Thursday, November 26, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Hartong, Shoji take top Big West volleyball honors

Hawaii has 4 players named to the first team

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 11:37 a.m. HST, Nov 27, 2012

Hawaii junior hitter Emily Hartong was named player of the year and Dave Shoji shared coach of the year with Long Beach State's Brian Gimmillaro when the Big West Conference awards were announced today.

Joining Hartong on the 16-member first team were junior setter Mita Uiato, sophomore hitter Jane Croson and freshman middle Jade Vorster.

Vorster was also named to the all-freshman team. UC Santa Barbara libero Taylor Formico was named freshman of the year.

The Big West did not selected a second team. 

Cal State Northridge junior hitter Mahina Haina, an 'Iolani graduate, was named honorable mention.

A Rainbow Wahine has now earned conference player of the year honors for the past 18 seasons, dating back to Angelica Ljundquist in 1995. Lundquist was the 1995 Big West player of the year and the 1996 Western Athletic Conference player of the year. 

This was the 13th coach of the year honors for Shoji, the winningest active coach in Division I women's volleyball (1,102-183-1).

Hawaii opens the NCAA Tournament Friday against Santa Clara in Seattle. 

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions