Saturday, November 28, 2015         


 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Moniz scores team MVP

By Stephen Tsai


Adding to an already chart-topping season, quarterback Bryant Moniz last night won the Alec Waterhouse Award as the Hawaii football team's most valuable player.

The award was announced at the team's annual banquet at the Sheraton Waikiki Hotel.

Moniz, a fourth-year junior, joined the Warriors as a non-scholarship player in January 2009 after sitting out more than a year. He paid for tuition and school expenses by delivering pizzas and, later, working as a Waikiki beach boy.

After ascending from fourth on the depth chart, he earned the starting job in the middle of the 2009 season, then earned a scholarship this past August.

This season, Moniz leads the nation in total offense (361.92 yards per game), passing yards (4,629), passing yards per game (356.08) and touchdown throws (36).

Linebacker Corey Paredes, who has played despite injuries to his shoulder, legs and ankles, was named the winner of the Ben Yee Award for most inspirational Warrior.

Safety Mana Silva, who aspires to a career in medicine, was named the Warriors' top scholar. Silva is tied for the national lead with eight interceptions. In Saturday's 59-21 victory over Nevada-Las Vegas, he made his 14th career interception, a school record. Silva, who was raised on the Big Island, attended Oregon State as a freshman before transferring to UH.

Left slotback Greg Salas, who leads the nation with 1,675 receiver yards, was named the most outstanding offensive player.

Defensive tackle Kaniela Tuipulotu, who redshirted in 2009 after transferring from Arizona, was named the most outstanding defensive player.

Warrior awards went to running back Alex Green for offense and cornerback Jeramy Bryant for defense. Green is No. 1 nationally in yards per carry with an 8.78 average.

Slotback Kealoha Pilares was named the most improved player, redshirt safety Darryl McBride was the top scout and center Bronson Tiwanak was honored for being the most unselfish.

Long snapper Luke Ingram received an award for top specialists.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates