Monday, November 30, 2015         

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Private school students named Presidential Scholars

By Star-Advertiser staff


Two private school students have been named this year's Presidential Scholars for Hawaii.

The high school seniors -- Matthew Beattie-Callahan of 'Iolani School and Lysha Matsunobu of Parker School on Hawaii island -- are among the 141 seniors nationwide being recognized for their academic and community service accomplishments.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 students chosen at-large.

Beattie-Callahan and Matsunobu were among six semifinalists for Hawaii, including three each from public and private schools.

The U.S. Department of Education said of the 3 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 3,900 candidates qualified for the awards, which are based SAT and ACT scores and nominations.

"They show all of us that when students challenge themselves and commit themselves to excellence, the results can be astounding. These scholars will help move our country forward and will have a lasting impact on their families, communities, and on our society," U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan said in a statement.

The recipients will be honored June 22-25 in Washington, D.C.

For a full list of the 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars, see:

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Latest News/Updates