Tuesday, November 24, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Umlauft, Walker, Zemljak named to All-MPSF teams

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 7:19 p.m. HST, Apr 21, 2011

Hawaii sophomore opposite Jonas Umlauft was named to the first team and seniors Joshua Walker and Nejc Zemljak to the second team of the All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation men's volleyball team today.

Umlauft is the first Warriors first-teamer since Brian Beckwith and Lauri Hakala in 2006. He leads the country in kills (5.55 kps).

Walker, an outside hitter, is hitting a career-best .332 this season and ranks fifth all-time in career kills for Hawaii (1,420).

Setter Zemljak is ranked eighth in the country in assists (10.96 aps) and leads the Warriors in digs (1.92 dps).

No. 5 Hawaii faces No. 4 UC Irvine on Saturday in an MPSF quarterfinal in Irvine, Calif.

Several isle prep products were also honored.

Named to the first team were Stanford junior hitter Brad Lawson ('Iolani), USC senior setter Riley McKibbin (Punahou) and BYU junior middle Futi Tavana (Kauai).

Named to the second team were Stanford senior hitter Spencer McLachlin (Punahou), Stanford junior libero Erik Shoji (Punahou) and USC senior hitter Tri Bourne (AOP).

Honorable mention wen to Long Beach State freshman hitter Taylor Crabb (Punahou) and USC freshman libero Henry Cassiday (Punahou). 

Crabb and Cassiday also were named to the all-freshman team.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates