtors has new website • Heald College parent cuts deal with feds • Oracle buying Micros Systems for $5.3B • and more
For Monday, June 23, 2014
In dealing with health plans, drug companies are facing a new imperative: bargain or be banned. Determined to slow the rapid rise in drug prices, more health plans are refusing to cover certain drugs unless companies charge less for them.

Star-Advertiser Print Replica
What is a Print Replica?

The Print Replica of the newspaper is a page-by-page replica of the day's printed newspaper - including all stories, sections, photos and ads - not including advertiser preprints - in PDF like form. It can be viewed on your computer's web browser, iPad, iPhone and some e-Readers.



Print Replica FAQ's »
The Problem With Being Pro-homeless
There seems to be a cluster of compassionate folks opposed to any “criminalization” of the homeless — that is, they cringe at confiscating their sidewalk goods, forbidding them to sit or lie on sidewalks or, God forbid, arresting them. Read More »
 
Preparing For An MMA Pro Debut
Fissori, a 135-pound fighter, has an amateur record of 6-0 and holds two amateur titles in her weight class with Destiny MMA and Fight Girls Hawaii. Read More »
 

Most Popular