Quantcast

Monday, March 30, 2015         

Police and Fire Premium

For articles before August 3, 2011, see the Free Archives »

For Monday, March 30, 2015
Chinatown arson investigated • Crew rescues girl at Makapuu
For Sunday, March 29, 2015
Teenage cliff jumpers rescued from sea • Gunshot puts man in serious condition • Helicopter plucks hiker from Olomana Trail
For Saturday, March 28, 2015
Burglars hit Nimitz cycle shop again • Attempted-murder charge fails to stick
For Friday, March 27, 2015
Woman accused in threat, auto damage • Second suspect held in Palolo robbery
For Friday, March 27, 2015
Stabbing suspect is Washington resident • Surfer discovered near Kewalo Basin dies • Driver arrested in ramming incident • 18-year-old detained for alleged threats • Man charged in assault of Hilo resident
For Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Purse-snatching suspect faces 16 counts • Woman critically hurt in 40-foot tumble
For Tuesday, March 24, 2015
2 die on Kauai in apparent drownings • Suspected ordnance closes Maui park
For Monday, March 23, 2015
Vehicle hits, hurts pedestrian in crosswalk • Kamehameha Highway is reopened • Man charged with sex assault of teenager
For Sunday, March 22, 2015
2 lost hikers rescued from Olomana Trail • Suspect in Palolo store robbery arrested
For Saturday, March 21, 2015
Robbers attack owners of Palolo store • Woman's death is deemed a drowning • Toddler is OK after falling from moped
For Friday, March 20, 2015
$350,000 worth of damage caused by fire, official says • Drowning victim a Washington state woman, city says • 2-year-old boy hit by moped is sent to hospital
For Thursday, March 19, 2015
1 killed, 1 injured in Laie crash • Man who died after arrest ID'd • Man admits role in robbery of liquor store
For Wednesday, March 18, 2015
A 25-year-old woman died at a hospital Monday night after she was found unresponsive in the ocean in Wai­kiki.
For Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Snorkelers who died were mainland pair • Woman killed in traffic accident ID'd
For Monday, March 16, 2015
Oahu traffic accidents kill 1 and injure 2 • Motorcyclist is hurt in collision with car • Assault on police officer lands man in jail
For Sunday, March 15, 2015
Apparent stabbing sends man to hospital • 2 male suspects sought after robbery in Kalihi • Coast Guard searches for overdue fishing boat; and more
For Saturday, March 14, 2015
Driver indicted in fatal December crash • Homeless man charged in hatchet attack • 2 men are charged with theft, forgery after home burglary
For Friday, March 13, 2015
Hiker rescued after falling off Koolau trail • Truck driver sought in crash that hurt cyclist • Raffle scam invokes name of Hilo shop
For Thursday, March 12, 2015
Teen arrested in assaults of 3 other girls • 3 suspects sought in robbery near airport • Meth sentence has Kauai man off to prison
For Wednesday, March 11, 2015
A Maui man was charged Tuesday in the stabbing death of his 43-year-old mother in a one-bedroom shack in Kahu­lui.
For Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Maui police Monday arrested a 25-year-old Kahu­lui man suspected of fatally stabbing a 43-year-old female relative in a one-bedroom shack in Kahu­lui.
For Monday, March 09, 2015
Firefighters brought a brush fire in Makaha under control at 6:46 p.m. Sunday using hand tools. The fire did not threaten any homes, a fire official said.
For Sunday, March 8, 2015
Toys catch fire in boys' attempt to do magic trick • Sighting by copter helps halt spread of Schofield blaze
For Saturday, March 7, 2015
Cause of 2 house fires remains unknown • Moanalua student surrenders to police
For Friday, March 6, 2015
Man charged with setting church ablaze • 9 companies battle Manoa house fire • Homeless man allegedly injures officer • Rescuers help couple hike out of valley • Pair charged with assaulting police officer • 4 are charged after police raid recovers drugs
For Friday, March 6, 2015
House fire forces 5 residents to flee • Maui driver is charged in fatal crash
For Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Shooting classified as suicide • Drowning victim identified • Construction worker injured
For Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Arson investigation opened in Maui fire • Man arrested in attack on girlfriend • OCCC inmate faces escape charge
For Sunday, March 1, 2015
Woman injured in crash dies • Search for hiker will resume • Man in fatal shooting identified
For Saturday, February 28, 2015
Man's death ruled accidental drowning • Missionary charged in assault of teen girl • Inmate on furlough is accused of burglary
For Saturday, February 28, 2015
School warns of man in van at park • AWOL inmate is arrested in Kaneohe • Police seek man on video at scene of fire
For Thursday, February 26, 2015
2 men captured in burglarized business
For Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Inmate skips out while on work furlough • 2 kayakers helped to shore at Kailua
For Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Search turns up guns and crystal meth • Blaze ruins house on Hawaii island • Victim assaulted with tire iron in Kapahulu
For Sunday, February 22, 2015
Search for missing Japanese teen is halted • Man on bicycle is hit by car in Hawaii Kai • Collision seriously injures 71-year-old • Boy hospitalized after vehicle strikes him
For Saturday, February 21, 2015
Waikoloa man held on drug charges • Teen faces tougher penalty in abuse case • Police want public's help to find arsonist
For Friday, February 20, 2015
Suspect held in slaying of Makakilo man • Man pleads not guilty in girlfriend's death • Suspect, 21, wanted on warrant is injured in scuffle during arrest
For Thursday, February 19, 2015
Woman bullied, robbed in Makiki home • Lost hiker airlifted from Pupukea trail • Officers bitten, spat upon in scuffle • 40 customers on Big Isle still without power
For Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Robbery attempt reported at UH-Manoa • Japanese student falls overboard • Man in hospital with possible stab wounds • Inmate missing from Hawaii island facility
For Tuesday, February 17, 2015
3 die, 1 injured in Maui ocean incidents • Makaha pedestrian in critical condition
For Monday, February 16, 2015
Moped crash leaves rider critically injured • Wave knocks catamaran riders overboard
For Sunday, February 15, 2015
Blaze causes more than $400K in damage • Gas meter accident prompts evacuation
For Saturday, February 14, 2015
3 displaced after blaze destroys home • Manoa man critically hurt in fall from roof • Man charged in try to cash forged check
For Friday, February 13, 2015
Snorkeler is revived, brought to hospital • Hilo physician didn't commit fraud, state says • Man charged with car theft
For Thursday, February 12, 2015
Kidnapping attempt reported near school • Invader at large in Dole Street break-in • Witness details armed robbery of painkillers
For Wednesday, February 11, 2015
A 40-year-old Wai­anae man was charged Monday with allegedly breaking into the apartment of his estranged wife and attacking a man.
For Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Victim of apparent drowning is identified • Alleged arson sparked by landlord dispute • Kapolei man arrested in sexual assault • Vehicle hits woman on freeway onramp
For Monday, February 9, 2015
Injured man dies at Central Oahu hospital • Woman found unresponsive in the ocean • Waianae man is arrested in break-in
For Sunday, February 8, 2015
Tour bus driver hospitalized after crash • Fall leaves hiker in serious condition
For Saturday, February 7, 2015
Swimmer drowns at Wailuku River park • Jogger hit by pickup is severely injured • Man arrested in attempt to strike officer
For Friday, February 6, 2015
Man arrested in assaults, drug possession • Big Isle police on the hunt for wire thieves
For Thursday, February 5, 2015
Suspect, 56, arrested in fatal stabbing • Inmate faces discipline for attack on guard • Man in serious condition after fall on rocks • 1 robbery suspect arrested, 1 still on loose • Man pulled from ocean ID'd by police
For Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Suspect accused of assaulting officer • Witnesses sought in 2 Kauai car crashes
For Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Near-drowing sends surfer to hospital • Whale-watching boat runs aground • Spate of dumpster fires called suspicious
For Monday, February 2, 2015
Vehicle rollover injures man in Kaneohe • Suspect arrested in attempted murder • Bicyclist critically injured when hit by car
For Saturday, January 31, 2015
Kailua man stole from nonprofit, indictment alleges • Seattle man, 82, dies at beach in Kihei, Maui • Boy charged with robbing younger child; and more
For Friday, January 30, 2015
School locked down during police search • Death caused by SUV accident injuries • Knife-wielding robbers strike near Capitol
For Thursday, January 29, 2015
Motorcyclist who died after crash is ID'd • Hammer attack results in prison for Maui man
For Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Man found near Turtle Bay is identified • Burglar targets offices of UH building • Woman dead from knife wounds is named • Sixth suspect in crime spree is charged
For Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Police have released suspects in two violent incidents this weekend, after prosecutors declined to pursue charges in the cases.
For Monday, January 26, 2015
A Waikane man remained in police custody Sunday awaiting a court appearance in connection with the apparent shooting of a 33-year-old man last month in Wai­kane.
For Sunday, January 25, 2015
Suspect is charged in fatal stabbing • Man's arrest tied to December homicide • Fight leads to near drowning in stream
For Saturday, January 24, 2015
4 arrested on Big Island in fatal stabbing • Man taken to hospital after ocean trouble • Woman charged with credit card fraud
For Friday, January 23, 2015
Hawaii County police Thursday identified the victim of a fatal stabbing Tuesday in Hilo as 43-year-old Brian Whetten, who had no permanent address.
For Thursday, January 22, 2015
Paraglider was Utah resident • Body found in Kapalama Canal • 2 arrested in alleged robbery • Man who died of injuries is ID'd • Stabbing death prompts murder investigation
For Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Witnesses sought in Halawa car accident • Man found near China Walls is identified
For Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Man who died after fall from van is ID'd • Suspect arrested in robbery of cabdriver
For Monday, January 19, 2015
A 32-year-old Wai­pahu man died after falling from a cargo van early Sunday morning in the parking lot of Aloha Stadium, Hono­lulu police said.
For Sunday, January 18, 2015
Driver dies after vehicle hits parked cars • Man in fatal motorcycle crash is identified
For Saturday, January 17, 2015
Marijuana found in abandoned luggage • Maui police on lookout for missing woman • Pedestrian, 72, hurt in Kaimuki accident
For Friday, January 16, 2015
Chinese restaurant destroyed by arson • Man dies after paragliding accident • Kauai police seek fugitive • Keaau fire under investigation • Parks waive entrance fees
For Thursday, January 15, 2015
House fire displaces family of 3 on Big Isle • Male suspect sought in fast-food robbery • Japanese visitor who drowned is identified
For Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Female tourist is rescued after toppling from cliff • Motorcycle mishaps injure 2; 1 man is in critical condition
For Tuesday, January 13, 2015
The city Medical Examiner's Office on Monday identified two people who died in separate accidents recently.
For Monday, January 12, 2015
Teenager hospitalized in single-car crash • Rider seriously injured in motorcycle wreck
For Sunday, January 11, 2015
Climber hurt in Mokulua fall • Office on farm catches fire • Kailua blaze blamed on vehicle
For Saturday, January 10, 2015
Inmate arrested in escape • 2 hurt at construction site • Attack on officer alleged
For Friday, January 9, 2015
Homeless man hospitalized with injuries • Fence cut, shed lock broken at prison • Police catch up to wanted man • Molokai man held in crash
For Thursday, January 8, 2015
An opihi picker found the body of a 49-year-old man who had been missing since Jan. 1, Hawaii County police said.
For Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Man allegedly throws metal rods at cars • Big Isle swimmer caught in current dies • Driver of truck that hit pedestrians sought
For Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Duo sought in attempted ATM heist • Man charged with terroristic threatening • Victim of fatal motorcycle crash identified
For Monday, January 5, 2015
Man charged in McCully assault • Chest pains earn boater a helicopter ride
For Sunday, January 4, 2015
Coach, young paddlers rescued off Waikiki • Attempted-murder suspect still in custody
For Saturday, January 3, 2015
2 pedestrians hurt in separate accidents • Motorcycle rider dies in Kaaawa collision • Kapolei man is identified as crash victim; and more
For Friday, January 2, 2015
Two accidents within minutes of each other in the same part of Kapolei left one man dead and another critically injured on New Year's Eve.
For Thursday, January 1, 2015
A 17-year-old was in serious condition after being resuscitated Wednesday afternoon at Hanauma Bay.
For Wednesday, December 31, 2014
Canadian woman dies after snorkeling • Alaskan swimmer dies at hospital • Abuse in front of keiki brings arrests; and more
For Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Autopsy scheduled in possible drowning • Boy's dirt bike death prompts investigation • Motorist dies after fiery crash in Kapolei; and more
For Monday, December 29, 2014
Swimmer saved off Nanakuli • Small fire closes Hotel Street • Woman charged with assault
For Sunday, December 28, 2014
Suspected ordnance found off Maui beach • Boy, 2, hurt in scooter collision with car
For Saturday, December 27, 2014
Suspect in assault on Christmas Eve appears in court • Vandalism at park in Kalihi forces restroom closure
For Friday, December 26, 2014
Man's body found floating in Kewalo Basin Harbor • 2 motorcyclists hospitalized after accidents Christmas Eve • Waianae assault results in attempted-murder charge; and more
For Thursday, December 25, 2014
Police are seeking witnesses or information in the stabbing death of a 53-year-old man at Tantalus.
For Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Bank robbery is Honolulu's third in a week • Motorcyclist who died after crash is ID'd
For Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Kauai victim fatally injured by tree-cutting accident • Cases of domestic abuse land Waianae men in jail
For Monday, December 22, 2014
Morning crash kills man on motorcycle • Woman charged with felony abuse of man • Suspect held in assault on police officers • Man allegedly chokes woman in car • Police arrest 3 in vehicle thefts • Agency warns of phone scam
For Sunday, December 21, 2014
Woman, 18, injured in Pearl City accident • Attempted murder investigation launched • Suspect sought in Waianae stabbing
For Saturday, December 20, 2014
Man wielding sword, pellet rifle arrested • SOS message in the sand leads to rescue • Police nab alleged attempted car thief • Man arrested after alleged attack
For Friday, December 19, 2014
Hawaii island police have arrested a person of interest in connection with the robbery of a convenience store in Kona. Kona patrol officers arrested Kelly Marie Brightbill in Kalaoa at 3:10 a.m. Thursday while investigating a suspicious vehicle call.
For Thursday, December 18, 2014
Police seek help finding suspects in Koko Marina, Chinatown heists • Pedestrian in serious condition after being hit by vehicle on Middle Street

Most Popular
SMEI Honors Dennis Francis
Sales and Marketing Executives International (SMEI) recently honored Honolulu Star-Advertiser president and publisher Dennis Francis as its 2014 Salesperson of the Year in Sheraton Waikiki’s Hawaii Ballroom. Read More »
 
2015 First Hawaiian International Auto Show
A VIP preview event was hosted for the 2015 First Hawaiian International Auto Show, sponsored by First Hawaiian Bank, Hawaii Automobile Dealers Association, Honolulu Star-Advertiser and Motor Trend. Read More »