Friday, November 27, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Hawaii Beat

For Saturday, November 3, 2012

By Star-Advertiser Staff and News Services


Wahine toss perfect game vs. Kumamoto

Left-hander Kaia Parnaby and right-hander Keiki Carlos combined to pitch a five-inning perfect game in leading the University of Hawaii to a 19-0 victory over Kumamoto International College in the Paradise Classic at Rainbow Wahine Softball Stadium on Friday.

Parnaby struck out the first nine batters she faced and ended up fanning 11 of the 12 batters she faced.

Kayla Wartner batted 3-for-4, with a two-run homer and four RBIs to lead a 21-hit Wahine attack. Sharla Kliebenstein also hit a two-run homer. Leisha Liilii and Jazmine Zamora added three hits apiece.

In the earlier game, Chaminade beat Kumamoto 14-5.

The free-admission event continues today with Chaminade playing Kumamoto at noon, followed by UH games against Chaminade at 2 p.m. and Kumamoto at 4.

Hawaii trails in Asia Pacific Jr. Cup

Team Hawaii needs to win 10 of today's 16 singles matches to capture the sixth annual Asia Pacific Junior Cup at Waikoloa Kings' Course.

Japan claimed 4.5 of a possible eight points in Friday's foursome, or alternate shot, matches. That upped its advantage to 9.5-6.5 after two days.

Friday's winning Hawaii teams were John Oda and Kyosuke Hara, Ciera Min and Tyler Munetake, and Skye Inakoshi and Mariel Galdiano. Andi Igawa and Colby Takushi tied their match.

Hawaii has won the Ryder Cup-style event only once. Teams are made up of 10 boys and six girls between the ages of 15 and 18.

Surfers receive invites to Eddie Aikau

Twenty-eight of the world's best big-wave surfers got their invitations on Friday for the 28th Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau contest, including first-timers John John Florence and Ian Walsh of Hawaii, and Alex Gray of California.

The holding period for The Eddie runs from Dec. 1 through Feb. 28. It will be surfed only when waves are deemed big enough — 20 feet or more, local scale — and clean enough to hold the competition. The competition has been held eight times since its inception. California's Greg Long won it the last time it was surfed, on Dec. 8, 2009.

"I don't know if I'm more stoked or more scared," Florence said when he was handed his invitation by Quiksilver's Mark Healey.

The other 25 invitees are: Bruce Irons, Carlos Burle, Clyde Aikau, Dave Wassel, Garrett McNamara, Grant Baker, Jamie O'Brien, Jamie Sterling, Jeremy Flores, Kala Alexander, Kelly Slater, Kohl Christensen, Makua Rothman, Nathan Fletcher, Noah Johnson, Pete Mel, Ramon Navarro, Reef McIntosh, Ross Clarke-Jones, Shane Dorian, Sunny Garcia, Takayuki Wakita, Tom Carroll, Long and Healey.

Pittsburgh defeats Hilo in season opener

The Hawaii-Hilo men's basketball team opened its season with a 77-45 loss to Pittsburgh on Friday at the Panthers' campus.

Lucas Swanson led the Vulcans with 10 points, while CJ Brown tallied five assists and four rebounds. Hilo struggled with 24 turnovers, but converted nine of 12 free-throw attempts.

Pittsburgh's Talib Zanna and J.J. Moore each scored a game-high 13 points in the win.

The Vulcans will face Duquesne on Sunday to complete their two-game road trip.

Top 2 seeds to play for doubles title

Top-seeded Ashley Ishimura and Alyssa Tobita defeated Katie Kim and Scout Shutter 6-2, 6-0 to advance to the final of the USTA Hawaii Pacific Section Women's Night Doubles at Ala Moana Tennis Courts.

Ishimura and Tobia will face Yanita Arnaudova and Kahalauamalunonalani Companion at 6 p.m. today at Ala Moana. The second-seeded team beat Kana Aikawa and Michelle Luxton 6-1, 6-7 (2), 6-3.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions