Monday, July 28, 2014         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

12 elite seniors join Hawaii Hall of Honor

By Curtis Murayama


They all started out as standout student-athletes. Some became professional athletes, others politicians, a few became Olympians. But most have found a way to give back, either as coaches or educators.

The Hawaii High School Hall of Honor, which unveiled its first class in 1983, has a distinguished alumni, from Olympic gold medalist Bryan Clay (1998) to World Series champion Shane Victorino (1999) to Super Bowl participant Aaron Francisco (2001).

Today the elite list grows with the annual induction of seniors who achieved athletic excellence and other accomplishments.

The 12 include a player who led his school to state championships in basketball and boys volleyball and another who became a school's first inductee.

Micah Christenson capped an astonishing year by helping Kamehameha win the boys state basketball and volleyball titles.

Off the court, Christenson has been part of a number of community activities from the United Cerebral Palsy Organization of Hawaii to Hanauma Bay cleanup to visiting with patients at Kapiolani Medical Center for Women and Children.

The 6-foot-5 1⁄2 standout is headed to USC on a volleyball scholarship.

Pierce Murphy, a champion track and cross country runner, is Island School's first inductee.


>> When: 5:30 p.m. today
>> Where: Sheraton Waikiki
>> Speaker: Keith Amemiya

Joining them will be Molokai's Kalei Adolpho, Punahou's Chrissy Chow, Kamehameha's Caprice Dydasco, Kamehameha's Koa Kaai, Castle's Leisha Liilii, Saint Louis' Marcus Mariota, Kahuku's Zhane Santiago, Kauai's Shea Shimabukuro, Seabury Hall's Kailea Tracy-Visintainer and Lahainaluna's Maiki Viela.

They will be honored today at the Hall of Honor banquet at the Sheraton Waikiki.

The guest speaker will be Keith Amemiya, former executive director of the Hawaii High School Athletic Association. Amemiya left an indelible mark on Hawaii high school sports and was a force for positive change.

His many achievements include the creation of classification for state tournaments, initiating a football state tournament, adding state tournaments, staging a nationally recognized football doubleheader featuring De La Salle and Long Beach Poly.

The Hawaii High School Hall of Honor was established in 1982 by Nissan Motor Corp. in Hawaii, Ltd., to recognize athletic excellence and accomplishments of Hawaii's high school athletes. Since 2004, the program has been run by the Hawaii High School Athletic Association. The major sponsors this year will be the Honolulu Star-Advertiser, Enterprise Rent-A-Car and Kaiser Permanente Great Aloha Run.

The 12 student-athletes are selected by an independent selection committee.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may receive a warning, and if you persist with such comments you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email commentfeedback@staradvertiser.com.
Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment.
Latest News/Updates
Bionic Reporter
Needing a new knee

Warrior Beat
Monday musings

Small Talk
Burning money

Political Radar
On policy

Warrior Beat
Apple fallout

Wassup Wit Dat!
Can You Spock ‘Em?

Warrior Beat
Meal plan