Quantcast

Saturday, August 30, 2014         

Newswatch Premium

For Saturday, August 30, 2014
Settlements for Thai workers still pending • Input sought on housing project • Lava flows not imminent threat
For Friday, August 29, 2014
Jury trial set for alleged aerial banner pilot • Kauai driver sent to prison for hit-and-run • Hiker calls 911 and is assisted down from trail
For Thursday, August 28, 2014
Lawsuit against ‘X-men' moviemaker dismissed • Driver suffers worst injuries in 1-car crash • Man convicted of dealing meth faces life term
For Wednesday, August 27, 2014
A Honolulu woman has pleaded guilty to vandalizing Iolani Palace after she kicked the front door of the historic building earlier this year.
For Tuesday, August 26, 2014
UH law school’s incoming class sets record • Landowners could get more time to build
For Monday, August 25, 2014
School openings will increase traffic • Marie ramps up to major hurricane • OCCC cancels visitation, again; and more
For Sunday, August 24, 2014
2 storms in eastern Pacific gain strength • Visits to correctional center are canceled • Project targets folks on foot • Lanes will open on new bridge
For Saturday, August 23, 2014
Major electric repairs in Puna are completed • Ideas sought for Patsy Mink's former school • Magnitude-4.2 quakes strikes off Molokai
For Friday, August 22, 2014
Neighborhood watch block party planned • Cross stolen from church is found nearby • Plea deal frees mayor hopeful to pay victims
For Thursday, August 21, 2014
Groups' testimony backs Interior proposal • Condo building on beach space could face fine
For Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Ex-Marine's life term for murder upheld • Lowell draws Karina away from isles • 300 customers regain power after Iselle; and more
For Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Hurricane center tracks new storm • Thieves steal copper piping off Hilo venue
For Monday, August 18, 2014
Tropical disturbances stall advance of Karina in Pacific • OCCC visitation is canceled for fifth time in 7 weeks • Man suspected in vandalism is due in court • Fire destroys 2-story house in Lahaina
For Sunday, August 17, 2014
Body of diver is identified • Boys help save injured uncle
For Saturday, August 16, 2014
2,500 in Puna regain electricity • Big Isle warned of brown water • Storm weakens on way to isles
For Friday, August 15, 2014
Storm now a hurricane as another looms • Sailor is rescued after his boat sinks • Project aims to ease transit • Red Cross truck found by police
For Thursday, August 14, 2014
Tropical storm near Mexico likely to grow • Weight-based trash fee urged • Inmate back beyond bars • Parks still shut due to storm
For Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Sea turtle with tumors found in Aina Haina • Isle lawyer to help Williams weigh appeal • Hiker who died is identified as from Haena • Man accused of threats, damage and more
For Tuesday, August 12, 2014
City, union to detail paramedics' hours • Kauai staff will explain changes to taxpayers
For Monday, August 11, 2014
Fishing boat from Japan washes ashore • Research on coral disease to be shared
For Sunday, August 10, 2014
Partially treated sewage enters reservoir • Searchers find woman's body • Assault over pot nets year in jail
For Saturday, August 9, 2014
Federal flood map changes to be discussed • Pair convicted of squatting in judge's home • House sustains $20,000 damage in morning fire
For Friday, August 8, 2014
National Democrats support Schatz • Deedy jurors sent home as courts close • Woman at shooting charged with crime; and more
For Thursday, August 7, 2014
Buddhist school granted $1.5M • Fire helicopter lands after engine failure • Quakes shake Big Island, but no harm done
For Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Officer involved in fatal shooting is back on Waikiki patrol duty • Farmers, group seek to intervene in GMO lawsuit • Blaze guts 1 of 2 bedrooms in Maui cottage
For Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Native Hawaiian program is awarded $50K • Maui candidates address hospital financing issue
For Monday, August 4, 2014
OCCC visits canceled Sunday • Leak repair necessitates water outage • Highway bypass project enters its last phase
For Sunday, August 3, 2014
Hurricane Iselle bulks up to category 2 • Blue Angels to perform shows next month
For Saturday, August 2, 2014
Revenue forecast for state downgraded • Island School's leader to retire next year • Man charged in assault, robbery • Water agency cancels advisory
For Friday, August 1, 2014
2 whales appear in distress off Kailua • 4 Kauai schools closed on Friday • Speed cited in fatal crash
For Thursday, July 31, 2014
Hiker who died in fall identified as Oahu man • Maui man dies while clearing valley property • Waterline break closes down park restrooms
For Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Tropical depression gains power • Hanabusa, Schatz report funds • Lawsuit demands ability to use medical marijuana; and more
For Monday, July 28, 2014
Staffing woes nix visits to OCCC inmates • Hurricane brewing in eastern Pacific • Bill would ban plastic-foam food boxes; and more
For Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Kailua street reopened after sinkhole mess • Dead infant was murdered, officials report • Gunshot victim dies, changing criminal case
For Sunday, July 27, 2014
Storm's remnants eventually will deliver passing showers • Shooter gets life in prison • Officials seek park vandals
For Saturday, July 26, 2014
Man to serve 135 months for mailing meth • NOAA probes death of whale found on Kauai • Kauai officials to hold hearing on GMO rules
For Friday, July 25, 2014
Group's lawsuit against prison is dismissed • Arizona visitor dies of injury after rescue
For Thursday, July 24, 2014
The Kauai County Council on Wednesday rejected a proposed charter amendment to regulate the use of pesticides and growth of genetically engineered crops by large agri­businesses.
For Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Man arrested on attempted murder charge • County told it will lose space for DMV
For Tuesday, July 22, 2014
A hearing will be held Wednesday in U.S. District Court in Hono­lulu on a lawsuit against Kauai County filed by seed companies trying to block a new pesticides and GMO ordinance.
For Monday, July 21, 2014
Isle newspaper begins publishing online • Visitor from Texas dies on snorkeling trip • Traffic deaths and DUI arrests fall on Big Island; and more
For Sunday, July 20, 2014
Kauai is experiencing a bumper crop of Hawaiian monk seal pups, with five born so far this season.
For Saturday, July 19, 2014
Life without parole sought for suspect • NTSB report on Molokai crash expected Friday • $1M settlement reached in suit against driver
For Friday, July 18, 2014
HPD promotions include milestone
For Thursday, July 17, 2014
Shark attacks man swimming off Maui • New helicopter will speed trips for patients • Part of road will be closed for culvert work
For Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Resort owner sues to block dairy farm • Female visitor from Texas drowns off Maui
For Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Man charged after wild ride with school bus • Prison escapee back in custody on Valley Isle
For Monday, July 14, 2014
Record try has pilot, 19, in isles • Woman airlifted off reefed boat by Coast Guard • Maui prisoner at large since fleeing prison
For Sunday, July 13, 2014
Land board gains 3 new members • Solo-flying teen makes it to isles • 60 years given for crime spree
For Saturday, July 12, 2014
‘Electrical smell' diverts flight to Guam • Tripler groundwater free of fuel, tests say • New buoys will divide activities in lagoon
For Friday, July 11, 2014
Drones help scientists monitor wildlife at northwestern atolls • Fatal cat virus can't be halted, Maui vet says • Police want to talk to man about burglary
For Thursday, July 10, 2014
Beetle's spread spurs containment effort • GMO registry subject of court compromise • Council blocks charter vote on oversight panel
For Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Only rain expected from weakening storm • Council drops planned rental lease vote • Suspect enters home in Puna, robs resident; and more
For Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Tropical Storm Fausto forms off Mexico • Candidates for U.S. House to debate on TV Inmate caught trying to flee before hearing; and more
For Saturday, July 5, 2014
Virtual hunt on for alien trees • County hopes to cull feral cats
For Monday, July 7, 2014
Prison visits are cut due to staff shortage • Pacarro tabbed to lead liquor panel • Owner of kayak found adrift turns up safe; and more
For Friday, July 4, 2014
Kauai considers ways to reduce feral cat tally • Drive-thru registration to be available
For Thursday, July 3, 2014
GMO papaya gets EPA pass • Vendor found with stun guns • Damaged wall blamed for chimp’s escape
For Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Waialua man gets 97 months in meth case • Aerial ads to continue despite state ban • Cellphone law nixes court, raises fines • Staff training will close Maui DMVL offices
For Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Allegiant Air flight forced to turn back • H-2 lane will close for rail construction
For Monday, June 30, 2014
Abuse lawsuit against producer withdrawn • Driver arrested after crashing pickup on Kauai • Big Island shooting leads to investigation
For Sunday, June 29, 2014
Lava breaks out 4 new flows on Kilauea • Fire destroys 3-bedroom Hilo residence • Historical signs earn an award for Kauai County
For Saturday, June 28, 2014
Carbon monoxide gas poisoned soldier • Tradewinds will take the weekend off • Pharmacy dean to leave post • Mayor restricts communication
For Friday, June 27, 2014
H-1 lanes to close this weekend • Dole Street water main breaks • Ruling removes Maui man from mayor's race
For Thursday, June 26, 2014
21-and-older tobacco law to take effect • Church leaders detail plans for repair work • Pair charged with theft at Kona resort
For Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Kauai panel rejects changes to petition laws • Repairs to close visitors center for 3 months
For Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Helicopters' transfer to create extra noise • Floating dock at Kawaihae almost finished • Hostile dog harasses Maui hikers
For Monday, June 23, 2014
Kauai motorist unhurt after car strikes guardrail • No injuries caused by fire in Maui house • Swimmer hurts spine in ocean off Na Pali Coast
For Sunday, June 22, 2014
A Honolulu man jogging near the Kalihiwai Bridge on Kauai’s North Shore fell 40 feet and held onto a tree on the side of a cliff before he was rescued early Saturday morning, a Kauai County spokeswoman said.
For Saturday, June 21, 2014
Light work to close H-1 westbound lanes • Pot discovery leads to arrest of Puna couple • Crash victim is identified as Kalaheo man
For Friday, June 20, 2014
Woman indicted in death of pedestrian • Bill creating new property tax class tabled • Kalaheo man dies in crash • Construction materials burn • Copper thieves mar Hilo park
For Thursday, June 19, 2014
State officials hope the early discovery of a small infestation of little fire ants at a Maui hotel will keep the invasive species from taking up residence there, prompting a video on how they can be detected.
For Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Helicopter makes hard landing on Maui • Moped driver in hospital after accident • Molokai man dies a month after crash
For Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Man discovered floating in bay is identified • Maui mayor trims millions from CIP budget
For Monday, June 16, 2014
Correctional center visitation axed again • Military offers free checkups at sites on Kauai • Army assigns new commander to training site
For Sunday, June 15, 2014
Rough winds and waves prompt advisory • Seismic activity at Mauna Loa is up; eruption not in forecast
For Saturday, June 14, 2014
Man gets 10 years for hit-run crash • Roadwork will close part of H-1 freeway • Texas woman dies in fall • Man denies murder charge
For Friday, June 13, 2014
Bill would strip tax breaks from ag firms • Panel decries lack of search for remains • Husband held after his wife reports gunfire • Plea deal made in bank robbery
For Thursday, June 12, 2014
Weather again causes launch delay • Isle admiral to lead Naval War College • Man pleads guilty to stealing, selling data; and more
For Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Speed may be factor in man's critical crash • Male suspect still at large in Pahoa theft
For Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Power failures used to stabilize system as generator balks • Man held in attack pleads not guilty to pair of charges
For Monday, June 9, 2014
Snorkeler, 73, dies during tour • Crews continue search for man
For Sunday, June 8, 2014
Side job merits suspension, panel says • Visitation to correctional sites canceled • Crews search for fisherman • Anti-GMO plan goes to Council
For Friday, June 6, 2014
Maui mayor draws election challenger
For Thursday, June 5, 2014
Unarmed ordnance shuts down offramps • Broken mains repaired after a dry night • Masked pair sought in Puna home invasion
For Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Aloha State has head start on carbon cuts • Isle woman injured in Virginia accident • Search ends for missing opihi picker • Resort condo plans to replace Lahaina sea wall
For Tuesday, June 3, 2014
National Guard company due back in isles • Work continues on Waialae Avenue • Search made for Hawaii isle opihi picker; and more
For Monday, June 2, 2014
Teens injured in Hana crash • Coast Guard ends sea search
For Sunday, June 1, 2014
Evolution silences isle cricket populations • Officials urge conservation as repair work continues on Kauai wells
For Saturday, May 31, 2014
9 coqui frogs nabbed on Oahu this month • Guardsman dies in physical fitness test • Well will be shut for weeks
For Friday, May 30, 2014
Waialae Avenue lanes to close • Half of Pali Highway to be shut • Pair arrested in robbery • Beach access on the agenda
For Thursday, May 29, 2014
Quake hits north of Friendly Isle • Dog killer found not guilty • Pair arrested in robbery • Woman hurt on water slide
For Wednesday, May 28, 2014
Not-guilty plea entered in murder attempt • Torching of victim brings plea of innocence • Business customers' phone service spotty • Kauai man pleads guilty to killing girlfriend and more
For Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Lt. Gen. John Toolan Jr., commanding general of I Marine Expeditionary Force, has been nominated to serve as commander of Marine Corps Forces Pacific, the Pentagon announced this month.
For Monday, May 26, 2014
Staffing shortages prevent visits to prison • Science contest closes mid-July • Conserve water, residents told
For Sunday, May 25, 2014
More sticky, wet weather is in store • OCCC visits called off over staffing issues • Lava flow active at 5-mile point • 500 from Kauai to join RIMPAC
For Saturday, May 24, 2014
Ethics case against Cabanilla is closed • Kula park's lot will be closed
For Saturday, May 24, 2014
Man indicted in stabbing • Ferry terminal's upgrade is pau • Landfill to close early Saturday
For Thursday, May 22, 2014
Murderer will be up for parole in 2141 • Allegations lead to audit by UH • Mayor names top civil lawyer
For Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Panel focuses on topics key to females • Workshops to address chronic illness • Kauai offers summer kids’ enrichment

Star-Advertiser Print Replica
What is a Print Replica?

The Print Replica of the newspaper is a page-by-page replica of the day's printed newspaper - including all stories, sections, photos and ads - not including advertiser preprints - in PDF like form. It can be viewed on your computer's web browser, iPad, iPhone and some e-Readers.



Print Replica FAQ's »
A Savory Shrimp Fave From Ruth’s Chris
Shrimp are low in fat and calories, and a good protein source. They also contain heart-healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Try this delicious recipe! Read More »
 
Letting Keiki Find Their Own Passion
Even in Hawaii, summer eventually comes to an end and we welcome fall (which this year begins Sept. 22). Read More »
 

Most Popular