Quantcast

Wednesday, November 26, 2014         

Off the News Premium

For Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Warn folks about hidden dangers • Blank votes also affect elections
For Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Preparing for future athletic success • Paradise Park, a phoenix rising
For Monday, November 24, 2014
Car-sharing companies have to share tax load • Children are priceless, but not always cost-free
For Saturday, November 22, 2014
The state Campaign Spending Commission upheld the public interest by voting 3-1 to refer complaints against the Pacific Resource Partnership Political Action Committee for possible criminal prosecution.
For Friday, November 21, 2014
More employed better for us all • Building waste put to good use
For Thursday, November 20, 2014
Handi-Van still needs the human touch • Today's a good day to quit smoking
For Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Obamacare comes to state's rescue • Ige administration looking for help
For Tuesday, November 18, 2014
At last, some good news from UH sports • Sun still shining on photovoltaic projects
For Monday, November 17, 2014
State shouldn't appeal transparency ruling • Spiny sea urchins now seem downright lovable
For Saturday, November 15, 2014
"Live, work, play." By now, we've all become familiar with this simple but effective catchphrase in tandem with Kakaako's ongoing redevelopment. On Tuesday, a public forum, "The Pedestrian Experience in Kakaako," will discuss a vision for the area from the pedestrians' perspective.
For Friday, November 14, 2014
Can ag chairmen agree on GMOs? An anniversary passes quietly
For Thursday, November 13, 2014
Weapons of war shouldn't control themselves • Baby, it's really cold outside — or so we're told
For Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Medal for Mink is well-deserved • Millionaires now have place to live
For Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Lava flow offers a chance to innovate • Kapiolani Park helps our mental health
For Monday, November 10, 2014
Meta-analysis reveals upside of GMOs • The online science journal PLOS One has published a peer-reviewed meta-analysis of 147 studies about the impacts of genetically modified crops.
For Saturday, November 8, 2014
‘Hawaii Five-0' hits the big One-0-0 • Souki throws local GOP under the bus?
For Friday, November 7, 2014
How much will it cost next year? • Ala Moana Center sure has changed
For Thursday, November 6, 2014
Undersea cables can do double duty • A dispiriting turnout on every island
For Wednesday, November 5, 2014
On your mark, get set … rest • UHPA pay raise not a done deal
For Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Hawaii lands in the Top 10 for providing after-school programs for students, according to a national study by the Afterschool Alliance.
For Monday, November 3, 2014
Measles outbreak in Hawaii worrisome • Lure tourists with Hawaii's history
For Saturday, November 1, 2014
Hawaii folks generally like that visitors find the islands spectacular. We count on it, in fact. But when that spectacle is fraught with as much danger as a lava flow, close encounters are an undeniably bad addition to the itinerary.
For Friday, October 31, 2014
Ghosts, goblins and Minnie Mouse • An investigation without video
For Thursday, October 30, 2014
Hawaii's high quality of life — we're No. 1 nationally! — comes at high expense to businesses and living costs.
For Wednesday, October 29, 2014
All's fair in lots and parking • We like coconuts but keep 'em cut
For Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Pahoa residents well-served by civil defense • Bethany Hamilton is one amazing racer
For Saturday, October 25, 2014
The return of stolen military medals to the family of the late Sgt. Drew Scobie is a bittersweet ending to an episode that had been all bitter.
For Friday, October 24, 2014
Drop in molasses bucket for Matson • HPD moves slowly in right direction
For Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Shidler's altruism an inspiration • A rose by any other name …
For Saturday, October 18, 2014
It's delightful seeing "3" as the first digit on those gas-station price signs, isn't it? As the Star-Advertiser reported a few days ago, the statewide average cost for a gallon of gas has dropped below $4 for the first time since March.
For Friday, October 17, 2014
Kaiser wants to see your photos • Hawaii doing well as fashion hub
For Thursday, October 16, 2014
Dispose of fireworks ASAP • E-cigarette ban makes sense
For Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Here we go again; better get ready • Kalaeloa Airport looking for a sign
For Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Hawaii County's Ironman mayor gets it done • Hawaii's got connections in the NLCS
For Monday, October 13, 2014
HART chief gets a raise, and probably deserves it • Beleaguered resort finally getting the ax
For Saturday, October 11, 2014
Longs Drugs finally notices Waikiki • Not all stakeholders had their say
For Friday, October 10, 2014
Rules useless unless enforced • Candidates put on their thinking caps
For Thursday, October 9, 2014
HPR ensnared in endangered snail romance • Sit-lie expansion plans need some work
For Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Public hospitals a campaign issue • HTA reminds us we're in Hawaii
For Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Does every teacher need an education degree? • Reconnecting the Health Connector
For Monday, October 6, 2014
Good attitude and work ethic will take you far • Doctor-training program worth keeping
For Saturday, October 4, 2014
Voter registration deadline looms • DLNR needs to fill the gap at beach
For Friday, October 3, 2014
College still worth the time and cost • UH-West Oahu problem not cool
For Thursday, October 2, 2014
Investigate alleged police misconduct independently • Enemy of fruit fly could be a Trojan horse
For Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Don't mess with eatery placards • Stars to be out for groundbreaking
For Tuesday, September 30, 2014
It's a $50,000 message that all public officials need to hear and heed. The Honolulu Ethics Commission has imposed its largest-ever civil fine: on former City Councilman Romy Cachola for multiple alleged violations of city ethics laws.
For Monday, September 29, 2014
No tuition increase: Yay! Tap general fund: Boo! • Storms and lava aside, Hawaii island doing well
For Saturday, September 27, 2014
Out of disaster, an idea for housing? • New life for Ilikai is return to past
For Friday, September 26, 2014
Warn your keiki about strangers
For Thursday, September 25, 2014
The gubernatorial candidates square off • A new effort to find homes for families
For Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Island Air not up a creek just yet • Monk seals' best friends are human
For Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Voters should act before Madame Pele does • 2 First Amendment victories in as many days
For Monday, September 22, 2014
Apparently critics of the new law were wrong • The price of free speech is $12,401
For Saturday, September 20, 2014
Does HELCO have a magic shield? • Navigators seen as pretty cool
For Friday, September 19, 2014
Chief should meet with lawmakers • UH faculty gives 2 thumbs down
For Thursday, September 18, 2014
The power of special-education advocates is clear in how the state Board of Education redistributed $25 million worth of budget cuts affecting Hawaii's public schools.
For Wednesday, September 17, 2014
At least weather here is lovely • HECO sleep-aid actually important
For Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Margaret Waldron's claim to fame revived • The going gets greener at Turtle Bay
For Monday, September 15, 2014
We're outraged by latest case of road rage • Separation can make heart grow fonder?
For Saturday, September 13, 2014
Nobody repaves roads like Pele • Pot advocate rejoins the community
For Friday, September 12, 2014
HART's new job: controlling costs • A new use for an old building
For Thursday, September 11, 2014
OHA wise to invest in college education • Global security requires global resolve
For Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Still waiting for dispensaries • It's a watch, but so much more
For Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Hawaii's economy is improving — or not • Do alcohol breath tests require a warrant?
For Monday, September 8, 2014
Our dream is for DMV to not be a nightmare • Best place to smoke is not in my house
For Saturday, September 6, 2014
Public policy guided by the gods? Go Rainbow Warriors, Rainbow Wahine!
For Friday, September 5, 2014
Military cleanup better late than ... • Hawaii County gets some relief
For Thursday, September 4, 2014
Longs becoming part of your smoke-free day • Don't be discouraged — get your Warriors tickets
For Wednesday, September 3, 2014
The upside is Abercrombie did the right thing • Pay attention to those first 3 years of life
For Tuesday, September 2, 2014
State can ignore reality for only so long •
For Monday, September 1, 2014
Workers of America — unite! • No laborer is free while others are oppressed?
For Saturday, August 30, 2014
Every misfortune isn't a 'disaster' • Expect more tourists from Asia
For Friday, August 29, 2014
Hawaii doesn't 'resemble' U.S.? • Go Warriors, and fans go early!
For Thursday, August 28, 2014
Would an objective report cost more? • Hawaii car accidents not comparable to all states
For Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Digital age puts social skills at risk • Let the kids sleep a little bit longer
For Tuesday, August 26, 2014
All the gubernatorial candidates on Olelo — so far • The highs and lows of UH-Manoa rankings
For Monday, August 25, 2014
Pay now, or pay later. That seems to be the lesson from all the medical research revealing what food is bad for you.
For Saturday, August 23, 2014
Some Hawaiians support DOI efforts • Acquitted after trying to escape
For Friday, August 22, 2014
Success is for the birds, in good way • Prudent steps on schools budget
For Thursday, August 21, 2014
No surprise here: Children are expensive • Take note of those colorful swirls over the ocean
For Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Gov hopefuls set sights on general • Made in Hawaii makes out fine
For Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Not everyone opposes federal recognition • Satisfries go the way of the McLean Deluxe
For Monday, August 18, 2014
Too many cars stolen, chopped up in Honolulu • ‘Turn left at the coral reef, you have arrived'
For Saturday, August 16, 2014
Three cheers for the decision by the Honolulu City Council for its latest compromise. The vote this week was to extend a one-time reprieve for property taxpayers who qualify but did not file for a owner-occupant exemption on high-end homes.
For Friday, August 15, 2014
Wrecking ball for Ward Warehouse • Send feds opinions on sovereignty
For Thursday, August 14, 2014
Politicians follow the votes on Hawaii island • UH battens down hatches as NCAA approaches
For Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Could Puna get power faster? • From Maui, a poet for the wide world
For Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Besides the devastation in Puna, for many island residents the only things Hurricanes Iselle and Julio left behind are those cases of bottled water and Spam collected in a last-minute frenzy. No doubt many Hawaii households are fully stocked for the next hurricane.
For Monday, August 11, 2014
Princeton University was seeking to thwart grade inflation when it decided in 2004 to limit the percentage of students in any given course who could receive an A. Now the Ivy League institution is reconsidering the policy.
For Saturday, August 9, 2014
Lone Star tick can cure taste for meat • Eating fish is great, if you like mercury
For Friday, August 8, 2014
Store, conserve emergency water • Who will be next at UH to get fired?
For Thursday, August 7, 2014
More choices, same tragedy for Deedy jurors • Madame Pele on guard against hurricane
For Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Stormy weather might have a say • Education earns a high rating
For Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Tax Department could use some tech support • U.S. immigration debate like a bad dream
For Monday, August 4, 2014
HECO toys with actual supply and demand • It's a wonder any of us here are happy
For Saturday, August 2, 2014
Streets of Honolulu can be confusing • They're livin' it up at the Hotel Lanai
For Friday, August 1, 2014
Check their plans before you vote • School finally gets with the program
For Thursday, July 31, 2014
Primary election voting is underway • Didn't get your city tax bill? Too bad, you still owe
For Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Hawaii lands role in WMD detection &bulll; Bike arrows won't guarantee safety
For Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Fewer teachers leaving, and way fewer fired • Food sustainability great, but not in my backyard?

30 Years Of City Lights
One of the best things about Christmas in Hawaii, Honolulu City Lights, debuts a new set of characters when the tree lights go on Dec. 6 at 6 p.m. Read More »
 
Zipping Along The North Shore
A new multi-zipline operation traverses some of the most amazing scenery on the North Shore Read More »
 

Most Popular