Thursday, July 31, 2014         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 7 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Hawaii shut out of Big West Conference baseball awards

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 06:49 p.m. HST, May 28, 2013

The Hawaii baseball team failed to have a single player recognized with all-conference honors for the first time since 1998 when the Big West awards were handed out on Tuesday.

Call State Fullerton took home five of the six major individual awards. Right-hander Justin Garza was named the pitcher of the year and Rick Vanderhook earned coach of the year honors.

Titans first baseman Carlos Lopez shared the field player of the year award with UC Irvine's Taylor Sparks. Fullerton's Thomas Eshelman was named the freshman pitcher of the year and UC Santa Barbara's Robby Nesovic earned the freshman field player of the year award.

Fullerton shortstop Richy Pedroza was named the Big West defensive player of the year despite making 10 errors and posting a .957 fielding percentage.

Hawaii junior Austin Wobrock made one error in 51 games started at shortstop and ended the season with a .996 fielding percentage.

Fullerton, UC Irvine, Cal Poly and Long Beach State were the only schools represented by players on the first team. Pacific was the only school other than UH that didn't have a player recognized.

Hawaii third baseman Pi'ikea Kitamura was named to the All-Western Athletic Conference first team last season as a junior. UH had at least one played named first team All-WAC in nine of its final 10 years in the league.

The Rainbows finished the 2013 season 16-35 overall and 11-16 in their first year of BWC play.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 7 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may receive a warning, and if you persist with such comments you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email commentfeedback@staradvertiser.com.
Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment.
PokeStop wrote:
Shows you the difference between WAC baseball and the new Big West Conference! UH is so weak it's not funny anymore. And if 2013 was as bad as it was, wait until 2014 when the Bows have a weaker roster. Trap needs to go on a long vacation.
on May 28,2013 | 01:58PM
vanmanwarriorfan wrote:
I hate to say it, but it sounds like they got it right. After all, the Bows were a slap happy 16-35 and played 29 home games on turf. Wobrock played great and maybe should have received some type of defensive recognition on the second team or honorable mention, but all the coaches are smart enough to know it's not the same as playing on grass and dirt. Stats and rankings make all he difference.
on May 28,2013 | 03:49PM
frontman wrote:
What a shocker. You have to play D1 baseball to be considered and NO ONE qualified.
on May 28,2013 | 04:48PM
jkjones wrote:
I can not understand the purpose of this article and its relevance to any point other than Hawaii's team is not comprised of star quality players. Who is to blame for that? What is shibai is next years class. They are so good, according to Trap and Dave Reardon, some will be drafted high...Ok, so where does that leave our program? The fix is at the top where talent is recognized and recruited. Simple formula made tough in Alohaland where head coaching positions take on an element of entitlement. Mr Jay needs to listen to his own words and disdain for mediocrity.
on May 29,2013 | 01:25AM
Sunny wrote:
Was this a surprise?
on May 29,2013 | 07:12AM
PokeStop wrote:
"Surprise, Surprise, Surprise! Golly gee! - Gomer Pyle. Trap coaches a bunch of Gomers!
on May 29,2013 | 08:31AM
karen77777777 wrote:
Maybe it shows that the awards don't really mean anything. They're only looking at the teams that make play-offs. Even if the top teams don't have the highest percentages. So it shows you that awards are only a perspective of who's choosing the winner. Oh well, Bows get them next year!!!!!!!! Oh and vanman, Wobrock did play on the grass and dirt and never made an error. His one error was on the turf....
on May 31,2013 | 08:00PM
Breaking News
The Green Leaf
Marine debris art

Political Radar
`Toss up’

Political Radar

Political Radar
Hilton; Plaza Club

Political Radar
Direct mail

Political Radar
Direct mail