Saturday, April 25, 2015         

Police and Fire Premium

For articles before August 3, 2011, see the Free Archives »

For Friday, April 24, 2015
2 homeless men charged in assaults • Coast Guard looks for missing mariner
For Thursday, April 23, 2015
Portlock blaze blamed on blowtorch • Pair of shoplifting suspects arrested • Makawao, Kula crews battling brush fire
For Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Apartment fire hits Ward Avenue building • Renovation work takes blame for blaze
For Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Police have asked for help from the public in locating four men wanted for questioning in connection with a Kalihi shooting in February that left two dead.
For Monday, April 20, 2015
Man swept into sea dies at hospital • Trio of divers saved after boat capsizes • Moped rider, age 77, hurt in Manoa crash
For Sunday, April 19, 2015
Suspect in fatal hit-run released • Paddler is rescued off Molokai
For Saturday, April 18, 2015
Two missing work furlough inmates were arrested Thursday, the state Department of Public Safety said.
For Friday, April 17, 2015
Ex-prosecutor Karamatsu charged with DUI • Hit-and-run driver injures moped rider • Plea deal bans Maui man from driving for life
For Thursday, April 16, 2015
Hit-and-run driver sought in Aiea incident • Brush fire busies Hawaii isle firefighters • Man uses machete to threaten woman
For Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Man accused of driving at officer charged • Vehicle strikes and injures boy, age 4 • Moped crash lands man, 56, in hospital
For Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Woman involved in shooting is charged • Homeless man is charged in stabbing • 9 people flee as home office catches fire; and more
For Monday, April 13, 2015
Man nearly drowns off Waikiki Beach • Female motorcyclist injured in H-1 crash
For Sunday, April 12, 2015
Diver and disabled boat rescued • 2 arrested after attacks, threats • Motorcyclist hurt in accident • Waianae incident injures woman
For Saturday, April 11, 2015
A 21-year-old Mountain View man is facing 11 criminal charges — including five felonies — following a routine traffic stop on Tuesday.
For Friday, April 10, 2015
HPD looks for leads in video of bus attack • Truck rollover sends 2 to the hospital • Returned purchases lead to theft charges
For Thursday, April 9, 2015
Crash victim identified as Holualoa man • Big Isle police say X-rays snare drug suspect
For Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Ten students at Iroquois Point Elementary School reported being ill Tuesday from noxious fumes that turned out to be bleach.
For Tuesday, April 7, 2015
City IDs man who died after ocean incident • 1 inmate on the lam, 1 returns to OCCC
For Monday, April 6, 2015
Accounting firm principal arrested in theft • Police officer hits, injures cyclist with car • Medical problem causes driver to crash • Inmate fails to return from work furlough
For Sunday, April 5, 2015
A 56-year-old man died Sunday after being pulled from waters off the Heeia Boat Ramp.
For Saturday, April 4, 2015
Kalihi fire causes $681,000 in damage • Homeless man charged in Makiki break-in • Brick allegedly thrown during argument
For Friday, April 3, 2015
Boy seriously hurt when car hits him on the North Shore • Credit union branch is robbed by man brandishing gun • Ewa Beach man arrested in stabbing of male victim, 22 • Canadian CEO dies following collapse at race • Man charged in shooting case
For Thursday, April 2, 2015
Stabbing leaves victim in serious condition • Maui moped rider dies of crash injuries • Boy nearly drowns while helping brother • Big brush fire burns 100 acres in Koloa, Kauai
For Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Visitor rescued after nearly drowning • Shooting yields arrest of Wahiawa man • Woman suffers leg injury at Makapuu
For Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Hiker killed in fall ID'd as Navy sailor • Man seriously injured at China Walls • Man charged with burglary in hotel heist • City identifies woman found on sidewalk
For Monday, March 30, 2015
Chinatown arson investigated • Crew rescues girl at Makapuu
For Sunday, March 29, 2015
Teenage cliff jumpers rescued from sea • Gunshot puts man in serious condition • Helicopter plucks hiker from Olomana Trail
For Saturday, March 28, 2015
Burglars hit Nimitz cycle shop again • Attempted-murder charge fails to stick
For Friday, March 27, 2015
Woman accused in threat, auto damage • Second suspect held in Palolo robbery
For Friday, March 27, 2015
Stabbing suspect is Washington resident • Surfer discovered near Kewalo Basin dies • Driver arrested in ramming incident • 18-year-old detained for alleged threats • Man charged in assault of Hilo resident
For Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Purse-snatching suspect faces 16 counts • Woman critically hurt in 40-foot tumble
For Tuesday, March 24, 2015
2 die on Kauai in apparent drownings • Suspected ordnance closes Maui park
For Monday, March 23, 2015
Vehicle hits, hurts pedestrian in crosswalk • Kamehameha Highway is reopened • Man charged with sex assault of teenager
For Sunday, March 22, 2015
2 lost hikers rescued from Olomana Trail • Suspect in Palolo store robbery arrested
For Saturday, March 21, 2015
Robbers attack owners of Palolo store • Woman's death is deemed a drowning • Toddler is OK after falling from moped
For Friday, March 20, 2015
$350,000 worth of damage caused by fire, official says • Drowning victim a Washington state woman, city says • 2-year-old boy hit by moped is sent to hospital
For Thursday, March 19, 2015
1 killed, 1 injured in Laie crash • Man who died after arrest ID'd • Man admits role in robbery of liquor store
For Wednesday, March 18, 2015
A 25-year-old woman died at a hospital Monday night after she was found unresponsive in the ocean in Wai­kiki.
For Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Snorkelers who died were mainland pair • Woman killed in traffic accident ID'd
For Monday, March 16, 2015
Oahu traffic accidents kill 1 and injure 2 • Motorcyclist is hurt in collision with car • Assault on police officer lands man in jail
For Sunday, March 15, 2015
Apparent stabbing sends man to hospital • 2 male suspects sought after robbery in Kalihi • Coast Guard searches for overdue fishing boat; and more
For Saturday, March 14, 2015
Driver indicted in fatal December crash • Homeless man charged in hatchet attack • 2 men are charged with theft, forgery after home burglary
For Friday, March 13, 2015
Hiker rescued after falling off Koolau trail • Truck driver sought in crash that hurt cyclist • Raffle scam invokes name of Hilo shop
For Thursday, March 12, 2015
Teen arrested in assaults of 3 other girls • 3 suspects sought in robbery near airport • Meth sentence has Kauai man off to prison
For Wednesday, March 11, 2015
A Maui man was charged Tuesday in the stabbing death of his 43-year-old mother in a one-bedroom shack in Kahu­lui.
For Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Maui police Monday arrested a 25-year-old Kahu­lui man suspected of fatally stabbing a 43-year-old female relative in a one-bedroom shack in Kahu­lui.
For Monday, March 09, 2015
Firefighters brought a brush fire in Makaha under control at 6:46 p.m. Sunday using hand tools. The fire did not threaten any homes, a fire official said.
For Sunday, March 8, 2015
Toys catch fire in boys' attempt to do magic trick • Sighting by copter helps halt spread of Schofield blaze
For Saturday, March 7, 2015
Cause of 2 house fires remains unknown • Moanalua student surrenders to police
For Friday, March 6, 2015
Man charged with setting church ablaze • 9 companies battle Manoa house fire • Homeless man allegedly injures officer • Rescuers help couple hike out of valley • Pair charged with assaulting police officer • 4 are charged after police raid recovers drugs
For Friday, March 6, 2015
House fire forces 5 residents to flee • Maui driver is charged in fatal crash
For Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Shooting classified as suicide • Drowning victim identified • Construction worker injured
For Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Arson investigation opened in Maui fire • Man arrested in attack on girlfriend • OCCC inmate faces escape charge
For Sunday, March 1, 2015
Woman injured in crash dies • Search for hiker will resume • Man in fatal shooting identified
For Saturday, February 28, 2015
Man's death ruled accidental drowning • Missionary charged in assault of teen girl • Inmate on furlough is accused of burglary
For Saturday, February 28, 2015
School warns of man in van at park • AWOL inmate is arrested in Kaneohe • Police seek man on video at scene of fire
For Thursday, February 26, 2015
2 men captured in burglarized business
For Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Inmate skips out while on work furlough • 2 kayakers helped to shore at Kailua
For Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Search turns up guns and crystal meth • Blaze ruins house on Hawaii island • Victim assaulted with tire iron in Kapahulu
For Sunday, February 22, 2015
Search for missing Japanese teen is halted • Man on bicycle is hit by car in Hawaii Kai • Collision seriously injures 71-year-old • Boy hospitalized after vehicle strikes him
For Saturday, February 21, 2015
Waikoloa man held on drug charges • Teen faces tougher penalty in abuse case • Police want public's help to find arsonist
For Friday, February 20, 2015
Suspect held in slaying of Makakilo man • Man pleads not guilty in girlfriend's death • Suspect, 21, wanted on warrant is injured in scuffle during arrest
For Thursday, February 19, 2015
Woman bullied, robbed in Makiki home • Lost hiker airlifted from Pupukea trail • Officers bitten, spat upon in scuffle • 40 customers on Big Isle still without power
For Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Robbery attempt reported at UH-Manoa • Japanese student falls overboard • Man in hospital with possible stab wounds • Inmate missing from Hawaii island facility
For Tuesday, February 17, 2015
3 die, 1 injured in Maui ocean incidents • Makaha pedestrian in critical condition
For Monday, February 16, 2015
Moped crash leaves rider critically injured • Wave knocks catamaran riders overboard
For Sunday, February 15, 2015
Blaze causes more than $400K in damage • Gas meter accident prompts evacuation
For Saturday, February 14, 2015
3 displaced after blaze destroys home • Manoa man critically hurt in fall from roof • Man charged in try to cash forged check
For Friday, February 13, 2015
Snorkeler is revived, brought to hospital • Hilo physician didn't commit fraud, state says • Man charged with car theft
For Thursday, February 12, 2015
Kidnapping attempt reported near school • Invader at large in Dole Street break-in • Witness details armed robbery of painkillers
For Wednesday, February 11, 2015
A 40-year-old Wai­anae man was charged Monday with allegedly breaking into the apartment of his estranged wife and attacking a man.
For Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Victim of apparent drowning is identified • Alleged arson sparked by landlord dispute • Kapolei man arrested in sexual assault • Vehicle hits woman on freeway onramp
For Monday, February 9, 2015
Injured man dies at Central Oahu hospital • Woman found unresponsive in the ocean • Waianae man is arrested in break-in
For Sunday, February 8, 2015
Tour bus driver hospitalized after crash • Fall leaves hiker in serious condition
For Saturday, February 7, 2015
Swimmer drowns at Wailuku River park • Jogger hit by pickup is severely injured • Man arrested in attempt to strike officer
For Friday, February 6, 2015
Man arrested in assaults, drug possession • Big Isle police on the hunt for wire thieves
For Thursday, February 5, 2015
Suspect, 56, arrested in fatal stabbing • Inmate faces discipline for attack on guard • Man in serious condition after fall on rocks • 1 robbery suspect arrested, 1 still on loose • Man pulled from ocean ID'd by police
For Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Suspect accused of assaulting officer • Witnesses sought in 2 Kauai car crashes
For Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Near-drowing sends surfer to hospital • Whale-watching boat runs aground • Spate of dumpster fires called suspicious
For Monday, February 2, 2015
Vehicle rollover injures man in Kaneohe • Suspect arrested in attempted murder • Bicyclist critically injured when hit by car
For Saturday, January 31, 2015
Kailua man stole from nonprofit, indictment alleges • Seattle man, 82, dies at beach in Kihei, Maui • Boy charged with robbing younger child; and more
For Friday, January 30, 2015
School locked down during police search • Death caused by SUV accident injuries • Knife-wielding robbers strike near Capitol
For Thursday, January 29, 2015
Motorcyclist who died after crash is ID'd • Hammer attack results in prison for Maui man
For Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Man found near Turtle Bay is identified • Burglar targets offices of UH building • Woman dead from knife wounds is named • Sixth suspect in crime spree is charged
For Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Police have released suspects in two violent incidents this weekend, after prosecutors declined to pursue charges in the cases.
For Monday, January 26, 2015
A Waikane man remained in police custody Sunday awaiting a court appearance in connection with the apparent shooting of a 33-year-old man last month in Wai­kane.
For Sunday, January 25, 2015
Suspect is charged in fatal stabbing • Man's arrest tied to December homicide • Fight leads to near drowning in stream
For Saturday, January 24, 2015
4 arrested on Big Island in fatal stabbing • Man taken to hospital after ocean trouble • Woman charged with credit card fraud
For Friday, January 23, 2015
Hawaii County police Thursday identified the victim of a fatal stabbing Tuesday in Hilo as 43-year-old Brian Whetten, who had no permanent address.
For Thursday, January 22, 2015
Paraglider was Utah resident • Body found in Kapalama Canal • 2 arrested in alleged robbery • Man who died of injuries is ID'd • Stabbing death prompts murder investigation
For Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Witnesses sought in Halawa car accident • Man found near China Walls is identified
For Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Man who died after fall from van is ID'd • Suspect arrested in robbery of cabdriver
For Monday, January 19, 2015
A 32-year-old Wai­pahu man died after falling from a cargo van early Sunday morning in the parking lot of Aloha Stadium, Hono­lulu police said.
For Sunday, January 18, 2015
Driver dies after vehicle hits parked cars • Man in fatal motorcycle crash is identified
For Saturday, January 17, 2015
Marijuana found in abandoned luggage • Maui police on lookout for missing woman • Pedestrian, 72, hurt in Kaimuki accident
For Friday, January 16, 2015
Chinese restaurant destroyed by arson • Man dies after paragliding accident • Kauai police seek fugitive • Keaau fire under investigation • Parks waive entrance fees
For Thursday, January 15, 2015
House fire displaces family of 3 on Big Isle • Male suspect sought in fast-food robbery • Japanese visitor who drowned is identified
For Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Female tourist is rescued after toppling from cliff • Motorcycle mishaps injure 2; 1 man is in critical condition
For Tuesday, January 13, 2015
The city Medical Examiner's Office on Monday identified two people who died in separate accidents recently.
For Monday, January 12, 2015
Teenager hospitalized in single-car crash • Rider seriously injured in motorcycle wreck

Most Popular
RECIPE: Coconut Bread Pudding
The Tabura brothers had a blast making venison chili, crispy moi and a haupia bread pudding. Read More »
 
’I Love Kailua’ Town Party
Enjoy “A Taste of Kailua” with dozens of vendors, live entertainment, shopping, mini health fair, family fun and more. Read More »