comscore Mariota is AP's top pick | Honolulu Star-Advertiser

Mariota is AP’s top pick

    Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota received 49 of 54 votes as the Associated Press college football player of the year.

Another award and another landslide for University of Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota who was named the Associated Press college football player of the year Tuesday.

The Saint Louis School graduate received 49 of 54 votes in balloting by a panel of the AP’s Top 25 voters.

Alabama receiver Amari Cooper drew three votes while Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon and Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston each received one.

Mariota is the first Duck and first player from Hawaii to win the AP player of the year, which is in its 17th year.

Earlier this month Mariota won the Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award and the Walter Camp player of the year award while also receiving the Davey O’Brien Award and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which go to the top quarterback in the country.

In his Heisman victory Mariota received 90.92 percent of the total possible votes, second highest all time behind Troy Smith (2006), according to the Heisman Trust. Mariota had more points than the second and third place finishers, Gordon and Cooper, combined.

Next up is pursuit of the national championship as Mariota leads the 12-1 Ducks against unbeaten Florida State Jan. 1 in the Rose Bowl, a College Football Playoff semifinal round game.

Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up