Thursday, July 31, 2014         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Pope Benedict XVI names 22 new cardinals

By Associated Press

LAST UPDATED: 07:38 a.m. HST, Jan 06, 2012

VATICAN CITY » Pope Benedict XVI named 22 new cardinals Friday, including prelates in such key posts as New York and Hong Kong and a large group of Italians holding major Vatican positions.

Cardinals are the pope's top advisers, the elite group of churchmen who will eventually elect Benedict's successor. Of the 22, 18 are under the age of 80 -- raising to 125 the number of cardinals eligible to vote in the next papal conclave. Cardinals over 80 are not allowed to vote on the next pope.

Other new cardinals come from Berlin, Prague, Toronto and Florence, Italy.

The Vatican officials include a Brazilian prelate who heads the office for Consecrated Life.

The pope announced the names "with great joy" following an Epiphany Mass that ended the Vatican's main Christmas celebrations. He said they will be formally elevated at a Feb. 18 ceremony in Rome.

The list includes two Americans: Archbishop Timothy Dolan of New York and Archbishop Edwin O'Brien, Grand Master of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre and the former archbishop of Baltimore.

The pope named 16 Europeans as cardinals, including seven Italians. He also named Joao Braz de Aviz, a Brazilian who heads the Vatican office for religious life; John Tong Hon, bishop of Hong Kong; and George Alencherry, archbishop of the Syro-Malabar church in India.

The 18 new cardinals under 80 are:

» Fernando Filoni (Italian), Prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples

» Manuel Monteiro de Castro (Portuguese), Major Penitentiary of the Apostolic Penitentiary

» Santos Abril y Castello (Spanish), Archpriest of the Basilica of St. Mary Major

» Antonio Maria Veglio (Italian), President of the Pontifical Council for Migrants and Refugees

» Giuseppe Bertello (Italian), President of the Government of the Vatican City State

» Francesco Coccopalmerio (Italian), President of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts

» Joao Braz de Aviz (Brazil), Prefect of the Congregation for Religious

» Edwin O'Brien (United States), Grand Master of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre

» Domenico Calcagno (Italian), President of the Apostolic Patrimony of the Holy See

» Giuseppe Versaldi (Italian), President of the Prefecture for the Economic Affairs of the Holy See

» George Alencherry (Indian), Major Archbishop of the Syro-Malabar Church in India

» Thomas Collins (Canadian), Archbishop of Toronto

» Dominik Duka (Czech), Archbishop of Prague

» Wim Eijk (Dutch), Archbishop of Utrecht

» Giuseppe Bettori (Italian), Archbishop of Florence

» Timothy Dolan (United States) Archbishop of New York

» Thomas Woelki (German), Archbishop of Berlin

» John Tong Hon (Chinese), Bishop of Hong Kong

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may receive a warning, and if you persist with such comments you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email commentfeedback@staradvertiser.com.
Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment.
Breaking News
Political Radar
`Toss up’

Political Radar

Political Radar
Hilton; Plaza Club

Political Radar
Direct mail

Political Radar
Direct mail

Aperture Cafe
Ramadan #latergram