Sunday, July 27, 2014         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Association honors health care heroes

By Star-Advertiser staff


The Healthcare Association of Hawaii recently honored community leaders and legislators "who have gone above and beyond their job descriptions" in supporting Hawaii's health care system.

Aprille Geronimo, Hawaii Pacific University student of nursing, received a scholarship at the oganization's inaugural Awards and Scholarship Dinner.

A lifetime achievement award was given to Richard E. "Rich" Meiers, longtime president and executive director of the Healthcare Association of Hawaii, who retired last year.

George Greene, who succeeded Meiers, said the annual event was "an opportunity for the health care industry to recognize a few of the many dedicated care providers who work in different types of health care settings ... who deliver the care needed by the people of Hawaii."

Recipients included:

» Charlotte Dennis Leadership Award: Coral Andrews, Healthcare Association of Hawaii.

» Community Service Award: state Sen. Suzanne Chun-Oakland.

» Distinguished Service Award: Acute care, Keith Holderbaum, Castle Medical Center; long-term care, Diane Canon, Wahiawa General Hospital; home care and hospice, Pam Ito, CareResource Hawaii.

» Legislator of the year: state Rep. Michael Magaoay.

» Physician of the year: Dr. Linda Wong, Hawaii Medical Center East.

» Professional with Heart Award: Acute care, Tusitala Toomata-Mayer, Hawaii Medical Center; long-term care, Janice Takeuchi, Pearl City Nursing Home; home care and hospice, Cindy Kawasaki, Prime Care Services Hawaii.

» Rose Ann Poyzer Caregiver Award: Jerome Vasconcellos, St. Francis Home Care.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may receive a warning, and if you persist with such comments you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email commentfeedback@staradvertiser.com.
Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment.
Latest News/Updates
Political Radar
On policy

Warrior Beat
Apple fallout

Wassup Wit Dat!
Can You Spock ‘Em?

Warrior Beat
Meal plan

Volley Shots
Fey, Enriques on MJNT

Political Radar
Wilhelmina Rise, et al.

Court Sense
Cold War

Political Radar
Climate change