Wednesday, November 25, 2015         

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Three Warriors make all-WAC first team

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 6:02 p.m. HST, Dec 6, 2010

Receiver Greg Salas, linebacker Corey Paredes and safety Mana Silva made the first team, but co-champion Hawaii was shut out of the top honors as the Western Athletic Conference announced its all-conference football awards today, as voted upon by the league's nine coaches.

Boise State led the league with 11 first-team all-WAC honorees, while Fresno State and Nevada placed five on the first team.  Boise State’s Kellen Moore and Nevada’s Colin Kaepernick were named the co-Offensive Players of the Year, Fresno State’s Chris Carter earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, and San Jose State’s Keith Smith was named the Freshman of the Year.  Nevada’s Chris Ault was voted the WAC’s Coach of the Year.

Salas was one of 13 first-team all-WAC repeat selections from last year.

Hawaii placed a WAC-high seven players on the second team.
Top Individual Awards
Co-Offensive Players of the Year 
– Kellen Moore, Jr., QB, Boise State; Colin Kaepernick, Sr., QB, Nevada
Defensive Player of the Year – Chris Carter, Sr., DL, Fresno State
Freshman of the Year – Keith Smith, LB, San Jose State
Coach of the Year – Chris Ault, Nevada

First Team
Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
WR-Austin Pettis, Boise State, 6-3, 197, Sr.
WR-Titus Young, Boise State, 5-11, 168, Sr.
WR-Greg Salas, Hawaii, 6-2, 200, Sr.
TE-Virgil Green, Nevada, 6-5, 240, Sr.
OL-Thomas Byrd, Boise State, 5-11, 279, Jr.
OL-Nate Potter, Boise State, 6-6, 297, Jr.
OL-Kenny Wiggins, Fresno State, 6-7, 310, Sr.
OL-Rob McGill, Louisiana Tech, 6-6, 310, Sr.
OL-John Bender, Nevada, 6-8, 325, Sr.
QB-Kellen Moore, Boise State, 6-0, 186, Jr.
QB-Colin Kaepernick, Nevada, 6-6, 215, Sr.
RB-Doug Martin, Boise State, 5-9, 212, Jr.
RB-Vai Taua, Nevada, 5-10, 220, Sr.

Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
DL-Shea McClellin, Boise State, 6-3, 258, Jr.
DL-Ryan Winterswyk, Boise State, 6-4, 267, Sr.
DL-Chris Carter, Fresno State, 6-2, 230, Sr.
DL-Logan Harrell, Fresno State, 6-2, 275, Jr.
DL-Dontay Moch, Nevada, 6-1, 245, Sr.
LB-Winston Venable, Boise State, 5-11, 218, Sr.
LB-Ben Jacobs, Fresno State, 6-3, 225, Sr.
LB-Corey Paredes, Hawaii, 5-11, 230, Jr.
LB-Bobby Wagner, Utah State, 6-1, 230, Jr.
DB-George Iloka, Boise State, 6-3, 207, Jr.
DB-Jeron Johnson, Boise State, 5-11, 195, Sr.
DB-Mana Silva, Hawai‘i, 6-1, 220, Sr.
DB-Davon House, New Mexico State, 6-0, 178, Sr.

Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
PK-Kevin Goessling, Fresno State, 6-0, 195, Jr.
P-Bobby Cowan, Idaho, 6-5, 220, So.
ST-Phillip Livas, Louisiana Tech, 5-8, 175, Sr.

Second Team
WR-Jamel Hamler, Jr., Fresno State
WR-Kealoha Pilares, Sr., Hawaii
WR-Eric Greenwood, Sr., Idaho
WR-Rishard Matthews, Jr., Nevada
TE-Daniel Hardy, Sr., Idaho
OL-Bryce Harris, Jr., Fresno State
OL-Laupepa Letuli, Sr., Hawaii
OL-Adrian Thomas, Sr., Hawaii
OL-Chris Barker, So., Nevada
OL-Ailao Eliapo, Sr., San Jose State
QB-Bryant Moniz, Jr., Hawaii
RB-Alex Green, Sr., Hawaii
RB-Lennon Creer, Jr., Louisiana Tech

DL-Billy Winn, Jr., Boise State
DL-Kaniela Tuipulotu, Jr., Hawaii
DL-Aaron Lavarias, Sr., Idaho
DL-Matt Broha, Jr., Louisiana Tech
LB-Byron Hout, Jr., Boise State
LB-Travis Brown, So., Fresno State
LB-Adrien Cole, Jr., Louisiana Tech
LB-James-Michael Johnson, Jr., Nevada
LB-Keith Smith, Fr., San Jose State
DB-Brandyn Thompson, Sr., Boise State
DB-Desia Dunn, Sr., Fresno State
DB-Shiloh Keo, Sr., Idaho
DB-Isaiah Frey, Jr., Nevada
DB-Curtis Marsh, Sr., Utah State

PK-Scott Enos, Sr., Hawaii
P-Harrison Waid, Fr., San Jose State
ST-Taveon Rogers, Jr., New Mexico State

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Latest News/Updates