comscore Hawaii to honor homegrown hero | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Hawaii News

Hawaii to honor homegrown hero

  • COURTESY NASA / 1986

    Ellison Onizuka, left to right, Mike Smith, Christa McAuliffe, Dick Scobee, Greg Jarvis, Ron McNair and Judy Resnick were Challenger crew members. All seven died in the 1986 explosion, which was blamed on faulty O-rings in the shuttle’s booster rockets.

Thirty years later, they remember the Challenger disaster as if it were yesterday. Claude Onizuka and Rob Kelso were at the Kennedy Space Center launch site in Florida on Jan. 28, 1986. Read more

Scroll Up