Quantcast

Saturday, November 01, 2014         

Business Briefs Premium

For Friday, October 31, 2014
State defers Waiawa solar farm decision • Urban Outfitters gets help for isle debut • Starbucks plans delivery after sales lag • Jobless aid applications rise to 287,000
For Thursday, October 30, 2014
Bankoh offering assistance to lava victims • A&B increases stock dividend by 1 cent • Maui Weekly ceases publication; and more
For Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Danielle Finn as vice president of commercial underwriting. She was previously a commercial lines underwriting manager and has more than 25 years of insurance experience in Hawaii and the West Coast.
For Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Girl Scouts of Hawaii names Chang as CEO • Altres expands into home health care • Finnish company to supply power to HECO; and more
For Monday, October 27, 2014
Unpaid interns who worked on "Saturday Night Live" and other shows brought a class action suit July in Manhattan federal court claiming NBCUniversal violated the law by classifying them as nonemployee interns and paid them nothing or less than minimum wage.
For Sunday, October 26, 2014
UPS weighs penalties on retailers with overload of boxes
For Saturday, October 25, 2014
Aussie firm buys Big Isle mac nut orchard • Energy efficiency program interns needed • Procter & Gamble taking out its batteries • U.S. new-home sales flat in September • Truck costs drag down Ford's earnings
For Friday, October 24, 2014
Isle chef chosen for global culinary program • ASB to debut renovated Kailua branch • Bankoh earns national community award • Cloud business lifts Microsoft's earnings and more
For Thursday, October 23, 2014
The 5,862-square-foot space that for years housed the now-closed Keo's Thai Cuisine in the Ambassador Hotel in Waikiki, is being marketed for lease.
For Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Maui has been unseated as the top island in the world, according to the most recent Conde Nast Readers' Choice rankings.
For Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Honolulu Airport is ranked as third worst • Information officer now with U.S. Treasury • HECO OKs microinverter for PV systems; and more
For Monday, October 20, 2014
Falling oil and gasoline prices have sent oil company stocks tumbling, but oil experts say the boom in American energy production shows no signs of slowing down, keeping the market flush with crude and gasoline prices low.
For Sunday, October 19, 2014
Starbucks says it will raise its baristas' pay -- and allow visible tattoos to boot -- as it seeks to retain talent and address hardship among its legions of staffers.
For Saturday, October 18, 2014
Church buys 11 acres in Kapolei project • Apartments help fuel U.S. home-building • Chimerix gets FDA OK for Ebola test drug • Economist in Britain says rates to stay low • Firm partly owned by Branson delays IPO
For Friday, October 17, 2014
Google lists Lahaina as Hawaii's 2014 eCity • Public-radio pledge drive sets record • Famous Footwear to open fifth isle store • Average 30-year mortgage rate at 3.97% and more
For Thursday, October 16, 2014
Jeanine O. Cornwell has joined the civil litigation section of the firm. Previously, she served as a deputy prosecuting attorney for the City & County of Honolulu and a judicial clerk for Associate Judge Daniel R. Foley of the Intermediate Court of Appeals for the state of Hawaii.
For Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Facebook CEO buys 700 acres on Kauai • Ex-HECO chief to get $551K as consultant • Island Air offering breast cancer help; and more
For Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Local building costs outpace major cities • Embroidery shop opens doors in Wahiawa • Simply Organized to reopen in Ewa Beach • Fiat Chrysler stock rises, falls in launch • Waldorf sale raises security concerns • Regulators drill in handling bank failure
For Monday, October 13, 2014
Data theft affects Kmart customers • Nielsen finds ratings software glitch • Ship Ahoy!
For Sunday, October 12, 2014
Some Los Angeles diners are discovering an unfamiliar new item when the bill comes for the truffled lobster Bolognese and for their crunchy Spanish fried chicken and waffles: a 3 percent surcharge for employees' medical insurance.
For Saturday, October 11, 2014
Pet hospital to pay underpaid workers • HECO reaches power deal for Waianae site • Alaska Air, attendants OK tentative pact • HECO to hold forum on response plan
For Friday, October 10, 2014
Altres seeking to hire 165 workers • Hawaiian Air first in punctuality again • Chefs taste Molokai's grass-fed beef and more
For Thursday, October 9, 2014
Hawaiian Airlines has appointed Sheri Lee to director of recruitment. She was previously a client services group manager for Kamehameha Schools Kapalama.
For Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Destination Hotels & Resorts on Maui has named Danny Mynar assistant general manager of Destination Resorts Hawaii. He was previously a general manager of Travaasa Hana.
For Tuesday, October 7, 2014
HP splits its businesses • A&B finalizes purchase of Kakaako site • Hawaiian Air passenger traffic up 5.2% • Share of isle foreign-language homes falls • Cardax gets first analyst coverage • Haleakala Solar taking Maui home off grid
For Monday, October 6, 2014
Macy's to hire 86,000 temporary workers • $23.5B withdrawn from Total Return Fund
For Sunday, October 5, 2014
25 biggest public pension funds face $2 trillion shortfall
For Saturday, October 4, 2014
Arancino to pay more than $100K to servers • Marriott fined for jamming guests' Wi-Fi • GM issues recalls for SUVs, mini cars • Disney CEO could get $60M retention bonus • Yahoo is in talks to invest in Snapchat
For Friday, October 3, 2014
Opening dates set for new Ross stores • Made in Maui County Festival to debut • Cooke Street rental project moves forward • MLP sells land to state for $19.8 million • Royal Hawaiian named best historic resort
For Thursday, October 2, 2014
Kaimuki's trendy SALT restaurant closes • Koele hotel to house workers next year • PUC approves green energy program; and more
For Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Housing sought for former Seafarers lot • Fergus & Co. buys Maui produce facility • Ala Moana Center welcomes new tenants; and more
For Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Hearings scheduled on Kakaako condo • Farmers sought for Kunia agriculture park • Kailua restaurant to hold closing party; and more
For Monday, September 29, 2014
Blue Startups will hold its first "East Meets West" conference in Hono­lulu starting Nov. 5. Investors, entrepreneurs and more than a dozen speakers from Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong and Tokyo will be at the event.
For Sunday, September 28, 2014
Most college-educated 30- and 40- somethings earn more than their parents did at the same age, yet they're saving less. Student debt is partly to blame.
For Saturday, September 27, 2014
Energy Efficiency Auction deadline extended • Hawaii Public Radio pledge drive to begin • Kaiser awards 5 grants worth $220,000 • ‘Bond King' Gross leaves Pimco, joins Janus • Hawaii dominates in honeymooners' picks
For Friday, September 26, 2014
New Servco dealership to open on Kauai • Merger of home loan banks to affect isles • State Labor Department gets granted $1M and more
For Thursday, September 25, 2014
Ruth's Chris Waterfront to close temporarily • Kapolei industrial complex sold for $35M • State settles 2011 food stamp lawsuit; and more
For Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Outrigger purchases resort in Maldives • San Diego philanthropist seeks newspaper • Los Angeles Register ends publication; and more
For Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Central Pacific consolidating Waikiki sites • Investors fret Yahoo's future, stock dips • Merck to buy Sigma-Aldrich for $17B • U.S. existing home sales fell in August • 21 death claims against GM accepted
For Monday, September 22, 2014
2014 Hall of Fame and Chefs of Aloha Dine Around: • Inspiring Innovation Speaker Series: Pacific Asian Center for Entrepreneurship: • Think Tech Talks:
For Sunday, September 21, 2014
For Saturday, September 20, 2014
Mayor Kirk Caldwell has announced the nomination of Robert Kroning to serve as director of the Department of Design and Construction. He has 24 years of experience as an Army engineer officer. He has also served as chief of facilities and construction in the Pacific branch of the Army.
For Friday, September 19, 2014
Makani Kai Air adds Molokai flights • 801 South B opponents face a bigger fight • Downtown Capital LLC, the developer trying to build • Hawaii Energy offering $50 AC rebate and more
For Thursday, September 18, 2014
Aloha Air Cargo plans L.A.-Honolulu flight • Chaminade to offer BS degrees to RNs • Two isle hotels make Fodor's Top 100 • Nominations of real estate agents sought • Founder Ma, execs to retain Alibaba reins • and more
For Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Waikoloa Highlands Center sold for $22.5M • Koa Technologies receives $215,000 grant
For Tuesday, September 16, 2014
PUC invites public input over HECO plans • Hawaii tax system is second worst in U.S. • Honolulu is the 58th most livable U.S. city • Honolulu weddings most affordable in state • Island Air offers $68 fare for nonstop flights • and more
For Monday, September 15, 2014
The Hawaii VA Foundation raised $35,457 on Labor Day at the 2014 Hawaii VA Games in which CrossFit teams competed. The funds were raised with the goal of being divided among nonprofits that demonstrated an immediate need and an attainable goal.
For Sunday, September 14, 2014
Landing a job that leads to a middle-class living may be getting harder for the two-thirds of American workers who aren't college graduates, as more employers demand bachelor's degrees from applicants, according to a new report.
For Saturday, September 13, 2014
Arashi concert tickets still available • Energy briefing to cover HECO, isles' future • Convention center hosts series of summits • Servco selling doors division to ex-owners • Island Air backs Special Olympics Hawai‘i • HawTel tapped for cable landing station • Maui store changes its name, adds site • On The Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Friday, September 12, 2014
J's Bar-B-Q gets 1 more week to stay open • State to regain safety regulatory power • HECO joins forces with energy storage firm and more
For Thursday, September 11, 2014
Job Quest holding job fair on Tuesday • Community supports Sacred Hearts gym • Chiquita will talk with potential buyers; and more
For Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Big Island Air offering Puna lava air tours • NYC condo parking spot costs $1 million • Trump casinos file Chapter 11 bankruptcy
For Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Hawaii burger chain will get bigger • Remodeling show attendance down 60% • Bank of Hawaii launches free mobile game; and more
For Monday, September 8, 2014
A property development company controlled by Dubai's ruler outlined plans Sunday for the first phase of an entertainment and resort complex in the city that promises the Middle East's first Lego­land theme park.
For Sunday, September 7, 2014
Rising costs and lower retail prices have cooled profits for U.S. ice cream makers this summer. Costs for cream, whipped to make ice cream and other confections, rose 78 percent this year through Aug. 22 in the steepest increase since 2010.
For Saturday, September 6, 2014
First Hawaiian unveils new logo, slogan • State gets OK for renewable energy bonds • On the Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Friday, September 5, 2014
America's Mattress parent getting bought • U.S. SBA awards $50,000 to Kona startup • Media literacy workshop is planned • American Girl to open at Ala Moana Center and more
For Thursday, September 4, 2014
Hawaii leads nation in energy investment • Attorneys in isle cases hit national spotlight • Silver Airways names new chief executive; and more
For Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Insurance company declares $2M dividend • Fewer isle households receive public aid • Hawaiian Air and partners donate $100K
For Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Sears to cut retirees' health care subsidy • Atlantic City losing casinos, not business • Buffett may take stake in Burger King; and more
For Monday, September 1, 2014
Hershey unveils new corporate logo • Chrysler stock sales soon to resume • Ship Ahoy!
For Sunday, August 31, 2014
U.S. bank earnings up 5.2 percent in second quarter
For Saturday, August 30, 2014
Funds offered for energy efficiency plans • Malaysia Airlines to lay off 6,000 workers • Startups offer banking for smartphones • U.S. consumer spending declines 0.1% • Reynolds' takeover of Lorillard scrutinized and more
For Friday, August 29, 2014
ALTRES seeking nurses for flu season • HawTel to invest $25M in undersea cable • Japan's economy shows signs of weakness and more
For Thursday, August 28, 2014
Keith Vieira, former senior vice president of Starwood Hotels and Resorts, has been appointed an executive-in-residence by the University of Hawaii at Manoa Shidler College of Business.
For Tuesday, August 27, 2014
Ige to headline medical research forum • Bull Shed returns employees' money • Hawaii job application law reduces crime
For Tuesday, August 26, 2014
The Collection sells out second phase • New Hawaiian Air Foundation gives grants • Sales of U.S. new homes fell in July; and more
For Monday, August 25, 2014
Study finds wealth gap widening • Butter price reaches record high • Increase forecast in Labor Day travel
For Sunday, August 24, 2014
With the unemployment rate and layoffs down sharply in the last year, most U.S. workers are no longer worried about getting a dreaded pink slip.
For Saturday, August 23, 2014
RevoluSun, Distributed Energy divide roles • Blue Startups teams up with Connector • Women's health featured at free event • McDonald's recalls exec to take reins in U.S. • Goldman bond claim settlement worth $1.2B • On the Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Friday, August 22, 2014
HELCO warns customers of phone scam • Tiki Shark and CafePress settle lawsuit • SolarWorld recalls systems for lug issue and more
For Thursday, August 21, 2014
ViaSat to offer high-speed Internet • Buffett's firm to pay $896,000 penalty • Women struggle for small business loans; and more
For Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Honolulu No. 2 in cost of raising kids • Tax yield from isle businesses up 10.4% • Local firm to lease Jimmy Buffett's space; and more
For Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Cyanotech hires agribusiness executive • Island Air sponsors disabilities nonprofit • PricewaterhouseCoopers to pay $25M • U.S. homebuilder confidence rises • Bourbon production reaches high point • and more
For Monday, August 18, 2014
CPB offers hurricane loan program • Coca-Cola buys stake in Monster • Casino moves up its closing date • Ship Ahoy!
For Sunday, August 17, 2014
Lower-paying jobs dominate economic recovery
For Saturday, August 16, 2014
Yamane, Dashefsky to team up on KHON • Jamba Juice opening at Aston Waikiki • Job fair on tap at Kukui Grove Center • HomeStreet relocates Hilo loan center
For Friday, August 15, 2014
Loss more than doubles for Royal Hawaiian Orchards • Cost of litigation takes toll on Cyanotech and more
For Thursday, August 14, 2014
First Hawaiian establishes Puna relief fund • Resilient sales boost Macy's earnings • Tribe has spoken: ‘Survivor' editors protest • Deere takes hit as farm economy weakens • Hawaiian Airlines to begin San Francisco-Maui service
For Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Development-focused Cardax sheds $2M • $2.4B casino resort fizzles in Atlantic City • Job openings in U.S. hit 13-year high • Pfizer, DNA firm seek to unravel disease and more
For Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Isle car-ownership cost under U.S. average • Bankoh offering storm assistance loans • American Savings gives $25K in storm relief • Qantas boosts Sydney-Honolulu service • On the Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Monday, August 11, 2014
Oracle sues over health exchange • Malaysia Air delisted in overhaul • McDonald's global sales decline • California home cost high, energy low
For Sunday, August 10, 2014
The share of U.S. mortgages that are seriously delinquent fell to the lowest in six years as the job market improved, allowing borrowers to stay current on payments while higher home prices made it easier for others to sell.
For Friday, August 8, 2014
Hawaiian best in some airline benchmarks • 5 isle restaurants among most scenic in U.S. • Barnwell Industries posts a smaller loss; and more
For Thursday, August 7, 2014
Island Air cancels flights amid storm threat • First Hawaiian, CPB to close Big Isle branches • Hawaiian Air passenger traffic up 2.3%; and more
For Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Home prices saw slower growth in June • Aircraft drive increase in factory orders • Airspace rumor hurts European airlines; and more
For Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Hawaii Career Expo at Blaisdell on Tuesday • Isles rank fourth highest in closing costs • Meat scandal hurting McDonald's sales • GM subpoenaed over subprime auto loans
For Monday, August 4, 2014
After years of expansion into areas like pet food and beauty products, Procter & Gamble plans to cut as many as 100 brands in order to focus on others, like Tide, that made the company a powerhouse over the decades.
For Sunday, August 3, 2014
Porsche is the top brand for owner satisfaction, with Hyundai the top nonpremium brand, per a new study by auto industry expert J.D. Power. The German automaker was the highest-ranked nameplate.
For Saturday, August 2, 2014
USS Missouri group picks new chairman • Meeting set for new Oahu FEMA flood maps • Medical event will draw 2,000 to Honolulu • Mililani's Walmart to mark 20 years • Discounts helped lift U.S. auto sales in July and more
For Friday, August 1, 2014
Gyu-Kaku restaurant to open in Kapolei Happiness is most expensive in Hawaii Honolulu Home Loans plans West Oahu site
For Thursday, July 31, 2014
Jamba Juice promotion excludes Hawaii • Pali Momi dining spots pass safety checks • Hiring at small businesses finally perks up; and more
For Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Hawaiian Air to upgrade isle airport lounges • Condo tower's auto dealership adds brands • China probing Microsoft in monopoly case; and more
For Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Isle company gets $2.6M from land sale • Local small business in national spotlight • Book advises facilities on saving energy; and more
For Monday, July 28, 2014
The proportion of the workforce that has been unemployed for at least 27 weeks has fallen to 1.98 percent, less than half the record high of 4.4 percent reached in 2010.
For Sunday, July 27, 2014
Murdoch deal could help raise price for Time Warner
For Saturday, July 26, 2014
NHTSA looking into Impala air bag safety • McDonald's chicken off Hong Kong menus • Durable goods orders up 0.7% in June • Illinois bank seized for year's 14th failure • On the Move • Ship Ahoy!
For Friday, July 25, 2014
Ford's profit up 6 percent to $1.3 billion • New menu helps lift Starbucks' U.S. sales • Amazon shares tumble after $126M loss • U.S. new-home sales plummeted in June and moer
For Thursday, July 24, 2014
Hawaiian Airlines stock soars 13.7 percent • Ex-chief justice retains post on bank board • $1 share price for money funds set to end; and more
For Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Podiatric meeting to boost isle economy • New Lanai health center gets state funds • Investor expands Hualalai Resort acreage; and more

Star-Advertiser Print Replica
What is a Print Replica?

The Print Replica of the newspaper is a page-by-page replica of the day's printed newspaper - including all stories, sections, photos and ads - not including advertiser preprints - in PDF like form. It can be viewed on your computer's web browser, iPad, iPhone and some e-Readers.



Print Replica FAQ's »
RECIPE: Kai Choy Pork Soup
Local boy Taz Vegas of Nanakuli can cook — and he can sing. Here is some simple comfort food that will taste even better the next day. Mahalo, Taz, for the great recipe! Read More »
 
Splendor of China
The event features 150 booths, the debut of Narcissus Queen contestants, a keiki corner, cultural performances and more. Read More »
 

Most Popular