Quantcast

Thursday, July 31, 2014         

GOLF


 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Wie a bright spot on rough day

By Associated Press

POSTED:


PARKER, Colo. >> One player threw up on the first hole. A top rules official allowed a European player to drop in the wrong spot at a critical juncture in the match. The top-ranked American lost both her matches. Michelle Wie, a disputed captain's pick, turned out to be a bright spot.

The Solheim Cup had just about everything Friday, including one big development for the Europeans.

They had a 5-3 lead.

With a little help from a bad ruling, Europe took a step toward winning for the first time on the road. Suzann Pettersen and Caroline Hedwall won two matches, and Carlota Ciganda took advantage of the wrong drop by making a 15-foot par putt to halve the 15th hole after a ruling that took as long as a halftime show at the Super Bowl.

The ruling happened in the most pivotal fourballs match in the afternoon, amid American complaints that it stopped all momentum.

Stacy Lewis, the No. 2 player in the world, and rookie Lexi Thompson were poised to go 1 up against Pettersen and Ciganda, both of whom where in the hazard. Pure chaos followed for the next 30 minutes, so long that fans were chanting, "While we're young" from the grandstands.

Ciganda blocked her approach to the par 5 into an area marked a lateral water hazard. Lewis first was upset that the official used a laser to measure off the distance for Ciganda's drop under Rule 26-1-c, which she felt gave the Spaniard the yardage.

That wasn't the problem. After the measurement, LPGA official Brad Alexander was called in for a second opinion. Ciganda could have dropped on either side of the hazard, but Alexander incorrectly told her she go back on a line as far as she wanted. Ciganda went back 40 yards for a better look at the green and hit into 15 feet.

Thompson, just short of the green in two, hit a poor chip and missed her 18-foot birdie putt. Lewis missed her putt. And then Ciganda knocked in her putt for a par. One hole later, Thompson three-putted for par and Pettersen holed a 7-foot birdie for a 1-up lead, and Europe was on its way.

Alexander took the blame, though because it was an official ruling, it could not be overturned.

What really bugged U.S. captain Meg Mallon was how long it took.

It was the first of four matches. The Americans had momentum on their side in the second match, with Gerina Piller and Angela Stanford making a third straight birdie to cut their deficit to one hole. They waited in the fairway. The Americans were in control of the two matches behind them.

It looked as if the Americans might have a chance to dig out of a 3-1 deficit from morning foursomes and end the day in a tie.

"Obviously, I'm not happy about it," Mallon said. "The thing I'm most unhappy about is that it ... took about 25 minutes for this to happen. And from our perspective the momentum, which was coming in our favor at that point in time, obviously had stopped. ... People make mistakes in rulings. That's not my issue. We have four matches out there and we have officials with every group, and it shouldn't take that long for something like that to happen."

She still had to explain all this to her team, which left an hour earlier to regroup at the hotel.

Lewis left on a bad note. She was seen arguing with the original official while demanding an explanation, at one point throwing her hands in the air.

"I was very frustrated by the situation," Lewis said. "I think there were a lot of things that went wrong within the ruling. You look at the length of time. It killed the momentum in our match and behind us."

The day was not a total loss for Mallon's squad.

She was scrutinized for taking Wie as a captain's pick. Wie's superb short game combined with Cristie Kerr making big putts early as they disposed of Catriona Matthew and 17-year-old Charley Hull, 2 and 1, in the final match. The Americans picked up another point in the afternoon behind Brittany Lang and Brittany Lincicome, with Lang holing a bunker shot on the 14th hole to give her side control of the match.






 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

COMMENTS
(0)
You must be subscribed to participate in discussions
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may receive a warning, and if you persist with such comments you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email commentfeedback@staradvertiser.com.
Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment.
IN OTHER NEWS
Blogs
Political Radar
`Toss up’

Political Radar
Super

Political Radar
Hilton; Plaza Club

Political Radar
Direct mail

Political Radar
Direct mail

Aperture Cafe
Ramadan #latergram