Quantcast

Wednesday, January 28, 2015         

Off the News Premium

For Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Nominee's hearing sure to be lively • Pahoa could use escape routes
For Tuesday, January 27, 2015
All in a day's work for saviors at sea • Judy Collins shares stage with fellow folk singer
For Monday, January 26, 2015
It's a stretch, and not just geographically. The journey of former Gov. Linda Lingle from Washington Place to a job with the Illinois governor set off a new round of speculation among local pundits about what she's really thinking.
For Saturday, January 24, 2015
No room at the emergency rooms? • Football season soon just a memory
For Friday, January 23, 2015
One thing's for sure in this whole Robert Allenby mess: Hawaii's image as a safe tourist destination sure has taken a beating. • Cloudier and hazier. No, we're not talking about the smoke emanating from electronic cigarettes, but the health-risk information swirling around them.
For Thursday, January 22, 2015
The state Constitution should be amended to lift the rule requiring that the governor can select only Cabinet members who have lived in Hawaii for a year preceding the appointment. • The Institute on Taxation and Economic Policy ranks Hawaii No. 2 on its list of states where taxation drains a larger share from the poor than other income groups.
For Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Pearl Harbor vet gets prime seat • Maybe there's a way to blame IRS
For Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Snowden the whistleblower, live from Moscow • STEM jobs in short supply in Honolulu
For Monday, January 19, 2015
Honolulu civil rights attorney Eric Seitz left town last week to be at a ceremony Saturday at Antioch Missionary Baptist Church, founded by former slaves, in Blue Mountain, Miss.
For Saturday, January 17, 2015
Do what you can to avoid the flu • A great idea for someone else to pay for
For Friday, January 16, 2015
How to think, not what to think • Can union stop city's trash plan?
For Thursday, January 15, 2015
Police on the front lines with pedestrians • A macadamia-nut-candy empire grows
For Wednesday, January 14, 2015
The night the lights went out • Obama expenses should be federal
For Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Taking a stand against illegal dumping • Taking measure of Hawaiians and geothermal
For Monday, January 12, 2015
Sometimes it's best to just throw in the towel • Look before leaping, and maybe form a human chain
For Saturday, January 10, 2015
Are you ready for some football, to end? • Hawaii is known as a place to marry
For Friday, January 9, 2015
Being an endangered species is not an enviable position but, ironically, it does bestow a certain elite status. The nene goose, Hawaii's state bird, driven to near extinction, is now protected wherever it's found.
For Thursday, January 8, 2015
Putting the ‘aloha' back in the aloha shirt • A PV system of ambitious proportions
For Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Wind farm not fait accompli yet • Finances fall to shifting sands
For Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Heed warning of weekend's stormy weather • Hotels face the inevitable: free Wi-Fi
For Monday, January 5, 2015
Hawaii sure to be mentioned again on Jan. 12 • As if we didn't have enough to worry about
For Saturday, January 3, 2015
2015 started with a bang, unfortunately • ‘Selfie stick' actually pretty cool
For Friday, January 2, 2015
A mayor's job is never finished • One really can go home again
For Thursday, January 1, 2015
It's Marcus Mariota day, here and in Pasadena •
For Wednesday, December 31, 2014
Rep. Johanson goes with the flow • Does price floor milk consumers?
For Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Cabinet shuffle: Aila moves from DLNR to DHHL• Money pours in worldwide to save Kauai birds
For Monday, December 29, 2014
Flash flooding occurs in a flash, so heed warnings • Lucky you live Hawaii, despite growing population
For Saturday, December 27, 2014
It ain't much, but it's welcome anyway • More people, more traffic, more caution
For Friday, December 26, 2014
Coconut crabs not worth food value • Smile, you're on candid camera?
For Thursday, December 25, 2014
All I want for Christmas is ... for the lava to stop • Kauai Council starts slide down slippery slope
For Wednesday, December 24, 2014
New taxes not on Santa Ige's list • Things looking up as '15 approaches
For Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Without a naming sponsor, it's the Hawai‘i Bowl • Lizards go on a diet, unwillingly
For Monday, December 22, 2014
That the natural disaster still unfolding in Pahoa is known as the June 27 lava flow sums up the stressful uncertainty of coping with the effects of a volcanic eruption. • Boarding someone's boat and taking violent action, which four Molokai fishermen are accused of doing, is not the appropriate response to outsiders plying nearshore waters.
For Saturday, December 20, 2014
President Barack Obama treated the press conferences held just before leaving for his Hawaii vacation as the last chance to leave a good impression for the year. But even given the Democrats' electoral drubbing, the 2014 edition had a rosier tinge than the year before.
