Saturday, November 28, 2015         

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

UH law school wins national competition

By Erika Engle

LAST UPDATED: 10:57 a.m. HST, Mar 29, 2013

The University of Hawaii William S. Richardson School of Law has won the 22nd annual Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition, staged by the International Trademark Association.

UH competed alongside 86 other teams from law schools around the country in regional competitions. The students argued a fictional trademark litigation case in front of a panel of experienced trademark practitioners.

Eight teams including UH proceeded to the national finals including Georgetown University Law Center, Northwestern University School of Law and other prestigious schools.

Finalists made their arguments before a panel comprising judges and attorneys from the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

The competition was staged March 16, with the winners announced this morning.

First-time national competitors Shirley Lou, Andrea Maglasang, Avery Matro and Nikki Yamauchi took first place, as well as Best Oralist team and have been awarded $4,000 in prize money.

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet