Tuesday, November 24, 2015         

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

State seeks public input on District Court judge candidates

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 3:58 p.m. HST, Nov 27, 2012

Hawaii Chief Justice Mark Recktenwald is seeking written comments on six finalists for a newly created Honolulu district court judgeship.

The six are Brian A. Costa, Nelson W.S. Goo, Timothy E. Ho, Judith A. Schevtchuk, Curtis E. Sherwood and Kevin A. Souza.

Recktenwald will appoint the judge from one of the six names sent to him by the Judicial Selection Commission.

The commission said 16 applied, including seven women and nine men. Of the 16, seven are government lawyers and five are part-time judges.

The appointment for a six-year term is subject to Senate confirmation.

The deadline for comment is Dec. 7. The comments will be confidential, according to the state Judiciary.

Comments about the qualifications and character of the finalists may be sent to: Chief Justice Mark Recktenwald, Hawaii Supreme Court, 417 S. King St., Honolulu Hi, 96813; Fax: 808-539-4703; Email: chiefjustice@courts.hawaii.gov.

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Latest News/Updates