Friday, August 22, 2014         

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Punahou, Kahuku advance to state football final

By Billy Hull

LAST UPDATED: 09:42 p.m. HST, Nov 18, 2011

For the ninth straight year — spanning the existence of classified brackets — the Interscholastic League of Honolulu’s representative will play for the D-I championship.

For the third time, that team will be Punahou, which got four touchdown passes from Larry Tuileta in a 35-0 win over Baldwin on Friday night in the semifinals of the First Hawaiian Bank/HHSAA Division I State Football Championships at Aloha Stadium.

Running back Steven Lakalaka added 75 yards and a touchdown and DeForest Buckner led the Buffanblu defense with 41⁄2 of his 11 tackles going for a loss.

The Buffanblu will face Kahuku next Friday at Aloha Stadium after the Red Raiders pulled out a 13-10 win over Leilehua in double overtime.

Aofaga Wily scored on a 3-yard touchdown run in the second overtime period after Tim Momiyama kicked a 37-yard field goal for Leilehua.

Momiyama missed a 42-yarder in the first overtime period that would have won it for the Mules.

Kahuku is the only team to beat Punahou in the state tournament, winning 28-21 in the 2005 title game.

The Red Raiders will try to become the first non-ILH team to win the state championship since Leilehua did it in 2007.

 Print   Email   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Breaking News
The Green Leaf
Solar vigil

Political Radar

Island Crafters
Ya Meet the Nicest Peeps

Small Talk
Clothing swap?

Political Radar

The Green Leaf
Expanding a monument

Wassup Wit Dat!
Huh? – Follow Up

Political Radar
Spirit of Daniel Inouye