Quantcast
  

Wednesday, April 23, 2014         

Off the News Premium

For Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Science behind stowaway miracle • First, run analysis on autism costs
For Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Take a walk to celebrate Earth Day • Patience, please: H-1 in final phase of makeover
For Monday, April 21, 2014
Let the bidding begin on Obama library • Speaking of libraries …
For Saturday, April 19, 2014
Guam resolves to modify Jones Act • Connector probe still a good idea
For Friday, April 18, 2014
Protect students who need it most • Let's hear from food truck owners
For Thursday, April 17, 2014
Al Gore, the vice president-turned-champion of green energy, told admirers packing the Stan Sheriff Center on Tuesday that the issue of green energy is building quite a consensus across the political spectrum.
For Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Public disclosure the best option • Anti-GMO forces get legal backup
For Tuesday, April 15, 2014
ACA may distract IRS, but not for long • It's not what Inouye wanted; it's what you want
For Monday, April 14, 2014
Think creatively to add more affordable housing • It’s an improvement, but we can do better
For Saturday, April 12, 2014
Want some free papaya seeds? • It's a good idea, but stick to the rules
For Friday, April 11, 2014
Doomed to fail, despite his vote • A state that's friendly to elders
For Thursday, April 10, 2014
Not too late to help victims of Typhoon Haiyan • Get me to the graduation on time
For Wednesday, April 9, 2014
Quality high, quantity lower • Party and ponder meaning of life
For Tuesday, April 8, 2014
Self-control is best response to sadistic trolls • Health Connector easy target, but not this time
For Monday, April 7, 2014
Hawaii gun laws suit us just fine • New credit cards offer extra measure of security
For Saturday, April 5, 2014
Have you hugged your keiki today? • Another reason to visit Lanai
For Friday, April 4, 2014
How to redefine small business' • Get those ants before they get us
For Thursday, April 3, 2014
UH law school distinguishes itself again • Reality check: Were you ready for the tsunami?
For Wednesday, April 2, 2014
Deadline passes; life goes on • Don't let homeless take over parks
For Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Finally time for go! to go • We'll miss the gas pump, and the attendants
For Monday, March 31, 2014
Wider highway should ease nerves on Kauai •
For Saturday, March 29, 2014
Take me out to the opera • Go Shane, Kolten, Jerome and Kurt!
For Friday, March 28, 2014
Don't prolong Connector agony • It's much easier to donate blood
For Thursday, March 27, 2014
It's not pono to be so secretive about Pono Choices • Minds get a workout in FIRST Robotics competition
For Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Too early to hawk delisting proposal • Nene decide Oahu pretty nice
For Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Debate over state instrument hits sour notes • The wheels on the bus start going 'round, 'round
For Monday, March 24, 2014
It took awhile, but Farrington makeover underway • Starbucks may soon offer more for your bucks
For Saturday, March 22, 2014
Democrats should be concerned, too • Longtime joblessness not a good sign
For Friday, March 21, 2014
Plavix for some was like a placebo • Do GMO-free folks eat Cheerios?
For Thursday, March 20, 2014
A nontoxic war on the dreaded fire ant • Pressure to build a new sewer tunnel
For Wednesday, March 19, 2014
Watch out for flying PV panels • As go! goes, so go our flying options
For Tuesday, March 18, 2014
An alternative health insurance connection • A little regulation won't eliminate lunch trucks
For Monday, March 17, 2014
It's a great idea, if you can find financing for it • Your grandson is in trouble; give me your money
For Saturday, March 15, 2014
Breastfeeding is a legitimate excuse • Symphony season is music to our ears
For Friday, March 14, 2014
State Bar shares a little -- very little • GMO ordinance: Ready, fire, aim
For Thursday, March 13, 2014
More work to do on distracted-driving law • A thankful Molokai gets its air service back
For Wednesday, March 12, 2014
Intriguing land deal needs more study • Give Kupuna Care support, and no gaps
For Tuesday, March 11, 2014
Maybe subpoenas will help fix Hawaii State Hospital • Public anger rouses a passive City Council
For Monday, March 10, 2014
The U.S. Government Accountability Office has agreed to a request by some House Republicans to audit how $304 million in federal grants were spent on the "Cover Oregon" health insurance website, which has not enrolled a single person online without special assistance.
For Saturday, March 8, 2014
Have Puna district voters had enough? • Better deficient than corrupt, but still
For Friday, March 7, 2014
Internet access virtually all over • Travel light and avoid hassle
For Thursday, March 6, 2014
An Arizona Memorial stamp for the ages • It's a bird! It's a crane!
For Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Help star teacher help her students • It's not always one or the other
For Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Wait and see on Kyo-ya's project • Bring back breadfruit to local tables
For Monday, March 3, 2014
Threat of eminent domain is trump card for state • Deaths involving garbage trucks need analysis
For Sunday, March 2, 2014
"Doonesbury" political cartoonist Garry Trudeau has announced another extended break from his daily cartooning, to pursue producing "Alpha House," a video show.
For Saturday, March 1, 2014
It's one of the burdens of being an island state: a state government spanning eight isles and four county systems that require much business travel across waterways.
For Friday, February 28, 2014
Ancient fishpond gets new life • GMO labeling bill deserves a rest
For Thursday, February 27, 2014
DOE pays lawyers, then teachers, then lawyers • Sparklers were fun, but fresh air is better
For Wednesday, February 26, 2014
16-year-old puts E. coli on notice • Lanai changing before our eyes
For Tuesday, February 25, 2014
Have something to say about Pono Choices, the sex-ed curriculum being piloted in some public middle schools?
For Monday, February 24, 2014
Con artists always trying to steal your money • We're not as content here as we used to be
For Saturday, February 22, 2014
Younger politicians cultivate the future • Perception not always the reality
For Friday, February 21, 2014
Curtain closing on old DHT building • Proposed merger raises questions
For Thursday, February 20, 2014
Working on the railroad once again • DOE investigation takes longer than criminal one
For Wednesday, February 19, 2014
You, too, can be a citizen-scientist • Financial literacy gets boost at LCC
For Tuesday, February 18, 2014
Rainy day run kept Aloha Run racers cool • Gender an issue on Board of Regents
For Monday, February 17, 2014
Hawaii folks wanting to sign up for the Affordable Care Act, aka ACA or Obamacare, by the March 31 deadline might've been rightfully spooked against signing up online, due to horror stories about computerization snafus. So, going it the old-fashioned way, via pen-and-paper application, would seem a prudent thing.
For Saturday, February 15, 2014
Pro bono help failed to materialize • Another brouhaha involving Hanohano
For Friday, February 14, 2014
A valentine for romantic Hawaii • Baseball 'Bows back in business
For Thursday, February 13, 2014
Memo to governor: Feb. 26, Feb. 26, Feb. 26 • AP courses welcome in public schools
For Wednesday, February 12, 2014
Shirley Temple found love here • Snowden found easy pickings here
For Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Protect ‘Iolani Palace's irreplaceable treasures • Creative solutions to affordable housing shortage
For Monday, February 10, 2014
Where in the Dickhens will ex-Kyo-ya chief land? • Competing burger entrepreneurs do the right thing
For Saturday, February 8, 2014
Speaking of what's fair, not much about the Bruno Mars concert ticket sales can be described in those terms. Almost half the tickets for the Hawaii-born singer's three sold-out shows here were snapped up by people outside the state, almost all online.
For Friday, February 7, 2014
Any fan of triumphs of the human spirit is surely welcoming the start of the 2014 Winter Olympics. More than 6,000 athletes from 87 countries are vying for medals at the Games, being held in Sochi, Russia.
For Thursday, February 6, 2014
Health care purveyor will stop selling tobacco • Looking for the keys to the House
For Wednesday, February 5, 2014
War makes us do imprudent things • Silver linings here, there, everywhere
For Tuesday, February 4, 2014
HECO's waterfront white elephant • Troubled teen looks beyond isles for help
For Monday, February 3, 2014
Forbid some fishing off Forbidden Island? Maybe • Hawaii still in the running for Obama library
For Saturday, February 1, 2014
Bruno naysayers living on Mars? • Don't let your next hike be your last
For Friday, January 31, 2014
Obama's numbers decline — on TV • Get on that horse and ride into 4712
For Thursday, January 30, 2014
Scams galore washing over us like water • UH men’s basketball succeeding on 2 levels
For Wednesday, January 29, 2014
Jean King honored folk hero Seeger • Job seekers get a statistical boost
For Tuesday, January 28, 2014
Time to build a safer sparkler • Living in the Supreme Court's fantasyland
For Monday, January 27, 2014
As the world turns, retain the ability to adapt • Pot export proposal puts cart ahead of horse
For Saturday, January 25, 2014
So far, so good with the dangerous surf • Can't we at least talk about HB 2506?
For Friday, January 24, 2014
Other proposals at the state Capitol have broad support, but surely Senate Bill 2446 is the frontrunner for Most Likely To Succeed. It would name a new Kihei, Maui, high school after the late Patsy Mink. All 25 senators have signed on.
For Thursday, January 23, 2014
At the Pro Bowl: New format, same warm weather • Closing the pay gap for women
For Wednesday, January 22, 2014
Cheating at KCC should be probed • Boldly going where state funds permit
For Tuesday, January 21, 2014
‘Compassionate release' should be done with care • Just let go of bus-advertising idea
For Monday, January 20, 2014
Reality shows have an upside after all • Martin Luther King Jr. Day worth more than a day
For Saturday, January 18, 2014
Some great football on the agenda • Former UH Warriors in all-stars game
For Friday, January 17, 2014
Who will win the Rusty Scalpel? • Pesticides filing limited good start
For Wednesday, January 15, 2014
Is there a doctor in the House? Yes • Let a thousand taro plants grow
For Tuesday, January 14, 2014
Remember the HIC? No, not the surf shop • If you can text in your sleep, look out
For Monday, January 13, 2014
In modern age, everyone's a journalist • Right-sizing of 803 Waimanu pays off
For Saturday, January 11, 2014
Charter schools must be accountable • Legislature comes to shipper's rescue
For Friday, January 10, 2014
Yellow light still flashing for state • See who's giving to your candidate
For Thursday, January 9, 2014
Shining a light on human trafficking • Drug tests coming up flat, data show
For Wednesday, January 8, 2014
East-West Center to the rescue • Housing bubble expanding again?
For Tuesday, January 7, 2014
Make room for WWII veterans at Punchbowl • Biofuels should be cheaper for ratepayer, too
For Monday, January 6, 2014
Overuse of ER is challenge for new health care law • Many women can meet pullups standard
For Saturday, January 4, 2014
States take initiative on immigration • 2nd Amendment freedom draws tourists
For Friday, January 3, 2014
2014 begins with peace and quiet • Lobbyists cheer legal marijuana
For Thursday, January 2, 2014
For health care, payoffs come later • 'Tis the season for recycling Christmas trees
For Wednesday, January 1, 2014
Another reason to quit smoking • Making tax policy real for taxpayers
For Tuesday, December 31, 2013
Help each other endure nature’s wrath • It’s New Year’s Eve — let’s be careful out there
For Monday, December 30, 2013
Is it time yet to ask for our money back? • Mistaken fares a boon to tourists
For Saturday, December 28, 2013
Court ruling irrelevant, but not really • Can 'No copper here' be misread?


POLL QUESTION
Given the incident involving the stowaway landing on Maui, how do you feel about airport security?
Star-Advertiser Print Replica
What is a Print Replica?

The Print Replica of the newspaper is a page-by-page replica of the day's printed newspaper - including all stories, sections, photos and ads - not including advertiser preprints - in PDF like form. It can be viewed on your computer's web browser, iPad, iPhone and some e-Readers.



Print Replica FAQ's »
Hawaii’s Most Special Athletes
Special Olympics is special because of the extra challenges the athletes must overcome. Hawaii’s best are preparing for nationals in New Jersey Read More »
 
Let There Be Lei
There is something special about lei that goes beyond the visual and aromatic pleasure they invoke. Lei are living and wearable pieces of art that touch not just our senses, but our emotions. Read More »