comscore 2 Big Isle teachers win presidential honors | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Top News

2 Big Isle teachers win presidential honors

Honolulu Star-Advertiser logo
Unlimited access to premium stories for as low as $12.95 /mo.
Get It Now


Two Big Island teachers were named recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, Gov. Linda Lingle announced yesterday.

Yannabah Lewis, a math teacher at Kealakehe High School, and John Constantinou, a science teacher at Keaau High School will be among 101 teachers nationwide who will be honored at a White House ceremony later this year.

"These teachers are setting examples for their students, future teachers, and also for the state of Hawaii as they strive for excellence in the classroom," said  Lingle. "Math and science are extremely important in today’s technologically advanced world as we prepare our students with the skills they need for their future careers in the 21st century global community." 

The award is administered by the National Science Foundation on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. 

In addition to an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., Lewis and Constantinou will receive a certificate signed by President Barack Obama and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion.


Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up