Friday, November 27, 2015         

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

11 finalists being considered for Honolulu District Court

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 4:11 p.m. HST, Feb 17, 2012


Hawaii Chief Justice Mark Recktenwald is seeking written comments on 11 candidates for two vacancies on the Honolulu District Court bench.

 The names of the candidates were submitted to him by the Judicial Selection Commission for vacancies created by the retirement of William Cardwell and Russel Nagata at the end of 2011.

The 11 are Brian A. Costa, Paula Devens, Nelson W.S. Goo, Shirley M. Kawamura, James S. Kawashima, Stephen H. Levins, Linda S. Martell, Alvin K. Nishimura, Maura McDermott Okamoto, Kevin A. Souza and Paul B.K. Wong.

People may submit comments on the character and qualifications of the candidatesto Recktenwald, Hawaii Supreme Court, 417 S. King St., Honolulu HI 96813; faxed to 808-539-4703, or emailed to

Comments, which will be confidential, must be postmarked or delivered by March 2, according to the state Judiciary.

The commission released the names Friday under its new rules adopted last year. The commission said 25 men and eight women applied for the judgeships.

Recktenwald has 30 days to make his appointments, which are subject to Senate approval.

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Latest News/Updates