comscore Averill, Sedore on All-MPSF first team | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Sports | Top News

Averill, Sedore on All-MPSF first team

    Hawaii's Brook Sedore and Taylor Averill celebrate their win in the fourth set of the Cal State Northridge vs Hawaii volleyball match at Stan Sheriff Center.

University of Hawaii middle blocker Taylor Averill and opposite attacker Brook Sedore were named to the All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation’s first team on Thursday.

UH libero Kolby Kanetake, outside hitter Sinisa “Siki” Zarkovic and setter Jennings Franciskovic were selected to the second team.

Averill, a fifth-year senior from San Jose, was widely considered to be the league’s best overall player. But UC Irvine opposite Zack La Cavera was named the MPSF’s player of the year. Irvine won the league’s regular-season title and earned the No. 1 seed in the eight-team MPSF playoffs that begin on Saturday.

Three Hawaii prep products also were honored by the MPSF. Named to the first team were USC setter Micah Christenson (Kamehameha) and Pepperdine hitter Josh Taylor (Punahou). USC hitter Larry “Tui” Tuileta (Punahou) was named to the all-freshman team. 

Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up