Sunday, November 29, 2015         

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Senate confirms 3 Board of Education members

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 3:31 p.m. HST, Apr 19, 2012

Three Board of Education members have been confirmed by the Senate for terms through June 30, 2015.

The members — Keith Amemiya, Cheryl Lupenui and Nancy Budd — were initially confirmed in 2011 for one-year terms.

The Senate unanimously confirmed the appointees Thursday, allowing them to remain on the all-volunteer board.

Amemiya, executive administrator and secretary of the University of Hawaii Board of Regents, holds an at-large seat.

Lupenui is chairwoman of the BOE's Student Achievement Committee and former president and CEO of the YWCA of Oahu. She holds an Oahu seat on the BOE.

Budd, a lawyer in private practice, is the BOE's Kauai appointee.

The appointed Board of Education began the work of setting policy for Hawaii's statewide school system in April 2011. The switch to an appointed board, supported by voters, ended a 45-year run for Hawaii's elected BOE.

The nine members of the appointed board are selected by the governor and confirmed by the Senate.

Three seats on the BOE are for one-year terms. Three have two-year terms and two members and the chairman have three-year terms.

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet