comscore Hawaii Beat | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Hawaii Beat | Sports

Hawaii Beat

    Shane Victorino won his third straight Gold Glove award.

5 BYUH players make first team

Five Brigham Young-Hawaii players were named to the All-Pacific West Conference women’s soccer first team.

The Seasiders’ first-teamers are forwards Emily Mearns and Kim Micheletti, midfielder Natasha Aiono, defender Kami Strait and goalkeeper Megan McCain.

McCain was also named as the keeper of the year, and Micheletti was chosen as the freshman of the year, while Seasiders coach Carolyn Theurer took coach of the year honors.

Other first-teamers from Hawaii schools were: Hawaii Pacific forward Meghan Fuller and midfielder Amber Fuller.

Second-teamers from Hawaii colleges were: HPU forward Yasmina Taketa, defender Liana Gualdarama and goalkeeper Carianne Makino; and Hawaii-Hilo forward Lindsey Poulsen and defender Jessica Snell.


Mearns makes all-academic team

Brigham Young-Hawaii’s Emily Mearns was named to the CoSIDA/ESPN All-Academic second team for Region VII in women’s soccer, the school announced yesterday.

Players are recognized for high academic achievement and excellence on the field.

Mearns, a senior from San Ramon, Calif., is majoring in international cultural studies.


Hawaii-Hilo sweeps Chaminade

Hillary Hurley had 18 kills and Leilani Ramsey added 10 to lead Hawaii-Hilo to a 25-16, 25-18, 26-24 victory over host Chaminade last night in a Pacific West Conference women’s volleyball match.

The victory clinched a share of the PacWest title for the Vulcans (18-3). Poerava Gantt had 11 kills and 11 digs for the Silverswords (7-15).



Victorino wins third Gold Glove

NEW YORK » Cincinnati third baseman Scott Rolen won his eighth Gold Glove yesterday, one of three Reds players to be honored following the team’s first playoff appearance in 15 years. Second baseman Brandon Phillips and pitcher Bronson Arroyo also were among the National League recipients announced by Rawlings.

It’s the first time Cincinnati has had more than one winner in a season since the days of the Big Red Machine, when catcher Johnny Bench, second baseman Joe Morgan, shortstop Dave Concepcion and center fielder Cesar Geronimo won four straight from 1974 to ’77.

"I think our defense won a lot of games this year," Rolen said.

Philadelphia outfielder Shane Victoriono of Maui and St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina each garnered their third Gold Glove in a row. Colorado shortstop Troy Tulowitzki and outfielder Carlos Gonzalez joined Arroyo as first-time winners. Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols won for the second time (2006), and speedy Houston center fielder Michael Bourn was a repeat winner.


Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up