Tuesday, November 24, 2015         

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Students named winners of APEC committee's essay contest

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 7:41 p.m. HST, Oct 20, 2011

Five Hawaii high school students were named today as winners of an essay contest conducted by the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation host committee.

They will be invited to attend the APEC CEO Summit in Honolulu next month. They also received an Apple iPad and will have their essays placed on the APEC Hawaii Host Committee website at apec2011hawaii.com.

Students were asked to write an essay answering the question, "Why is sustainability important to you, Hawaii and APEC?"

The winners are:

>> Alexander Bitter, senor, Waiakea High School.

>> Ben Chao, junior, 'Iolani School.

>> Matthew Matasci, senior, St. Anthony Junior/Senior High.

>> Shane-Justin Nu'uhiwa, junior, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama campus.

>> Zoe Sims, junior, Hawaii Preparatory Academy.

The judges also selected 10 students to receive honorable mentions for their essays. These students will receive a $100 Apple gift card: Jake Belding, Sean Ching, Sophie Johnson and Sarah Tyler (Punahou), Evan Chinn and Tifany Yu ('Iolani), Aloe Corry (Honolulu Waldorf School), Ashley Fuerst (Kapolei), Kyle Jones (Konawaena) and Dan Ju (Kaiser).

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Latest News/Updates