49 Republican candidates sign no-new-taxes pledge
September 21, 2017 | 79° | Check Traffic

Top News

49 Republican candidates sign no-new-taxes pledge



Forty-nine mostly Republican candidates for the Hawaii Legislature and Congress have signed a no-new-taxes pledge.

The signings were announced yesterday by the Grassroot Institute of Hawaii.

The pledge was designed by Americans for Tax Reform, a Washington group.

Among the Republicans who signed were lieutenant governor candidate Lynn Finnegan, congressional contenders John Willoughby in Hawaii’s 2nd Congressional District and U.S. Rep. Charles Djou in the 1st Congressional District, and U.S. Senate candidate Cam Cavasso.

A spokesman for GOP gubernatorial contender James "Duke" Aiona says Aiona opposes tax hikes but did not sign because the pledge left no room for extraordinary circumstances and did not include a time frame.



No comments
By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. Because only subscribers are allowed to comment, we have your personal information and are able to contact you. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email commentfeedback@staradvertiser.com.