Friday, October 9, 2015         


 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

'Iolani top seed at states

By Paul Honda


'Iolani is top dog, Kahuku is immersed in mystery and the bracket at Farrington is quite the gauntlet.

That's the quick view of the Division I seedings and pairings released for the Hawaiian Airlines/Hawaii High School Athletic Association Boys Basketball State Championships, which tip off Wednesday. The first two days will be at McKinley and Farrington gyms, followed by two days at Stan Sheriff Center.

Defending state champion 'Iolani (18-4 overall) is no surprise as the No. 1 seed after winning the Interscholastic League of Honolulu with a 13-1 mark. Of the six teams in 'Iolani's bracket, only one other program has been ranked among the top five in the rankings this season.

Unseeded Kahuku will meet Hilo for the right to face No. 4 seed Lahainaluna. Hilo and Lahainaluna are relative unknowns to Oahu fans.

The bracket at Farrington has darkhorse contenders Academy of the Pacific and Roosevelt meeting in the opening round, with the winner to battle No. 2 seed Moanalua.

The other matchup has Baldwin meeting powerhouse Kamehameha, with the winner to play Kamehameha-Hawaii. Five of the six teams in that bracket have been ranked in the Top 10.

Farrington is the No. 1 seed in the Division II tourney and will play Big Island Interscholastic Federation runner-up St. Joseph. Defending state champ Pahoa is the No. 2 seed and will play McKinley, a team that beat Farrington in the regular season and almost did it again in the playoffs.



Seeds: 1. 'Iolani; 2. Moanalua; 3. KS-Hawaii; 4. Lahainaluna.
At McKinley
Game 1: Hilo vs. Kahuku, 5 p.m.
2: Radford vs. Mililani, 7 p.m.
At Farrington
3: Baldwin vs. KS-Kapalama, 5 p.m.
4: Roosevelt vs. Academy of the Pacific, 7 p.m.
At McKinley
5: Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser, 3 p.m.
6: Lahainaluna vs. Game 1 winner, 5 p.m.
7: 'Iolani vs. Game 2 winner, 7 p.m.
At Farrington
8: Game 3 loser vs. Game 4 loser, 3 p.m.
9: KS-Hawaii vs. Game 3 winner, 5 p.m.
10: Moanalua vs. Game 4 winner, 7 p.m.
At Stan Sheriff Center
11: Consolation championship, 11 a.m.
12: Game 6 loser vs. Game 7 loser, 1 p.m.
13: Game 9 loser vs. Game 10 loser, 3 p.m.
14: Game 9 winner vs. Game 10 winner, 5 p.m.
15: Game 6 winner vs. Game 7 winner, 7 p.m.
At Stan Sheriff Center
16: Fifth-place game, 1 p.m.
17: Third-place game, 3 p.m.
18: Championship game, 7 p.m.



Seeds: 1. Farrington; 2. Pahoa; 3. Island Pacific; 4. Kapaa.
At Kaimuki
Game 1: University vs. Kapaa, 5 p.m.
2: St. Joseph vs. Farrington, 7 p.m.
At Kalani
3: Seabury Hall vs. Island Pacific, 5 p.m.
4: McKinley vs. Pahoa, 7 p.m.
At Kaimuki
5: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner, 5 p.m.
6: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, 7 p.m.
At Kalani
7: Game 1 loser vs. Game 2 loser, 5 p.m.
8: Game 3 loser vs. Game 4 loser, 7 p.m.
9: Fifth-place game, 9 a.m.
10: Third-place game, 11 a.m.
11: Championship game, 5 p.m.


 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates