Wednesday, November 25, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Shining Stars

For Sunday, June 13, 2010

By Star-Advertiser staff



The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation Inc. has awarded $96,000 in scholarships this year to 60 seniors in Hawaii.

Eugene O. Senda of Roosevelt High School received the Mamoru Takitani Distinguished Student Award of $10,000; and Christina Lynn Economy of Waiakea High, the Aiko Takitani Distinguished Student Award of $10,000. Andrew K.D. Ellison of 'Iolani was given the Karen Uno Outstanding Student Award of $5,000.


» McDonald's Restaurants of Hawaii has awarded $25,000 in scholarships to 10 of its top student employees around the state.

They are Jane Badua, Aprillyn Mendoza, Charmaigne Joy Oliveros and Kristine Saguid of Maui High School; Mitchel Camille Dumbrique of Maryknoll; Wong Ly of Hilo; Esther Arieal Aniu Marquez of Honokaa; Christian John Racachot of Leilehua; Samantha Soto of Konawaena; and Lian Tolentino Urbina of Moanalua.


The Aloha Detachment of the Marine Corps League awarded $2,000 scholarships to Errol M. Vidad of Kalaheo High School's Navy Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps; Ross Baker and DiShante Lewis also of Kalaheo; Desiree Torres of Campbell's Navy JROTC; Brandon Nuss from Castle's Marine Corps JROTC; Shaniqua Vick-Ray of Radford's Navy JROTC; KyLynn W. Richey of Koolau Baptist Academy; and Rachel Urbano, a home-schooled student.

James D. Beasley and Nicholas Watson, both of Kalaheo, received $1,000 scholarships.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates