comscore Trapasso, Wong, Swasey earn WAC honors | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Top News

Trapasso, Wong, Swasey earn WAC honors

    Coach Mike Trapasso waves to the audience during Senior festivities.

MESA, Ariz. >> Hawaii’s Mike Trapasso was named the Western Athletic Conference coach of the year and two Rainbows were named first-team all-conference at the annual WAC banquet today.

Trapasso won the award for the third time in his 10th year as head coach. He guided the Rainbows to a 32-23 overall record and 17-7 mark in league play, helping Hawaii earn a share of the regular-season WAC title for the first time since 1992.

Juniors Kolten Wong and Zack Swasey were named to the first team, while senior Jeff Van Doornum and junior Lenny Linsky earned second-team honors.

Wong, a second baseman after starting his career as an outfielder, was named to the first team for the third time. He finished the season hitting .375 with six homers, 49 RBIs and a WAC-best 22 stolen bases.

Swasey, in his first season with the Rainbows, made the first team as a designated hitter. He hit .320 with 12 doubles, 41 RBIs and 11 stolen bases.

Van Doornum, one of four Rainbows named to the first team in 2010, made the second team after hitting .302 with 15 doubles and 38 RBIs. Two of his three homers came last weekend at New Mexico State.

Linsky, also named to the second team a year after earning first-team honors, finished 1-1 with a 1.39 ERA and 12 saves. His 25 career saves are the second most in UH history, trailing only Gene Smith’s 28 saves from 1976 to ’79.

Fresno State swept the individual honors as Greg Gonzalez was named pitcher of the year and Dusty Robinson won player of the year honors. Bulldogs outfielder Aaron Judge was awarded freshman of the year honors.

The Rainbows begin defense of their 2010 WAC tournament title Thursday at 4 p.m. Hawaii time against an opponent to be determined.




Player of the year—Dusty Robinson, Jr., Fresno State

Pitcher of the year—Greg Gonzalez, Sr., Fresno State

Freshman of the year—Aaron Judge, Fr., Fresno State

Coach of the year—Mike Trapasso, Hawaii



OF—Aaron Judge, Fr., FSU; Dusty Robinson, Jr., FSU; Kyle Roliard, Jr., LaTech, Tanner Waite, Jr., NMSU

1B—Jordan Ribera, Sr., FSU; Brock Stassi, Sr., NEV; Danny Stienstra, Sr., SJSU

2B—Kolten Wong, Jr., UH

3B—Danny Muno, Sr., FSU

SS—Garrett Weber, Sr., FSU

C—Austin Wynns, So., FSU

DH—Zack Swasey, Jr., UH

SP—Greg Gonzalez, Sr., FSU; Mike Jefferson, Jr., LaTech; Roberto Padilla, Jr., SJSU

RP—Scott Coffman, Jr., NMSU


OF—Brennan Gowens, Jr., FSU; Brian Barnett., Sr., NEV; Nick Melino, Jr., NEV; Craig Hertler, Sr., SJSU

1B—Jeff Van Doornum, Sr., UH

2B—Parker Hipp, So., NMSU

3B—Mark Threlkeld, Jr., LaTech

SS—Ryan Gebhardt, Fr., LaTech; Bradey Shipley, Fr., NEV; Tyler Forney, Jr., NMSU

C—Derrick Chung, Jr., SAC; 

DH—Zac Fisher, So., NMSU

SP—Josh Poytress, Jr., FSU; Troy Marks, Jr., NEV; Esteban Guzman, Jr., SJSU

RP—Lenny Linsky, Jr., UH

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature
Comments have been disabled for this story...

Scroll Up