Tuesday, July 29, 2014         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Board of Education members take office, but for how long?

By Star-Advertiser Staff

LAST UPDATED: 12:57 p.m. HST, Nov 29, 2010

Hawaii Chief Justice Mark Recktenwald administered the oath of office to four new Board of Education members today.

The members will serve just a fraction of their four-year terms before the state moves to an appointed BOE, which voters approved in November.

At the swearing-in, board Chairman Garrett Toguchi urged members to move forward on the campaign pledges they made.

“Whether it’s a short period of time or a long period of time, what this opportunity gives to our current board members and our newly-elected board members, is an opportunity for the governor and the legislature to see how we all continue to perform, serving our public schools as best as we can,” he said.

The newly elected BOE members are Maralyn Kurshals, of the Leeward District; Leona Rocha-Wilson, the incoming Maui District member; and Randall Yee and Pamela Young, who have Oahu at-large seats.

Three sitting Board members who won re-election also were inducted: Central District member Eileen Clarke, Oahu at-large member Kim Coco Iwamoto and Windward District member John Penebacker.

More From The Star-Advertiser

How to pick a school board

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may receive a warning, and if you persist with such comments you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email commentfeedback@staradvertiser.com.
Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment.
Breaking News
Political Radar
`My side’

Political Radar
‘He reminds me of me’

Bionic Reporter
Needing a new knee

Warrior Beat
Monday musings

Small Talk
Burning money

Political Radar
On policy

Warrior Beat
Apple fallout