Friday, November 27, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 1 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Alan Wong receives culinary Excellence Award

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 1:36 p.m. HST, Mar 13, 2014

Alan Wong's Restaurants has received an Achievement of Excellence Award -- one of only three given out nationally -- from the American Culinary Federation, or ACF, the premier national organization of professional chefs.

The award, announced during the 2014 ACF Western Regional conference last week in Oakland, Calif., recognizes foodservice establishments that exemplify a commitment to excellence.

Alan Wong's Restaurants opened their doors in 1995 under the direction of Wong and have since expanded to include several venues, including Alan Wong's, The Pineapple Room and Alan Wong's Amasia. Each restaurant bases their menus on Hawaii Regional Cuisine; Wong is among 12 chefs who founded Hawaii Regional Cuisine.

Wong won a James Beard Award for Best Chef Pacific Northwest in 1996, and his restaurants have won other accolades including induction into the Nation's Restaurant News' Hall of Fame. Alan Wong's is the only Honolulu restaurant ranked by Gourmet twice in the top 10 among America's Best Fifty Restaurants.

Wong has published two cookbooks, "New Wave Luau" in 1999, and "The Blue Tomato" in 2010. Visit

Another Hawaii winner -- of the ACF Western Region President's Medallion -- is Jean Hull of Kailua Kona on the Big Island. Hull owns Hospitality Consulting by Jean.

The ACF was established in 1929 and has nearly 20,000 members from 200 chapters across the nation. It provides a standard of excellence for chefs in North America and offers educational training, apprenticeships and accreditations, and operates a comprehensive certification program for U.S. chefs. Visit

 Print   Email   Comment | View 1 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates