Wednesday, November 25, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 5 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Mariota named Pac-12 Offensive Freshman of the Year

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 2:14 p.m. HST, Nov 26, 2012

Oregon quarterback and Saint Louis School alum Marcus Mariota was named the Pac-12 Conference's Offensive Freshman of the Year as well as first-team all-conference quarterback today.

Mariota, a redshirt freshman who took home the school's co-most outstanding player award, led the Ducks to a 11-1 season and a No. 5 ranking in the BCS standings.

Southern California wide receiver Marqise Lee  was named the league's Offensive Player of the Year and Arizona State defensive tackle Will Sutton the Defensive Player of the Year.

Trojans defensive end Leonard Williams won on the Defensive Freshman of the Year honor.

Stanford's David Shaw won the conference's Coach of the Year award for the second straight season.

Shaw is the fourth coach in league history to win the award in consecutive seasons. Shaw helped Stanford overcome the departure of No. 1 overall draft pick Andrew Luck, seamlessly made a midseason quarterback change from Josh Nunes to Kevin Hogan and overtook Oregon to take the North Division crown.

Lee set conference records with 112 receptions for 1,680 yards to go with 14 touchdowns. Sutton led the Pac-12 with 1.82 tackles for loss per game and also registered 10 1/2 sacks.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 5 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates