comscore Shining Stars | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Every act of aloha counts. Click here to DONATE to the MAUI RELIEF Fund.
Hawaii News | Shining Stars

Shining Stars

Honolulu Star-Advertiser logo
Unlimited access to premium stories for as low as $12.95 /mo.
Get It Now


The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation Inc. has awarded $96,000 in scholarships this year to 60 seniors in Hawaii.

Eugene O. Senda of Roosevelt High School received the Mamoru Takitani Distinguished Student Award of $10,000; and Christina Lynn Economy of Waiakea High, the Aiko Takitani Distinguished Student Award of $10,000. Andrew K.D. Ellison of ‘Iolani was given the Karen Uno Outstanding Student Award of $5,000.


» McDonald’s Restaurants of Hawaii has awarded $25,000 in scholarships to 10 of its top student employees around the state.

They are Jane Badua, Aprillyn Mendoza, Charmaigne Joy Oliveros and Kristine Saguid of Maui High School; Mitchel Camille Dumbrique of Maryknoll; Wong Ly of Hilo; Esther Arieal Aniu Marquez of Honokaa; Christian John Racachot of Leilehua; Samantha Soto of Konawaena; and Lian Tolentino Urbina of Moanalua.


The Aloha Detachment of the Marine Corps League awarded $2,000 scholarships to Errol M. Vidad of Kalaheo High School’s Navy Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps; Ross Baker and DiShante Lewis also of Kalaheo; Desiree Torres of Campbell’s Navy JROTC; Brandon Nuss from Castle’s Marine Corps JROTC; Shaniqua Vick-Ray of Radford’s Navy JROTC; KyLynn W. Richey of Koolau Baptist Academy; and Rachel Urbano, a home-schooled student.

James D. Beasley and Nicholas Watson, both of Kalaheo, received $1,000 scholarships.


Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to view ongoing news coverage of the Maui wildfires. Sign up for our free e-newsletter to get the latest news delivered to your inbox. Download the Honolulu Star-Advertiser mobile app to stay on top of breaking news coverage.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up