Friday, November 27, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 8 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Chepkwony, Kiros win Honolulu Marathon

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 1:17 a.m. HST, Dec 9, 2013

Gilbert Chepkwony of Kenya won the Honolulu Marathon Sunday in a non-record time of 2 hours, 18 minutes, 47 seconds.

Chepkwony out dueled two-time winner Nicholas Chelimo, also of Kenya, down the stretch. Chelimo crossed the line in 2:19:38.

Saeki Makino of Japan held a sizable lead most of the way, but faded after 22 miles and was overtaken by a pack of elite professional runners including Chepwoni and Chelimo. Makino fell back and finished 16th.

Ehitu Kiros of Ethiopia won the women's race in 2:36:02, out kicking countrywoman Woynishet Girma who finished eight seconds later.

Defending champion Valentina Galimova was third in 2:36:13.

Nathan Carlson was the first local men's finisher in 2:45:39 and Polina Babkina the first local woman in 2:46:40.

A total of 22,599 entrants started the 26.2 mile race, out of 30,568 entries for the 41st annual event.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 8 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates