Monday, April 20, 2015         

Newswatch Premium

For articles before August 3, 2011, see the Free Archives »

For Monday, April 20, 2015
Fates of major bills remain uncertain • High surf and wind forecast for coasts • UH-Hilo security plan includes more cameras
For Sunday, April 19, 2015
Expect round-the-clock roadwork on H-1 • Maui rapist gets 60-year term • Fumes shut part of post office
For Saturday, April 18, 2015
Waiawa inmates work to eradicate pesky butterfly • Cruise ship rescues 2 sailors stranded on remote island • Car thefts surge on Big Island; and more
For Friday, April 17, 2015
The percentage of Hawaii's public high-school students who said they have tried e-cigarettes more than tripled to 17.6 percent in 2013.
For Thursday, April 16, 2015
Medeiros appointed family court judge • Maui lawyer Ueoka put on inactive status • Surf of up to 15 feet forecast for 5 islands • Kauai residents hope to repair 100-year-old stone lantern
For Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thief who stole ill girl's donations jailed • Rainfall forecast for Wednesday night • Tour participant falls ill on boat; and more
For Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Meetings to focus on skateboard parks • Maui County experienced a wet March
For Monday, April 13, 2015
Kaulukukui tapped for Enterprise Services • Event at Punchbowl to honor Ernie Pyle • Hilo house fire causes damage worth $100,000 • Union says DOE pushes teachers beyond expertise
For Sunday, April 12, 2015
Skipper proud as Louisville's crew returns • Police seek tips on stolen drum • Alumni group gets big mahalo
For Saturday, April 11, 2015
Court clerk allegedly stole $930 in gifts • Officer shoots at suspect car
For Friday, April 10, 2015
Man gets 10 years in robbery • Possible toxic material probed • Shark siting leads officials to close bay • Anti-tobacco group cleared by ethics panel
For Thursday, April 9, 2015
Council urges mayor to fund Molokai ferry
For Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Judge orders pilot to pay $300 for aerial advertising displays • Police officer gets probation • Work proposed for Kauai trail
For Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Plans are underway to reopen Keone­poko Elementary School, which was closed in October as lava from Kilauea Volcano threatened the Puna District.
For Monday, April 6, 2015
Hiker knocked off trail into sea • Quakes felt on Hawaii isle
For Sunday, April 5, 2015
The state has started an investigation into a Lahaina boatyard's practice of collecting storage fees from boaters near the Mala boat ramp.
For Saturday, April 4, 2015
Sailboat stuck on Kauai reef • Cabins receive $2.3M upgrade
For Friday, April 3, 2015
Honolulu Mayor Kirk Caldwell's office said the city will provide letters to state District Court on behalf of about 65 motorists issued citations on Tuesday during the traffic gridlock.
For Thursday, April 2, 2015
Salvation Army aiding typhoon victims • Haliimaile roads will be prepped for resurfacing
For Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Councilwoman seeks funds to buoy Molokai-Maui ferry • Raw sewage spills on grass at Maui facility • Ant control to close cabin at Haleakala
For Tuesday, March 31, 2015
New tool tracks sustainability progress • Motorcyclist killed by crash ID'd as Hilo man • Driver charged with DUI after crash on Kauai
For Monday, March 30, 2015
Big surf forecast to decrease Monday • Racer rescued from ocean • Gun ownership rises on Kauai
For Sunday, March 29, 2015
Kauai County has been telling owners of illegal short-term rentals to cease operations.
For Saturday, March 28, 2015
Nozoe to assume federal education post • Wrongful firing suit costs state $325,000 • Man on moped sent to hospital after collision
For Friday, March 27, 2015
Warning targets pets on school grounds • Hearing set for suspect shot during chase • Kauai property tax application available online • Workshop to advise about spaces
For Friday, March 27, 2015
Delivery advances Mauna Kea telescope • One-way traffic will be in place for hula festival
For Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Remains of baby whale attract sharks • Researcher pursues geothermal study • Kokee brush fire burns 200 acres off canyon road • 2 restaurants in Volcano close following blaze
For Tuesday, March 24, 2015
3 brush blazes keep crews busy on Garden Isle • East Hawaii hui lauds firefighter and police officer
For Monday, March 23, 2015
Highs in low 80s, midweek rain forecast • Work will close lanes on city roadways • Man charged in arson case • Quake occurs off of Big Isle
For Sunday, March 22, 2015
Comment sought on Family Court nominees • Public asked to watch out for siren vandals • Boarding set for another year at Lahainaluna
For Saturday, March 21, 2015
A Kona man wanted for questioning in a drug and firearm investigation saw his legal troubles compound this week when he was located in possession of firearms and drugs, Hawaii County police said Friday.
For Friday, March 20, 2015
Beach to reopen after shark attack • Mayor's draft county budget set to be aired • Bridge work to alter traffic in Wailuku
For Thursday, March 19, 2015
Workshop offers advice to volunteers
For Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Obama says he hopes Chicago gets library • Carport fire extinguished • Man charged in meth seizure
For Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Cool nights hang on, with vog on horizon • Park vandalism leads to call for public's help • Hydrant work will cut some water service
For Monday, March 16, 2015
Hokule‘a crew prepares for Cyclone Pam • Grant to fund STEM majors • Big Isle works on route to UH
For Sunday, March 15, 2015
Makakilo park a gift from builder, city says • 3 KIUC members re-elected to board • 1,000 forest acres now being protected
For Saturday, March 14, 2015
Wastewater overflows onto Maui road • Flags to fly lower for ex-legislator Carroll
For Friday, March 13, 2015
Weekend work needed for Kaimuki cable
For Thursday, March 12, 2015
House panel OKs $6.5 billion budget plan • Dillingham, Iroquois Point siren testing set • Auditor reviews procurement for county
For Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Water main break shuts lanes on Waialae • Trouble interrupts Hawaiian Airlines flight • Wounded warriors to compete in sports; and more
For Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Lava flow's breakouts active but sluggish • Mayor's speech to give overview of Kauai budget • Fatal crash on Maui shuts part of highway
For Monday, March 09, 2015
Rescue crew aids exhausted hiker on Maui • Cameras will gauge growth of Kauai corals
For Sunday, March 8, 2015
Applicants sought for ethics, campaign spending panels • Mainland time jumps ahead with start of daylight saving • Motion-sensor cameras look for feral dogs
For Saturday, March 7, 2015
Selma marchers to wear carnation lei • Rainy, cooler weather to last several days • County workers' suits rack up taxpayer costs
For Friday, March 6, 2015
Bill mandates evaluation for election chief
For Friday, March 6, 2015
Audit urged over Super Bowl sick leave • Golf fundraiser to benefit cancer facility • Trust working to preserve fishing village
For Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Grant buys new sports gear for Waialua • Body found off Salt Pond Beach • Wailuku sealant project to begin
For Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Snow a no-show at Big Island summits • Makapuu trail to remain closed Friday • County, state investigate rash of fires; and more
For Monday, March 2, 2015
Swimmer dies after rescue at Napili, Maui • Pay raises, mandates cause budget to rise
For Sunday, March 1, 2015
Two Big Island lawmakers are leading the charge to expand video testimony for people who are unable to get to Hono­­lulu for committee hearings.
For Saturday, February 28, 2015
Hawaiian flight safe after lightning strike • Panel to take testimony on Hoopili project • Suspect in theft of donation jar to be arraigned • Observatory chief to resume research work
For Thursday, February 26, 2015
Legislation on super PAC donors advances • Jar of donations for ailing child stolen by man in filmed heist
For Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Senate approves Iwase as PUC chairman • Longtime assistant is zoo's new director
For Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Bill to let mayors fire police chiefs hit with criticism • Hurt hiker, wife flown to safety on Garden Island
For Monday, February 23, 2015
Navy seeks state's OK to import dolphins • Fungus targeted as likely cause of ohia deaths • Kauai planning to fill isle's open lifeguard posts
For Sunday, February 22, 2015
Cold remarks start Ige’s meeting in capital • Forest Service shifts center site • Kitchen fire forces eatery evacuation
For Saturday, February 21, 2015
Roadwork to close lanes on H-1, Likelike • High waves to pound north, west shores • Repaving project shuts 1 park entrance; and more
For Friday, February 20, 2015
Power back on in Hawaii Kai, Waimanalo • Ige to take part in discussion on security
For Thursday, February 19, 2015
California librarian to head isle system • Warden put on leave after allegations • Fire destroys Kauai home, displacing 7
For Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Satellite city hall reopens • Jail time eluded in dive incident • Car plummets off Maui road
For Tuesday, February 17, 2015
1,100 on Big Island still without power • Breakout of lava advances 90 yards • Coffee farmers to use beetles against pest
For Sunday, February 15, 2015
Ige names deputy directors for tax, health • Maui County trims list to replace Carroll • Early morning crash kills 3 and injures 2 in Kailua-Kona
For Saturday, February 14, 2015
Wind damages roofs, knocks out power • Jellyfish invasion closes Hanauma Bay • Engine trouble diverts Delta flight to Hilo; and more
For Friday, February 13, 2015
Faulty warning siren sounds at 4 a.m. • Science fair will be held Saturday at KCC
For Thursday, February 12, 2015
Sit-lie ban extended to pedestrian malls • Kona phone service lost when cable cut • Lava breakout section moves about 400 yards
For Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Fund to help family of jogger hit by truck • Woman pleads no contest over fatal car crash • Drivers warned of roadwork on Garden Isle
For Tuesday, February 10, 2015
State nearly pau fixing damage caused by Iselle • Michigan man ID'd as victim pulled from sea
For Monday, February 9, 2015
Strong gusts forecast for 5 islands • PUC might lose say on undersea cable • 13 vying to fill Carroll's term in Legislature
For Sunday, February 8, 2015
Maui firefighters on Saturday rescued two people from the shoreline below cliffs at separate locations about 40 miles apart.
For Saturday, February 7, 2015
Heart attack suspected in tourist's death • National Guard leaves Pahoa as lava stalls
For Friday, February 6, 2015
Union official nominated for state post • Large breakout rerouting lava from flows • Observatories at Haleakala wait for power
For Thursday, February 5, 2015
Stranded 65-foot vessel freed from reef • Lava flow is in a lull, official says
For Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Boat salvage set for Wednesday • Armed robber steals painkiller in Longs holdup • Tantrum causes store damage, police say
For Tuesday, February 3, 2015
State crews begin resurfacing Big Isle's Mamalahoa Highway • Molokai toddler gravely injured after car strike • Lava flow front remains stalled in Pahoa area
For Monday, February 2, 2015
Wind will change as front nears isles • Cat protection, Hawaiian rights on agenda • Hikers rescued from forest • Goat season open to archers
For Sunday, February 1, 2015
Man caught in drug sting faces life term • CSI Camp seeks high school applicants • Session will teach business organization
For Saturday, January 31, 2015
PAHOA, Hawaii » The leading edge of lava flow closest to Highway 130 and the Pahoa police and fire stations continued to widen but has not advanced significantly since Monday.
For Friday, January 30, 2015
Coast Guard dismisses brig-bound officer • Officer charged in abuse case • Little fire ants invade again
For Thursday, January 29, 2015
Equipment trouble halts New Zealand flight • Panel defers Coco Palms building permits
For Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Man gets jail time for illegal lay net fishing • Big Island sees increase in ahi • Learn to prepare for a disaster
For Tuesday, January 27, 2015
8 kids treated after possible chemical odor • Car break-ins lead to charges for suspect, 19 • 5 Kauai sites offer permits for camping
For Monday, January 26, 2015
Site will warn of asteroids • Lava stays put at front, edges
For Sunday, January 25, 2015
Lava halts march toward Pahoa for now • Falling oil prices halt Big Isle effort to build waste-to-energy plant • Magnitude-3.8 quake shakes Hilo, prompting dozens of responses
For Saturday, January 24, 2015
OCCC inmate allegedly attacks nurse • Honolulu Zoo euthanizes ailing giraffe • Man arrested and charged in fatal crash • Live streaming of meetings offered online
For Friday, January 23, 2015
Puuhale event will promote road safety • Nonprofit loses county contract • Man arrested in shooting
For Thursday, January 22, 2015
Multiple lanes on westbound H-1 to close • Kauai shuttle to visitor spots gains popularity
For Wednesday, January 21, 2015
High surf brings warnings, closures • Missing woman located and is OK, Maui police say • County offers to email property assessments • Closure of part of Kahuna Road set for next week
For Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Guest speaker slated for Red Mass • Earthquakes shake areas of Big Island • Social media workshops to run on Maui
For Monday, January 19, 2015
Mayor Caldwell heads to D.C. for meetings • Senator sits on large war chest • Big Isle prison cancels visits
For Sunday, January 18, 2015
6 islands remain under high surf advisory • Isle police help capture fugitive • Group proposes limit on fishing
For Saturday, January 17, 2015
High surf to lash shores through Sunday • Vendors paid with fake bills on Big Island • Potty trainer on trial for alleged abuse
For Thursday, January 15, 2015
Big Isle extends smoking ban to e-cigarettes
For Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Nene gosling found dead at Maui camp • Kauai agency schedules water shutdown
For Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Authorities work on sunken ship's diesel • Police on case 1 year after woman vanishes • Kauai police seek help in fugitive search
For Monday, January 12, 2015
Weather service expects vog through week • Candle could be cause of fire on Garden Isle • Alien snake put on display on Big Island
For Sunday, January 11, 2015
Guard members on security deployment • UH professor to head education office • Police charge alleged driver of stolen truck
For Saturday, January 10, 2015
Blaze destroys home on Maui; occupants escape injury • Victim of fire is identified • Man charged in car break-in; and more
For Thursday, January 8, 2015
High-surf advisory extended for all isles • Warmer weather forecast to develop • Power restored to Hawaii isle residents • Flags lowered for former state lawmaker and more
For Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Manta rays' fins damaged, hui reports • Handguns taken during burglary of store in Kona

Most Popular
Celebrate Kani Ka Pila
Outrigger Resorts paid tribute to Hawaiian music with its Celebrate Kani Ka Pila recently at Kani Ka Pila Grille in Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort. Read More »
 
Youth Of The Year
Boys & Girls Club of Hawaii hosted its Youth of the Year luncheon recently at Hilton Hawaiian Waikiki Beach Hotel. Read More »