Thursday, November 26, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Hawaii Beat

For Wednesday, June 29, 2011

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 1:38 a.m. HST, Jun 29, 2011

Wong, Linsky make All-America teams

Former Hawaii second baseman Kolten Wong was named to the American Baseball Coaches Association/Rawlings Division I All-America first team on Tuesday. Relief pitcher Lenny Linsky was named to the third team.

Wong, who was drafted by the St. Louis Cardinals and began his professional career on Monday with the Quad Cities River Bandits, was previously named to the Baseball America and Perfect Game All-America teams.

Linsky set a school record with 14 saves this season and is set to begin his pro career in the Tampa Bay Rays organization.

Rolfing out as Hyundai director

Mark Rolfing will not return in 2012 as executive director of the Hyundai Tournament of Champions, he has told friends and associates.

Rolfing, an NBC and Golf Channel analyst, said he will assist with the transition and "will provide counsel to the PGA Tour and tournament staff, when requested."

The PGA Tour and Hyundai did not comment or immediately name a successor.

The Mark and Debi Rolfing Charitable Foundation, the tournament's host organization, raised $285,190 for nonprofit organizations on Maui at the 2011 event. The 2012 tournament will be played Jan. 6-9 at the Kapalua Plantation course.

Friesen wins WAC's Kearney Award

University of Hawaii diver Emma Friesen was named the women's recipient of the Western Athletic Conference Joe Kearney Award on Tuesday. The honor marks the second time Friesen has received the award, presented annually to the WAC's top male and female student-athletes.

Friesen previously won the award after the 2007-08 season. She is a three-time All-American and the first four-time WAC 1-meter diving champion. She qualified for the NCAA championships all four years at UH while maintaining a 3.38 grade-point average. She is a two-time WAC diver of the year and WAC all-academic selection.

Nevada quarterback Colin Kaepernick was this year's male recipient of the Kearney Award.

Former UH athletes to win the Kearney Award include Kim Willoughby (2002-03, 2003-04), Kanoe Kamana‘o (2005-06, 2006-07), Colt Brennan (2006-07) and Amber Kaufman (2009-10).

BYUH signs Frampton

Tiffanee Frampton, a junior college second-team All-American with Mesa Community College in Arizona, has signed a national letter of intent to play for the Brigham Young-Hawaii softball team.

Frampton went 17-9 with a 1.69 ERA and 147 strikeouts in 173 innings as a pitcher last season. She also hit .513 with 53 RBIs.

Acosta places fifth in Oregon

Maui's Jonathan Acosta placed fifth in the limited-10 division at the USPSA Area 1 Regional Handgun Championship in Shedd, Ore.

The tournament drew 318 top pistol shooters from around the country.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates