The state’s annual “Click It or Ticket” campaign begins on Monday.
All four county police departments will conduct increased enforcement of Hawaii’s seat belt and child restraint laws from Monday through June 2, according to the Hawaii Department of Transportation.
“Seat belts are essential for safe driving and riding,” said HODT director Jade Butay in a news release. “We want to remind everyone that buckling up every trip, every time might save their life.”
Hawaii’s universal seat belt law requires that all front and back seat motor vehicle occupants — children and adults — buckle up at all times. Hawaii’s Child Passenger Restraint law requires children under age 4 to ride in a child safety seat. Children ages 4 through 7 must ride in a child restraint or booster seat.
The fine for unrestrained occupants is $102 on Oahu, Hawaii and Maui, and $112 on on Kauai. Drivers will receive one citation for every unrestrained occupant in the vehicle.
Violators of the child passenger restraint law are assessed a fine between $100 and $500, depending on the number of convictions, and required to attend a four-hour class.
In fiscal year 2018, the four county police departments issued 12,051 citations for failure to use a seat belt and 1,160 citations for failure to use child restraints.
“We thank the four county police departments for joining us during the national ‘Click It or Ticket’ campaign and for seat belt and child restraint enforcement day and night, year-round,” Butay said. “Not buckling up yourself or your keiki could cost more than $102 if you’re lucky, and your life or the life or the life of someone you love if you aren’t.”
In 2017, the state said 21 of the 60 of motor vehicle occupants that died in Hawaii were unrestrained. The number of unrestrained motor vehicle occupant fatalities also increased at night.
As part of the campaign, HDOT will also display “Click It or Ticket” on electronic message boards statewide.