Monday, November 30, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 5 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

All Hawaii public schools to close Friday

By Susan Essoyan

LAST UPDATED: 3:12 p.m. HST, Aug 7, 2014

Public schools on Oahu and Kauai will be closed Friday because of the storm, joining other public schools across the state that have already shut their doors, Superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi announced Thursday.

All Department of Education offices and public charter schools will also close, the department announced.

The DOE announced earlier that all public schools on Hawaii island and in Maui County are closed Thursday and Friday.

Many private schools have not yet started their academic year. Independent schools that announced their campuses would be shut Friday include Kamehameha Schools, Saint Louis School, St. Francis School, Hawaii Baptist Academy, Punahou School, Damien Memorial School, Maryknoll School, Our Lady of Good Counsel School, The St. Andrew's Schools and Star of the Sea School. Mid-Pacific Institute cancelled an open house planned that day.

Also, the YMCA of Honolulu cancelled its A+, youth, teen and preschool programs Friday.

"We have been advising our schools to prepare for the worst and will assess any potential damage to our facilities once we receive the all-clear," Matayoshi said. "We will continue to monitor both storms and will make another announcement regarding whether school will be in session on Monday."

"I want to thank our principals for their leadership as well as our students' families for their patience and cooperation during this emergency," she added.

Public school campuses that are designated as emergency shelters are preparing for that role, Matayoshi said.

County Civil Defense agencies have activated the following public school campuses as emergency shelters:

Hawaii County:

Laupahoehoe Public Charter School

Kohala High & Elementary

Kealakehe High

Konawaena High

Hilo High

Waiakea High

Keaau High

Pahoa High & Intermediate

Honokaa High & Intermediate

Kau High

Waikoloa Elementary

Maui County:

Baldwin High

Lokelani Intermediate

Kekaulike High

Hana High & Elementary

Molokai High

Kilohana Elementary

Lanai High & Elementary


Campbell High

Kaimuki High

Kaiser High

McKinley High

Castle High

Mililani High

Pearl City High

Waialua High & Intermediate

Nanakuli High & Middle


To be determined by Kauai Civil Defense.

Updates on school closures are available at For information on charter schools, visit

 Print   Email   Comment | View 5 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates