Tuesday, September 30, 2014         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 8 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Chepkwony, Kiros win Honolulu Marathon

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 01:17 a.m. HST, Dec 09, 2013

Gilbert Chepkwony of Kenya won the Honolulu Marathon Sunday in a non-record time of 2 hours, 18 minutes, 47 seconds.

Chepkwony out dueled two-time winner Nicholas Chelimo, also of Kenya, down the stretch. Chelimo crossed the line in 2:19:38.

Saeki Makino of Japan held a sizable lead most of the way, but faded after 22 miles and was overtaken by a pack of elite professional runners including Chepwoni and Chelimo. Makino fell back and finished 16th.

Ehitu Kiros of Ethiopia won the women's race in 2:36:02, out kicking countrywoman Woynishet Girma who finished eight seconds later.

Defending champion Valentina Galimova was third in 2:36:13.

Nathan Carlson was the first local men's finisher in 2:45:39 and Polina Babkina the first local woman in 2:46:40.

A total of 22,599 entrants started the 26.2 mile race, out of 30,568 entries for the 41st annual event.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 8 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Warrior Beat
Quick turnaround

Political Radar

Political Radar

Political Radar

Island Crafters
Proud Mommy Status

Wassup Wit Dat!
Got You Now

Warrior Beat
Back on the field

Small Talk
The arm touch