Wednesday, July 30, 2014         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 2 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Hagel to host Asian defense ministers at gathering in Hawaii

By William Cole

LAST UPDATED: 12:22 p.m. HST, Mar 13, 2014

Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel will host the 10 Association of Southeast Asian Nations defense ministers in Honolulu April 1-3.  

It will be the first ASEAN meeting of its kind to take place in the United States, the Pentagon said.

"The forum will provide an opportunity for defense leaders to discuss a shared vision for a dynamic, peaceful, and secure future for the region," the Defense Department said in a release Thursday. 

Hagel and the ministers will address issues including humanitarian disaster relief and the "regional security architecture," according to the Pentagon.

They will also receive operational briefings and demonstrations of U.S. capabilities from U.S. Pacific Command headquartered at Camp Smith.

U.S. Rep. Colleen Hanabusa, a member of the House Armed Services Committee, said in January that the meeting will be the first time a U.S. secretary of defense has ever hosted all ASEAN defense ministers in the United States.   

"For Secretary Hagel to select Hawaii as the location of this historic meeting only reaffirms the vital role our state will play in the rebalance to Asia-Pacific," Hanabusa said at the time.

In October, Hanabusa, a Democrat, launched a bipartisan oversight effort, the Asia-Pacific Oversight Series, with Rep. Randy Forbes, a Virginia Republican and chairman of the Subcommittee on Seapower and Projection Forces.  

Hanabusa said the ASEAN meeting with world defense leaders will "help strengthen our security partnerships and ensure that the U.S. builds on our own involvement in maturing regional institutions in Asia."

ASEAN's 10 member states include Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 2 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may receive a warning, and if you persist with such comments you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email commentfeedback@staradvertiser.com.
Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment.
HAWAII_BOY_008 wrote:
Interesting that China and Russia are part of Dialogue Partners like USA. But are not invited to this April 2014 IMPORTANT Meeting. ASEAN comprises ten countries: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. ASEAN has ten Dialogue Partners: Australia, Canada, China, EU, India, Japan, New Zealand, ROK, Russia and the United States.
on March 13,2014 | 10:45AM
serious wrote:
I would suggest they have a session on search and rescue. I am sure our qualified and experienced Coast Guard could host it.
on March 13,2014 | 01:03PM
Breaking News