Sunday, November 29, 2015         

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

49 Hawaii candidates sign no new tax pledge

By Associated Press


Forty-nine mostly Republican candidates for the Hawaii Legislature and Congress have signed a no-new-taxes pledge.

The signings were announced Monday by the Grassroot Institute of Hawaii.

The pledge was designed by Americans for Tax Reform, a Washington group.

Among the Republicans who signed were lieutenant governor candidate Lynn Finnegan, congressional contenders John Willoughby in Hawaii's 2nd Congressional District and U.S. Rep. Charles Djou in the 1st Congressional District, and U.S. Senate candidate Cam Cavasso.

A spokesman for GOP gubernatorial contender James "Duke" Aiona says Aiona opposes tax hikes but did not sign because the pledge left no room for extraordinary circumstances and did not include a time frame.

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Latest News/Updates