Saturday, November 28, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 2 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Warriors shut out of Mountain West preseason voting

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 9:19 a.m. HST, Jul 23, 2013

No players from the University of Hawaii football team were among the 25-member 2013 Mountain West Conference preseason team announced today.

The team was selected by members of the conference media.

Fresno State senior quarterback Derek Carr was named preseason conference offensive player of the year while teammate Derron Smith, a junior defensive back, was chosen as the top defensive player. New Mexico junior return specialist Chase Clayton was picked as the top special teams performer.

Carr was the 2012 conference offensive player of the year, throwing for an MWC-record 4,104 yards and authoring 37 touchdown passes.



QB Derek Carr * Sr. Fresno State
WR Davante Adams * So. Fresno State
WR Noel Grigsby Sr. San Jose State
RB Kasey Carrier ** Sr. New Mexico
RB Adam Muema ** Jr. San Diego State
OL Charles Leno ** Sr. Boise State
OL Matt Paradis * Sr. Boise State
OL Weston Richburg Sr. Colorado State
OL Austin Wentworth * Sr. Fresno State
OL Tyler Larsen Sr. Utah State
TE Marcel Jensen Sr. Fresno State
DL Demarcus Lawrence * Jr. Boise State
DL Tyeler Davison * Jr. Fresno State
DL Brock Hekking ** Jr. Nevada
DL Travis Raciti Jr. San Jose State
LB Jake Fely ** Jr. San Diego State
LB Keith Smith Sr. San Jose State
LB Kyler Fackrell So. Utah State
DB L.J. Jones Sr. Fresno State
DB Derron Smith * Jr. Fresno State
DB Nat Berhe ** Sr. San Diego State
DB Bene Benwikere Sr. San Jose State
P Ben Skaer Sr. New Mexico
PK Austin Lopez So. San Jose State
Ret. Chase Clayton Jr. New Mexico

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Derek Carr, Sr., QB, Fresno State

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Derron Smith, Jr., DB, Fresno State

Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year: Chase Clayton, Jr., KR, New Mexico

* - member of the 2012 All-Mountain West first team.

** - member of the 2012 All-Mountain West second team.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 2 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates