Wednesday, September 2, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

UH's Ricketts, Li'ili'i, Coolen earn WAC softball awards

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 11:50 a.m. HST, May 9, 2012

Eight University of Hawaii players were named to the All-Western Athletic Conference softball teams today with the Rainbow Wahine also claiming three of the major awards.

Senior Stephanie Ricketts was named WAC Pitcher of the Year for the third straight season. Leisha Li'ili'i won WAC Freshman of the Year honors and Bob Coolen was named Coach of the Year.

Brigham Young's Delaney Willard was named Player of the Year.

Ricketts was among five UH players named to the All-WAC first team. Joining her were senior first baseman Makani Duhaylonsod-Kaleimamahu, junior shortstop Jessica Iwata, senior third baseman Sarah Robinson and junior center fielder Kelly Majam.

Li'ili'i made the second team as a designated player along with senior left fielder Alex Aguirre and junior pitcher Kaia Parnaby.

Three Hawaii high school graduates made the second team, Brigham Young first baseman Katie Manuma (Campbell), New Mexico State second baseman Shaleese Javillo (Kamehameha) and New Mexico State third baseman  Briana Tovio-Asato (Kapolei).

The WAC tournament opens today in Las Cruces, N.M. Top-seeded UH (43-5) has a bye today and will play San Jose State or Nevada on Thursday.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates