Quantcast

Friday, October 31, 2014         

Newswatch Premium

For Friday, October 31, 2014
Boy found after kidnapping via sailboat • Second suspect charged in wake of heists in Hilo • Waterline repair will alter traffic • Molokai Landfill will close early
For Thursday, October 30, 2014
Rainy weather will set in over Kauai, Oahu • Rail work to close segment of Farrington • Kansan dies after sea rescue; and more
For Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Shark encounter closes beach • Man who died in fall is ID'd • Food waste might be fuel
For Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Game bird hunting season gets underway • Autopsy ordered on body of man from Northwest • Man dies in fall from truck bed; driver arrested
For Monday, October 27, 2014
Tourist dies in Maui waters • Prison visits canceled in Hilo • Hikers rescued off Volcano trail
For Sunday, October 26, 2014
Prison visitation canceled on Oahu, Big Isle • Lane closures may cause traffic contraflow • Maunawila heiau transferred to land trust • Man completes benefit walk around Maui
For Saturday, October 25, 2014
Thefts cost Kauai County $86K • Plea changed to guilty in slaying
For Friday, October 24, 2014
Candidate sues over debate • Science group wins awards • GMO ordinance challenge heard • Future trash site draws dumping
For Thursday, October 23, 2014
HR official shifted to DOE personnel post • Teen and man charged in fight • Maui gym plan to be discussed; and more
For Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Charge of sexual assault ensues from foot massage • Judge candidate garners support during hearing
For Tuesday, October 21, 2014
State parks, small boat harbors to reopen • State Senate considers judicial appointees • Kilauea Volcano lava front shows minimal activity; and more
For Monday, October 20, 2014
$3.8M federal grant will aid cancer fight • Rock star Tyler speaks to group at Drug Court • Kauai shuttles will serve riders starting Nov. 1
For Sunday, October 19, 2014
Muggy weather, Kona winds follow Ana • Maui native confirmed to lead island's UH campus
For Saturday, October 18, 2014
Missile tracking test successful • Kauai temperatures hit records • Man sentenced for carjacking
For Friday, October 17, 2014
Man admits to having child pornography • Agency searches for redeveloper • Burglar gets prison sentence • Judge will hear native land suit
For Thursday, October 16, 2014
Paraglider injured in landing on rocks • Man critical after hitting police vehicle • Sex-assault suspect allowed to travel; and more
For Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Boaters must show proof of safety course • Lava advances 85 yards, says Civil Defense • Burglars steal private school's camera, ukes
For Wednesday, October 15, 2014
State transportation chief takes city Enterprise Services post • Motorist gets prison term for fatal crash • Opinions sought on removal of munitions
For Monday, October 13, 2014
Showers likely as weather system passes • Narrow branch of lava is now new flow front • Bill would ban e-cigarettes in isle's parks
For Sunday, October 12, 2014
Work along Vineyard Boulevard will address paving, striping • Lava flow gains 50 more yards
For Saturday, October 11, 2014
State tax revenue rises 2.7% in quarter • Online game aimed at getting out the vote • $250,000 pledged to aspiring engineers • Man charged in stabbing • Driver arrested in hit-run death
For Friday, October 10, 2014
Filipino community to honor former justices • Lihue woman is identified as crash victim • Grandmother's assault draws abuse charge
For Thursday, October 9, 2014
Bell ringing to mark Navy's 239th birthday • No contest plea made in murder
For Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Pest discovered aboard Taiwanese ship • Oily debris might wash up Wednesday • Hawaii honored for best state Web portal; and more
For Tuesday, October 7, 2014
1,200-gallon Barbers Point spill includes oil • Man charged over stabbing of Maui woman • Copper theft spurs charges against Hilo man • Water service will be spotty Tuesday in Hana
For Monday, October 6, 2014
Family visits with prisoners are canceled • Civil Defense siren screams false alarm • Duo wants to rename Sandy's for Obama
For Sunday, October 5, 2014
Truck break-ins lead to charges
For Saturday, October 4, 2014
2 people injured in Wahiawa dog attack • 9,500 gallons of waste spill at Marine base • Grant funds Korean language classes at UH
For Thursday, October 2, 2014
UH-West Oahu rooms cool again — for now • VA allots $3M for Hawaii homelesss vets • Rising economy blamed for drop in enrollment at UH campuses
For Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Air conditioning out at UH-West Oahu • Kahuku students return to school • Realtors fight proposed rules on cesspools
For Tuesday, September 30, 2014
City to start training to fight invasive pests • Kauai officials seek input on future growth • Maui workshop to educate on diabetes care
For Monday, September 29, 2014
Staff shortages cancel visits at 2 prisons • Aloha Festivals picks floral parade winners • Groups call out water firm on stream flow deal
For Sunday, September 28, 2014
Visits to corrections facility canceled again • 3 cases require rescue on Kauai • German visitor injured on Maui
For Saturday, September 27, 2014
Caution urged along all east-facing shores • Caldwell Cabinet member steps down • Woman charged in Pahoa attack with scissors • Work on road will be done on weekends
For Thursday, September 25, 2014
Man airlifted from ship is recovering • Electronics gear accepted for recycling • 1 arrested after dog helps halt truck break-in; and more
For Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Palama Settlement gala event will honor Thompson and Aipa • 2 charged in boating thefts • Evacuation signs installed
For Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Plea deal in woman's death means prison • Damaged door panel delays flights • Alleged intruder held, charged in drug crimes; and more
For Monday, September 22, 2014
Staffing shortage cancels prison visits • 2-week test reopens onramp in morning • Deadline extended on transit comments; and more
For Sunday, September 21, 2014
Caldwell on visit to South Korea • Isle grad named to top Army staff • Speed, alcohol believed factors in fatal crash • 5 displaced after fire hits Maui building
For Saturday, September 20, 2014
Embezzler gets 90 days in jail • Kapaa man who died while bodysurfing is identified • EPA commands Hawaii County to fix sewage outfall pipeline
For Friday, September 19, 2014
Girl, 4, died after being trapped in car • Body recovered from car that plunges 60 feet
For Thursday, September 18, 2014
Capsized boat recovered off beach on Kauai • Suspect sought in attempted store robbery
For Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Phone customers lose service for hours • Motorcycle accident kills Maui resident • Big Isle police notify public of phone scam
For Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Cut cable stops Hawaiian Telcom service • Police identify Utah man killed in Big Isle crash • Plan to require septic systems draws criticism
For Monday, September 15, 2014
City looks to grow mental health program • Crimes during emergency hold stiffer penalties • Lack of staff cancels visits with prisoners
For Sunday, September 14, 2014
South shore swells build during advisory • 10-acre fire under control on Valley Isle • Council pushes to let victims testify via video
For Saturday, September 13, 2014
83-year-old gets probation • Hawaii island officer honored
For Friday, September 12, 2014
Aiea library certified as 'green' • New civil defense sirens set up • Utah man dies in Big Isle crash • Crews mop up after 2 fires
For Thursday, September 11, 2014
Judge sentences killer to life term in prison • Brush fire on Maui brought under control
For Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Kauai lawmaker still urging GMO study • Girl found in car who later died is identified • Kauai driver is arrested in hit-and-run
For Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Official rescinds rezoning matter after opposition • Maui to shut park offices for training
For Monday, September 8, 2014
Prison visits canceled on Oahu, Big Island • Diving outing kills Oahu man • Wave damage being repaired
For Sunday, September 7, 2014
Two American flags were spotted flying upside down — a sign of distress — at state and county buildings on Kauai last week. On Wednesday, a resident emailed a photo to The Garden Island of one inverted flag in front of the Circuit Court building.
For Saturday, September 6, 2014
Faaumu tabbed as new Maui police chief • Emergency room for monk seals opens • Community plan meeting draws questions, input
For Friday, September 5, 2014
Freeway work to pause for UH game • Farmers can get post-Iselle aid • Man denies he targeted activist
For Thursday, September 4, 2014
Organization must pay harassed ex-official • Health Department debuts revamped lobby • Old photos, maps sought for Kapaa book; and more
For Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Girl, 4, dies after being discovered in parked vehicle • Teen charged with murder in beating death
For Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Waimanu Street to change to 2-way road • Work will close part of Makiki Valley trail • Hilo prison posts cancellations on social media; and more
For Monday, September 1, 2014
Staffing shortages prompt prison visit cuts • Man indicted in assault of his sister • County clerk's term of service placed on ballot
For Sunday, August 31, 2014
City to provide updates on bicycle program • Weekend prison visits canceled on Big Isle • UH program helps students buy textbooks and more
For Saturday, August 30, 2014
Settlements for Thai workers still pending • Input sought on housing project • Lava flows not imminent threat
For Friday, August 29, 2014
Jury trial set for alleged aerial banner pilot • Kauai driver sent to prison for hit-and-run • Hiker calls 911 and is assisted down from trail
For Thursday, August 28, 2014
Lawsuit against ‘X-men' moviemaker dismissed • Driver suffers worst injuries in 1-car crash • Man convicted of dealing meth faces life term
For Wednesday, August 27, 2014
A Honolulu woman has pleaded guilty to vandalizing Iolani Palace after she kicked the front door of the historic building earlier this year.
For Tuesday, August 26, 2014
UH law school’s incoming class sets record • Landowners could get more time to build
For Monday, August 25, 2014
School openings will increase traffic • Marie ramps up to major hurricane • OCCC cancels visitation, again; and more
For Sunday, August 24, 2014
2 storms in eastern Pacific gain strength • Visits to correctional center are canceled • Project targets folks on foot • Lanes will open on new bridge
For Saturday, August 23, 2014
Major electric repairs in Puna are completed • Ideas sought for Patsy Mink's former school • Magnitude-4.2 quakes strikes off Molokai
For Friday, August 22, 2014
Neighborhood watch block party planned • Cross stolen from church is found nearby • Plea deal frees mayor hopeful to pay victims
For Thursday, August 21, 2014
Groups' testimony backs Interior proposal • Condo building on beach space could face fine
For Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Ex-Marine's life term for murder upheld • Lowell draws Karina away from isles • 300 customers regain power after Iselle; and more
For Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Hurricane center tracks new storm • Thieves steal copper piping off Hilo venue
For Monday, August 18, 2014
Tropical disturbances stall advance of Karina in Pacific • OCCC visitation is canceled for fifth time in 7 weeks • Man suspected in vandalism is due in court • Fire destroys 2-story house in Lahaina
For Sunday, August 17, 2014
Body of diver is identified • Boys help save injured uncle
For Saturday, August 16, 2014
2,500 in Puna regain electricity • Big Isle warned of brown water • Storm weakens on way to isles
For Friday, August 15, 2014
Storm now a hurricane as another looms • Sailor is rescued after his boat sinks • Project aims to ease transit • Red Cross truck found by police
For Thursday, August 14, 2014
Tropical storm near Mexico likely to grow • Weight-based trash fee urged • Inmate back beyond bars • Parks still shut due to storm
For Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Sea turtle with tumors found in Aina Haina • Isle lawyer to help Williams weigh appeal • Hiker who died is identified as from Haena • Man accused of threats, damage and more
For Tuesday, August 12, 2014
City, union to detail paramedics' hours • Kauai staff will explain changes to taxpayers
For Monday, August 11, 2014
Fishing boat from Japan washes ashore • Research on coral disease to be shared
For Sunday, August 10, 2014
Partially treated sewage enters reservoir • Searchers find woman's body • Assault over pot nets year in jail
For Saturday, August 9, 2014
Federal flood map changes to be discussed • Pair convicted of squatting in judge's home • House sustains $20,000 damage in morning fire
For Friday, August 8, 2014
National Democrats support Schatz • Deedy jurors sent home as courts close • Woman at shooting charged with crime; and more
For Thursday, August 7, 2014
Buddhist school granted $1.5M • Fire helicopter lands after engine failure • Quakes shake Big Island, but no harm done
For Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Officer involved in fatal shooting is back on Waikiki patrol duty • Farmers, group seek to intervene in GMO lawsuit • Blaze guts 1 of 2 bedrooms in Maui cottage
For Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Native Hawaiian program is awarded $50K • Maui candidates address hospital financing issue
For Monday, August 4, 2014
OCCC visits canceled Sunday • Leak repair necessitates water outage • Highway bypass project enters its last phase
For Sunday, August 3, 2014
Hurricane Iselle bulks up to category 2 • Blue Angels to perform shows next month
For Saturday, August 2, 2014
Revenue forecast for state downgraded • Island School's leader to retire next year • Man charged in assault, robbery • Water agency cancels advisory
For Friday, August 1, 2014
2 whales appear in distress off Kailua • 4 Kauai schools closed on Friday • Speed cited in fatal crash
For Thursday, July 31, 2014
Hiker who died in fall identified as Oahu man • Maui man dies while clearing valley property • Waterline break closes down park restrooms
For Wednesday, July 30, 2014
Tropical depression gains power • Hanabusa, Schatz report funds • Lawsuit demands ability to use medical marijuana; and more
For Monday, July 28, 2014
Staffing woes nix visits to OCCC inmates • Hurricane brewing in eastern Pacific • Bill would ban plastic-foam food boxes; and more
For Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Kailua street reopened after sinkhole mess • Dead infant was murdered, officials report • Gunshot victim dies, changing criminal case
For Sunday, July 27, 2014
Storm's remnants eventually will deliver passing showers • Shooter gets life in prison • Officials seek park vandals
For Saturday, July 26, 2014
Man to serve 135 months for mailing meth • NOAA probes death of whale found on Kauai • Kauai officials to hold hearing on GMO rules
For Friday, July 25, 2014
Group's lawsuit against prison is dismissed • Arizona visitor dies of injury after rescue
For Thursday, July 24, 2014
The Kauai County Council on Wednesday rejected a proposed charter amendment to regulate the use of pesticides and growth of genetically engineered crops by large agri­businesses.
For Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Man arrested on attempted murder charge • County told it will lose space for DMV
For Tuesday, July 22, 2014
A hearing will be held Wednesday in U.S. District Court in Hono­lulu on a lawsuit against Kauai County filed by seed companies trying to block a new pesticides and GMO ordinance.

Star-Advertiser Print Replica
What is a Print Replica?

The Print Replica of the newspaper is a page-by-page replica of the day's printed newspaper - including all stories, sections, photos and ads - not including advertiser preprints - in PDF like form. It can be viewed on your computer's web browser, iPad, iPhone and some e-Readers.



Print Replica FAQ's »
RECIPE: Kai Choy Pork Soup
Local boy Taz Vegas of Nanakuli can cook — and he can sing. Here is some simple comfort food that will taste even better the next day. Mahalo, Taz, for the great recipe! Read More »
 
Splendor of China
The event features 150 booths, the debut of Narcissus Queen contestants, a keiki corner, cultural performances and more. Read More »
 

Most Popular