For Friday, December 19, 2014
Hackers who the White House linked to North Korea have intimidated Sony Pictures into scrapping "The Interview," a comedy depicting the assassination of North Korean dictator Kim Jong-un.
For Thursday, December 18, 2014
The macadamia nut industry has to be happy that it had such a cranky advocate in Cho Hyun-ah. That, of course, is the Korean Air Lines executive.
Marcus Mariota charmed with the best of 'em, holding his own on Monday night's "Late Show with David Letterman," counting down the Top 10 list. • Rock climbers assume a certain level of risk simply by participating in the activity, and most of them know what they are getting into.
For Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Once again, the Honolulu Marathon proved its credentials as an international event, especially in the elite class of runners. • Ensuring that the ocean is not overharvested with impunity is the right instinct. That's what the state BLNR is trying to do.
For Monday, December 15, 2014
An infusion of federal funds rightly brings preschool to Hawaii charter schools, which deserve the same sort of options available to regular public schools. • The agreement by the Honolulu City Council on Wednesday to pay $250,000 to an alleged victim of police abuse is lamentable.
For Saturday, December 13, 2014
See the robotics masters duke it out • Don't know if it means anything, but …
For Friday, December 12, 2014
Fingers crossed for Mariota • CGI Group needs to clean up mess
The estranged son of a Hawaii fisherman rescued after 12 days at sea looks forward to seeing his father for the first time since the 1990s. • Teachers could simply turn to Google and type in "lesson plan" and "volcanoes" and get ideas and materials for their classroom. However, there's no topping the real thing.
For Wednesday, December 10, 2014
The health questions. The emotions. The misinformation. If there's one contentious issue in our midst that urgently needs mediation, it's genetically modified organism (GMO) crops and products. • Add this to the evidence that human beings are among the most adaptable creatures on the planet: Some Big Island folks are learning to like coqui frogs.
For Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Never mind asking whether the Filipino community here is raising relief funds after the latest natural disaster. The last fundraiser for Typhoon Haiyan never ended.
For Monday, December 8, 2014
Budget Department's loss is UH's gain • Let's make best of latest social engineering plan
For Saturday, December 6, 2014
Charter schools survive by choice • Rail columns have an artistic side
For Friday, December 5, 2014
It's horrifying enough that a young Hawaiian monk seal was bludgeoned to death on Kauai, but even worse knowing how much time and effort has gone toward protecting this critically endangered species.
For Thursday, December 4, 2014
Hawaii-born QBs square off for football glory • Free speech now more free on UH campuses
For Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Helm helped out in a beautiful way • Represent your neighborhood
For Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Seniors could bear brunt of hospital system woes • More accidents as more bicycles hit the road
For Monday, December 1, 2014
Watch Gov.-elect David Ige's inauguration • GMO opponents need to try a different tack
For Saturday, November 29, 2014
Pause in lava flow a wonderful gift • Skate park finally becomes reality • The twists and turns! The dips and soars!
For Friday, November 28, 2014
Today significant in Hawaii history • Construction pain won't last forever
For Thursday, November 27, 2014
Many folks willingly — eagerly — head out for some power shopping on Thanksgiving Day and the pre-Black Friday bargains.
For Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Warn folks about hidden dangers • Blank votes also affect elections
For Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Preparing for future athletic success • Paradise Park, a phoenix rising
For Monday, November 24, 2014
Car-sharing companies have to share tax load • Children are priceless, but not always cost-free
For Saturday, November 22, 2014
The state Campaign Spending Commission upheld the public interest by voting 3-1 to refer complaints against the Pacific Resource Partnership Political Action Committee for possible criminal prosecution.
For Friday, November 21, 2014
More employed better for us all • Building waste put to good use
For Thursday, November 20, 2014
Handi-Van still needs the human touch • Today's a good day to quit smoking
For Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Obamacare comes to state's rescue • Ige administration looking for help
For Tuesday, November 18, 2014
At last, some good news from UH sports • Sun still shining on photovoltaic projects
For Monday, November 17, 2014
State shouldn't appeal transparency ruling • Spiny sea urchins now seem downright lovable
For Saturday, November 15, 2014
"Live, work, play." By now, we've all become familiar with this simple but effective catchphrase in tandem with Kakaako's ongoing redevelopment. On Tuesday, a public forum, "The Pedestrian Experience in Kakaako," will discuss a vision for the area from the pedestrians' perspective.
For Friday, November 14, 2014
Can ag chairmen agree on GMOs? An anniversary passes quietly
For Thursday, November 13, 2014
Weapons of war shouldn't control themselves • Baby, it's really cold outside — or so we're told
For Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Medal for Mink is well-deserved • Millionaires now have place to live
For Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Lava flow offers a chance to innovate • Kapiolani Park helps our mental health
For Monday, November 10, 2014
Meta-analysis reveals upside of GMOs • The online science journal PLOS One has published a peer-reviewed meta-analysis of 147 studies about the impacts of genetically modified crops.
For Saturday, November 8, 2014
‘Hawaii Five-0' hits the big One-0-0 • Souki throws local GOP under the bus?
For Friday, November 7, 2014
How much will it cost next year? • Ala Moana Center sure has changed
For Thursday, November 6, 2014
Undersea cables can do double duty • A dispiriting turnout on every island
For Wednesday, November 5, 2014
On your mark, get set … rest • UHPA pay raise not a done deal
For Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Hawaii lands in the Top 10 for providing after-school programs for students, according to a national study by the Afterschool Alliance.
For Monday, November 3, 2014
Measles outbreak in Hawaii worrisome • Lure tourists with Hawaii's history
For Saturday, November 1, 2014
Hawaii folks generally like that visitors find the islands spectacular. We count on it, in fact. But when that spectacle is fraught with as much danger as a lava flow, close encounters are an undeniably bad addition to the itinerary.
For Friday, October 31, 2014
Ghosts, goblins and Minnie Mouse • An investigation without video
For Thursday, October 30, 2014
Hawaii's high quality of life — we're No. 1 nationally! — comes at high expense to businesses and living costs.
For Wednesday, October 29, 2014
All's fair in lots and parking • We like coconuts but keep 'em cut
For Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Pahoa residents well-served by civil defense • Bethany Hamilton is one amazing racer
For Saturday, October 25, 2014
The return of stolen military medals to the family of the late Sgt. Drew Scobie is a bittersweet ending to an episode that had been all bitter.
For Friday, October 24, 2014
Drop in molasses bucket for Matson • HPD moves slowly in right direction
For Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Shidler's altruism an inspiration • A rose by any other name …
For Saturday, October 18, 2014
It's delightful seeing "3" as the first digit on those gas-station price signs, isn't it? As the Star-Advertiser reported a few days ago, the statewide average cost for a gallon of gas has dropped below $4 for the first time since March.
For Friday, October 17, 2014
Kaiser wants to see your photos • Hawaii doing well as fashion hub
For Thursday, October 16, 2014
Dispose of fireworks ASAP • E-cigarette ban makes sense
For Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Here we go again; better get ready • Kalaeloa Airport looking for a sign
For Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Hawaii County's Ironman mayor gets it done • Hawaii's got connections in the NLCS
For Monday, October 13, 2014
HART chief gets a raise, and probably deserves it • Beleaguered resort finally getting the ax
For Saturday, October 11, 2014
Longs Drugs finally notices Waikiki • Not all stakeholders had their say
For Friday, October 10, 2014
Rules useless unless enforced • Candidates put on their thinking caps
For Thursday, October 9, 2014
HPR ensnared in endangered snail romance • Sit-lie expansion plans need some work
For Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Public hospitals a campaign issue • HTA reminds us we're in Hawaii
For Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Does every teacher need an education degree? • Reconnecting the Health Connector
For Monday, October 6, 2014
Good attitude and work ethic will take you far • Doctor-training program worth keeping
For Saturday, October 4, 2014
Voter registration deadline looms • DLNR needs to fill the gap at beach
For Friday, October 3, 2014
College still worth the time and cost • UH-West Oahu problem not cool
For Thursday, October 2, 2014
Investigate alleged police misconduct independently • Enemy of fruit fly could be a Trojan horse
For Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Don't mess with eatery placards • Stars to be out for groundbreaking
For Tuesday, September 30, 2014
It's a $50,000 message that all public officials need to hear and heed. The Honolulu Ethics Commission has imposed its largest-ever civil fine: on former City Councilman Romy Cachola for multiple alleged violations of city ethics laws.

Waikele Road Improvements To Relieve Traffic Jams
Aloha! We begin our legislative session this week, meeting for 60 working days over the course of the next 15 weeks or so, with adjournment scheduled for May 7. Read More »
 
Local Pageant Pro Vies For USA National Miss Preteen Title
Torres began her journey into the world of pageantry at the age of 5, after spotting a pretty pageant flier in the mail. Read More »
 

Most Popular