Tuesday, July 22, 2014         

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Newly elected school board members to be inducted

By Associated Press

LAST UPDATED: 07:10 a.m. HST, Nov 29, 2010

Seven newly elected state Board of Education members are set to be inducted, but the ultimate fate of their posts is unclear.

A ceremony is planned for Monday at 10 a.m. at the Hawaii State Judiciary Building on south King Street.

The four new members are Maralyn Kurshals of the Leeward district; Leona Rocha-Wilson of Maui, and Randall Yee and Pamela Young, who represent all of Oahu.

Reelected to the board are central district member Eileen Clarke; Oahu at-large member Kim Coco Iwamoto, and Windward district member John Penebacker.

Voters this month approved a constitutional amendment allowing the governor to appoint the school board. However, the Legislature must first enact laws governing the appointment process.

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Breaking News
Wassup Wit Dat!
Silver Pockets Full

Political Radar

Political Radar

Island Crafters
Christmas in July

Political Radar
IBEW endorsement

Warrior Beat
Travel day

Small Talk
Counting coins