comscore Polynesian Football Hall of Fame inductees announced | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Sports | Top News

Polynesian Football Hall of Fame inductees announced

    <b>Jesse Sapolu:</b> <i>“Sometimes to get something started you make a sacrifice. When the Niners asked me to move (from guard to center) I did and as a result became a four-time champion.”</i>

Players who combined for ten Pro Bowl appearances and eight Super Bowl championships comprise the next class of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame, which was announced today at a news conference at the Sheraton Waikiki Hotel.

Luther Elliss, Russ Francis, Jesse Sapolu, Ray Schoenke, Mosi Tatupu and Mark Tuinei will be inducted in January.

The six were selected from a finalist list of 25 pared down by a selection committee chaired by former University of Hawaii coach Dick Tomey.

They join the initial class that included Kurt Gouveia, Olin Kreutz, Kevin Mawae, Junior Seau, Jack Thompson, Ken Niumatalolo and Herman Wedemeyer.

Inductees will be honored at the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend, Jan. 23-24 on Oahu. Go to for more information.

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature
Comments have been disabled for this story...

Scroll Up