comscore On deck | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Every act of aloha counts. Click here to DONATE to the MAUI RELIEF Fund.

On deck

Honolulu Star-Advertiser logo
Unlimited access to premium stories for as low as $12.95 /mo.
Get It Now
    Waipio assistant coaches Kiha Akau and Jason Heleski talked with their team before practice at Kanoelani Field in Waipio this week.
    2008: Iolana Akau, the older brother of Kahoea, who's on this year's team, had a starring role in beating Mexico.
    2010: This 2010 team took its lumps in 2008 while playing a fun game against the eventual World Series champions.
    2002: Waipio first broke through in 2002, advancing to Williamsport, Pa. The team did not get past pool play.

If Kiha Akau had his way, he’d probably like to take down the blue and white sign that marks Kanoelani Field in Waipahu.

An assistant coach on the 2010 Waipio Little League team, Akau is adamant about keeping the kids focused on this week’s state tournament at Pride Field in Barbers Point.

Unfortunately, the sign is an everyday reminder of the spoils that could come down the line should this year’s team follow in the footsteps of previous Waipio teams.

"Home Park of the 2008 Little League World Champions," the sign reads. "Waipi’o Little League."

"To win one tournament is hard in itself," Akau said. "I don’t want these kids thinking about that at all because it’s a long journey to get there.

"I saw what (the 2008 team) had to go through to get there. They got stronger and stronger as they went on, but it still took some luck."

Akau watched his oldest son, Iolana, make a diving catch and hit a home run in the 13-2 win over Mexico to claim Hawaii’s second Little League crown in four years (Ewa Beach won it in 2005).

Also there was younger brother, Kahoea, who now gets his shot at tasting the excitement of playing baseball on a national stage.

Waipio had to win its district to advance to the state tournament, which begins today, though Waiipio has a bye.

The winner of states—Waipio has won three of the past four—advances to the regional tournament in San Bernardino, Calif., Aug. 6-15. A victory there would put Waipio in the Little League World Series for the second time in three years and for the third time since 2002.

That’s quite a lot of "ifs" just to make it to Williamsport, much less win it.

"It’s such a long process," Kiha Akau said. "That’s why I don’t want these kids to think about that. They need to focus on this week and the first game (tomorrow)."

This age group is the oldest and considered the most prestigeous in youth baseball. It was first developed in 1939, held in 1947 and first televised in 1953. ESPN telecasts all the World Series games and recently began telecasting regional championship games that qualify teams for Williamsport.

Kahoea Akau only has to look at his older brother for a reminder of what it’s like, but it isn’t something the two often discuss.

"Little bit," Kahoea said, when asked if they talk about the experience. "He mostly tries to help me with all my baseball skills."

Kahoea isn’t the only younger brother of a past Little League World Series champion on the team.

Shiloh Baniaga, a pitcher and outfielder, was 7 years old when older brother Shayne helped Ewa Beach win it for the first time in 2005.

"Being on TV and watching my brother," is what he remembers the most about the trip.

Kahoea and Shiloh have brothers that are constant reminders of past teams’ success, but everyone on this year’s team has ties with the ’08 club.

"After the games (in 2008), these kids would play baseball with a tennis ball against the older kids," assistant coach Jason Heleski said. "They took their lumps but it was fun."

First baseman Ty DeSa is one of three returnees from last year’s team that lost to Aiea in states. Central East Maui won the tournament to advance to the West Regional and is back to defend its crown.

DeSa feels this year’s team is "more better all around," and won’t let the pressure of living up to past expectations get in the way.

"You do feel a little bit of (pressure), but you try not to think about it," DeSa said. "Just go out there and try to play your best."

Manager Brian Yoshii is currently in California, but will be back when the team opens play tomorrow against today’s winner between Aiea and Kawaihau at 1 p.m.

Central East Maui and Hilo play in the other game at 4 p.m.

The tourney is double elimination with the champion decided either on Tuesday or Wednesday.



State champs with Little League World Series participants in bold.

2009 Wailuku
2008 Waipio
2007 Waipio
2006 Waipio
2005 West Oahu
2004 Kihei
2003 Pearl City
2002 Waipio
2001 Ewa Beach
2000 Ewa Beach
1999 Pearl City
1998 Waipio
1997 Kaimuki
1996 Pearl City
1995 Aiea
1994 Nanakuli
1993 Aiea
1992 Pearl City
1991 Kahului
1990 Kapaa
1989 Pearl City
1988 Pearl City
1987 Waiakea
1986 Lahaina
1985 Kahului
1984 Kaunakakai
1983 Lahaina
1982 Kaneohe
1981 Wahiawa
1980 Aiea
1979 Kailua
1978 Kailua
1977 Hilo
1976 Pearl City
1975 Kailua
1974 Pacific Palisades
1973 Kaneohe
1972 Pearl City
1971 Wahiawa
1970 Kaneohe
1969 Waipahu
1968 Pearl City
1967 Wahiawa
1966 Waialua
1965 Kainalu
1964 Waialua
1963 Kahului
1962 Kailua
1961 Hilo
1960 Pearl Harbor
1959 Windward
1958 Pearl Harbor

Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to view ongoing news coverage of the Maui wildfires. Sign up for our free e-newsletter to get the latest news delivered to your inbox. Download the Honolulu Star-Advertiser mobile app to stay on top of breaking news coverage.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up